Things I realized , does tradition worth knowing?

5 29
Avatar for Fairguy
1 year ago

Hello my good friends on read.cash platform. I'm happy to meet you guys once again. I hope everyone is doing good? Happy Sunday to all the Christians all over the world. I hope everyone would go to church today because that's where one can find joy and happiness.

Few days ago I was in my village, attending one of my cousin's burial in the village. Though I normally base in the city and I normally visit the village from time to time. But this time around since it was one of my cousins that die, I had to go closer to learn some things that I never new. And most of this things baffles me. We were running up and down to make sure that we put everything in place before we could buried our cousin. It's wasn't really easy as I thought it would be. It was there that I realize most of the tradition that I didn't know before. Though I have attended some burials before but I didn't go deeply to understand everything that are required in it. Even when they buried my father I was a very little boy then I didn't get to understand most of this tradition, I really wanted to know it during this period of my cousin's burial.

I am sure that most people do have to their own tradition, but it's not everyone that knows all. Even me there are some that I don't know unless i learn from those of the eldest people who knows it. There are things there will do in traditional marriage and there are things there will do in burials. We have more things to do traditionally, but those two that I mentioned are the ones I really know about. We festival, naming ceremony, coronation ceremony that it's normally done traditionally, but I know some things that they do in some of them. The ones that I'm really sure of are those two which is the marriage and the burial own.

Yesterday before I return back to the city where I normally stay, I had to meet with one of my eldest family member, I sat him down and I asked him so many questions and he was so happy to give me some reply. I can remember some parable he said when we were discussing, he said that once a teeth is gone, another one is coming to replace it. Which to him it's means when they are gone that we are the people that would take over from them. But to me I was laughing inside my mind, because I'm not ready for it. I only wanted to know most things about it. So that if someone say it wrongly or doing it wrongly I would know.

I'm someone who don't really joke with what they called tradition. The one secret fact about tradition is once you miss to do what you supposed to do at a time, it's can easily to take away your life, or it's can destroy so many things. A person that is dealing with tradition must be very careful with what so ever he is doing, In other not to make some mistakes that would landed him in a bad condition. I'm not saying that tradition is bad but I'm very careful when they talk about tradition. If assuming I'm called to say some certain things about tradition, this is what exactly I would say. I love seeing people doing it, but I don't like doing it. I like knowing most things concerning traditions, but I don't really involve myself into it, because I know what is it all about.

Some innocent people that I do know have lost their lives still on doing traditional things wrongly. What I mean by wrongly is not that they purposely did it. But they lost their lives because of some silly mistakes they made. And that's what exactly I'm afraid of. I learned so many things during the cause of my cousin's burial, starting from the preparation and the arrangements about some certain aspects of it, but I don't want to be a traditional person. Those that would involve would be but I am not going in there. There are things mainly for people but not for me, because I am a different person.

I know so many of us here have their different traditions. I know mostly some of the tribe in my country have their own tradition. The Hausa's have their own tradition, Yoruba land have their own. The Igbo's have their own tradition too. The calabar people Which is located in the south south region of Nigeria also have their different tradition. That is were we adopt our culture and most of our tradition from, and this tradition are very important to those of our eldest people, they don't want anything wrong to happen to their tradition while they are still alive. I would have said so many things concerning traditions. But I know that most of our traditions are different from each other, they are different countries with their different colors. Each country and state have their own way of conducting their traditions.

Do we think that they are some needs to know most of this traditions or not. What's your own view about this.?

I also want to learn from your own contribution.

Lead image from source

Thank for stopping, by I really appreciate your time.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of Fairguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fairguy
1 year ago

Comments

I was brought up in my home town so I know to some good extent, the traditions of my region and the applications. Although we are in the modern world now but the Truth is that, since we believe in some certain acts of the tradition, if we don't do them, it has repercussions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow that's good, which part of the country are you from?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear about your loss. May your cousin's soul rest in peace. I think traditions are part of our lives whether we are aware about them or not. They're like guiding principles for a certain community or group of people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright thanks friend, I really appreciate your condolence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome :) Take care

$ 0.00
1 year ago