What we want from our parents as a child

24 39
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

While growing up as a child in Nigeria is challenging, most of us are not well-adjusted to our circumstances, which may be due to our parents' jobs, which keep them busy the majority of the time.

In my case, I began living with my grandmother at a young age because my parents' jobs required them to travel frequently, and as a result, I attended various schools and it affected me a lot because It's hard for me to make new friends. I was almost sent to a boarding school because no one was always around when I got home From school, but thanks to my grandmother, who intervened and suggested that I come over to her house to stay with her.

Imagine going to boarding school at that young age and not having anyone to call if I did something wrong at school because my parents were not present; I would always take advantage of that and disrupt the school because I knew I was a stubborn boy at the time. But thanks to my awesome grandmother that intervened ๐Ÿฅฐ

I'm sure we all had things we wanted to tell our parents when we were kids, but couldn't because of one or more factors.

Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty

Awesome sponsors, kindly check them out

What we want from our parents as a child includes

1. Let Me Play Outside A Lot

You can't tell me you grew up in Nigeria and never had this problem as a child....You were never allowed to play outside with other children in any sort of manners, and if we were caught playing outside, we were often beaten when we returned home.

It's really annoying because during our parents' childhoods, they spent plenty of time outside playing and socializing with their peers, but now that it's our turn, they've started making excuses about how dangerous it is outside. We used to think it was because they didn't love us that's why they prevent us from Playing outside,...... but now we know it's because they do love us that's why they keep us from playing outside because we could get hurt or taken hostage because we were so young.

Because I rarely saw people outside during my childhood, I rarely played outside. The only time I had to play was during school recess and after school activities.

2. Accept Who I'm

We have to be careful with this word now because of the generation we're now, I can't give birth to a boy and you start acting like a girl, I can't accept who you're oooo ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚, you were born as a boy please be a boy and if you were born as a girl be a girl.

Some of us have had this problem since we were children, where our parents compare us to other children. Some of us may have had impeccable grades in school, but because we are not the first in our class, our parents will remotely compare us to the child who came first, rather than trying to encourage us to improve.

3. Kindness And Firmness In Discipline

We had several colleagues who were late bloomers but enthusiastic to learn when we were younger, but their parents were never patient with them, literally giving up on them, simply giving up on them and jettisoning them, which was extremely detrimental.

The majority of them are still struggling today as a result of their parents' decision to abandon them at that young age.

4. Night Talks

Night talks usually happens between me and my siblings we do discuss about what happened at school and the cruel teachers during our night talks. This usually occurs after our family night devotion.

I have nocturnal discussions with my parents only on rare situations. Perhaps when I have done something wrong at school and have been reported to them, they will come over to warn me before I sleep.

Final thought

If you're a parent, your child has a lot to say, so try and listen to them and chat with them rather than talking at them all the time. There's nothing wrong with talking to them every now and then, but conversing with them would be preferable.

There's nothing wrong with disciplining them when they do something wrong because you're obliquely giving them love. Don't just go after supper; talk to them about what they want and how they want to spend their weekend.

Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ’™

11
$ 6.00
$ 5.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 9
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

It is good when parents have time for their children and bond with them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I promise to myself that when I will be given the opportunity to have children of my own, I will surely give them the attention and vibe that I didn't get from my parent ๐Ÿ˜….

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be so great ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually know someone who was mistreated by her parents, she even said, "there's no love at all". We gave some advices, hopefully she will know her worth:)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes people fall into wrong parenting and it affects them alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminded me of the recent incident of a school boy who constantly told his parents of how he was treated in school and was neglected till his deathโ€ฆ I think parents should want to listen at leastโ€ฆ it will go a long way..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I never thought of this story while writing this. I should have added it, thanks for the contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parenting is not an easy task. But with God, parents can flow well with their children

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Atall bro especially in Africa it's never easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I teach my child from an early age that we should talk about everything. Both good and bad things need to be said

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a good one, both good and bad let them express themselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True we have to talk to kids whether good or bad . may be it will help them somewhere when the need arises

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah they need it, and it will surely change them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so relatable with my childhood, so many restrictions. However, I am still under restrictions but not the one like I was under, in my childhood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm still under some restrictions too ๐Ÿ˜‚ But it can't be compared with when we are younger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are been deprived of certain things that makes us happy but one thing we should note is that our parents always wants the best for us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ’ฏ they love us and always wanted the best for us , that's why they do all these

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always say this some of us may not realize this but our African parents are doing one he** of a great job.. most of them that is ..

I mean they find a way to balance discipline with freedom and love .. thatโ€™s just great and yes these is what every child needs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right brother, African parents are really trying in this kind of economy, which is never easy to possibly work everything out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A child wants a lot from your parents. As a child, he has so many demands on his parents that I can't explain it to you. There is a little difference between the time of the bigger of the childhood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They really want a lot, but we have to dedicate the time to talk to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It felt like my son is talking to me. I know this is what kids want but giving them all the time is sometimes draining. But as a mom, I try my best. Your grandma was a blessing to your life for sure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She's really a blessing, thanks for the comments

$ 0.00
2 years ago