The Missing Bitcoin Cash and where to find them

4 49
Avatar for Finley
Written by
2 years ago

The title seems like a fantasy, right? But this isn't some fiction, it is based on true to life story. Lol.

Yesterday, I transferred my Bitcoin cash funds to Bitcoin.com and it was successfully sent. But something happened.

I don’t know if this is just some kind of bug but if you are accustomed to sending funds from read.cash to bitcoin.com, you will knew instantly that there is something happened bad when you didn’t received your fund transfer instantly.

Because one of the fundamentals of Bitcoin cash is you can transfer funds instantly in a matter of seconds anywhere you are in the world. 😁

I thought for a second that it was that the network is busy and my transaction didn’t get in into the block. So I’ve waited for 30 minutes but still no notification from bitcoin.com that I have received a fund transfer. So I went to check blockchain explorer to check if my fund transfer really did send.

You can check https://explorer.bitcoin.com/bch/ if you want to know all your BCH transaction history.

I found out that my fund is still on wallet address and no transactions has been done when I transferred my fund from read.cash to bitcoin.com.

But why did my read.cash fund has zero balance?

That is when I decided to ask for help because even if I knew Bitcoin cash for a while now, I literally have little knowledge about regarding technical topics.

I asked my friends if they knew something about recovering my Bitcoin cash but sadly no one knew.

So then I decided to ask on the subreddit r/btc. Because I know that lots of people there are easy to approach and helpful. And I wasn’t wrong.

Won't be posting picture, ashamed why I go into trouble recovering it with that little amount. 😅

So I have recovered the missing Bitcoin cash on my wallet.

Let me just tell how I recovered it and maybe some might have experienced this too and don’t know what to do. This might become helpful.

The first thing to do is get your 12 word seed phrase (this words are given to you once you signed up at first on read.cash or you have log in to another device). You can also check your seed phrase by following the pictures below if you haven’t save it.

Now, if you get ahold of your 12 word seed phrase. Go to bitcoin.com bitcoin.com.

1. Create a new wallet by clicking the word

2-3. Click import wallet and put in your 12 word seed phrase

4. Click the the three vertical dot on the top right side

5. Click on wallet information

6-7. Click scan for missing transaction and start to scan.

The scanning for missing transaction will take about one minute to finish.

After scanning, you can now see your funds on your bitcoin.com wallet. 😁

Hope this helps for everyone who had experienced this glitch.


16
$ 1.54
$ 1.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @JonicaBradley
Avatar for Finley
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have followed all these steps and also scanned my transaction but still yet, I didn't see anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This worked for me. Thank you. I didn't see the funds until I began exiting out of the scanfor missing funds. I also made the new, imported wallet blue. Just to let my eyes know they are separate.

I DO wonder, if money gets lost again will I have to create import a third wallet? I hope to never have to find out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tried this numerous times... Yet no response... I checked and its still on my read.cash wallet, but been scanning since yet no reflection

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on rexocering your Bitcoin Cash!

$ 0.00
2 years ago