Years of accomplishments

3 29
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

In one of his famous comedy movies, Nkem Owoh (Osuofia) played the part of Barrister Athanacius Enyi, a UK trained attorney who returned to his native village in eastern Nigeria to advocate for his people and received payments in lands, goats and yams. Though filled with many contrasts, the movie pointed out the vital role legal practitioners play in society. Vital roles that needs to be filled at all times to make sure society functions effectively.

For my reflection this year, I'd like to share my thoughts on tech law (ICT or IT) and intellectual property which happens to be my forte.

I was influenced to explore IT for two reasons; my sister is a tech wizard working for a global brand and I happen to have more friends working in tech. They are generous with knowledge and resources, so I was drawn to them and I wanted to understand if it was an area I could explore.

I soon found out that the marriage between law and tech in this 21st century was mind blowing. And when you add intellectual property to that, you get the perfect trinity of sectors providing the most jobs in a post pandemic world.

At the 2020 virtual NBA conference held earlier this year, a poll was conducted on areas of legal practice likely to be more financially rewarding going forward in our world today. 62.5% mentioned Technology and Intellectual Property, followed closely by Health Law at 35.3% and Mergers and Acquisition at 22.8%. Other sectors trailed behind.

The top 3 richest men in the world have vested interests in tech which is heavily protected by intellectual property. With the current pandemic and issues surrounding the world wide acceptance of the Covid-19 vaccine, you can easily see why Health law came into the top 3.

If you have access to the internet today, there's practically nothing holding you back from doing amazing things with your life and career. All you need to do is to connect with the right tools and people.

Where do you start?

Find your niche!

Find that area of life that naturally tickles your fancy so much so if you're woken up in the middle of the night, you'll be excited to talk about it.

If you're a part of any organization, you'll surely be asked for your strengths and based on that, they'll know where to fix you. My former boss always harped on that. He worked few hours in a day and had loads of fun because he has a special talent of putting square pegs in square holes. With minimal supervision, people just delivered results to him with big smiles on their faces.

At 28 years old, I know there's so much I am yet to learn. I have promised myself to remain humble, hungry and committed to improving myself every step of the way. I know it won't be an easy journey but I am excited at the thought of trying out new things everyday, discovering where my strength lies and doubling down on what works for me.

Today, the Son of Nebu is grateful to God and everyone who made it possible for me to be here and on this life's path. I understand the magnitude of the responsibility rested on my shoulders and God willing, I'll keep doing my best.

Take a glass of water and celebrate with this baby boy today!

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

The world is advancing everyday tech wise, and self improvement is the ultimate key I realising some of our hidden potentials

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,what a nice write-up,you really nailed it

$ 0.00
3 years ago