Meet my new babies!

40 114
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Plants, Venusflytrap

November 20, 2021

Hello my lovely readers!

I was writing something else for my topic today but since I'm so excited about my new baby I decided to feature it first before this unexplainable feeling of excitement is gone.

The first time this plant gets my attention was when I saw it from Moonie's post in noise and we were teasing each other that she'll give me one but since she lives somewhere in Pampangga it will be hard to get the plant until I decided to just order it in Shoppee. I was about to order when @Pichi28 referred Carnivorous Daddy to me. And boy, am I glad that I ordered from him? Definitely yes, Carni Daddy is so accommodating and even gave me freebies. And since I'm a first-time owner of a carnivorous plant he also taught me how to take care of it.

Venus Flytrap CBFlamma with Drosera Indica

How to take care of the Venus Flytrap plant:

First: Acclimate the plant.

Since the Number one cause of death of most carnivorous plants is environmental shock, I have to acclimate the plant for one to two weeks.

What is Acclimatization?

Acclimation or Aclimatization is the process in which an individual organism adjust to a change in its enviroment, such as a change in altitude, temperature, humidity, photoperiod or PH. It is allowing the plant to maintain performance across a range of environmental conditions.

Usually, plants need to acclimate after shipment or after the repotting. Yes, realizing now how sensitive this new baby that I have, read more and you'll be more amazed that some plants do this need this care.

Now let's talk about how. to properly acclimate a plant.

  • Upon arrival or after repotting, place your plants in a shaded area in a span of one to two weeks.

  • You have to wait for your plant to grow or produce new healthy leaves

  • Slowly, slowly introduce your plant to a brighter area or where there is direct sunlight.

  • Gradually increase the light exposure duration

  • If you see your plant looks healthier than when it arrives, then that's a sign that you're doing the acclimation process properly.

Sounds easy right? And I'm really hoping that it is really easy to acclimatize this plant. Now let's talk about the next steps in taking care of this VFT (Venus FlyTrap)

You need to place your VFT plant on a water tray where you will put the water for your plant. Yes, you are not going to water the plant directly, the water will be absorbed in the medium where your VFT is planted.

This is the sample of using the water tray and where you will put the water courtesy of Carni Daddy

You cannot use tap water for your Venus Flytrap plant unless its PPM level is below 40. So, distilled water, rainwater, or water from the refilling station that has below 40 ppm is the one that is good for this plant. Remember you can only use tap water when its PPM is below 40ppm.

water ppm reader

If they appear unhealthy, you can feed them small insects, yes that is why they are called carnivorous plants because they do eat insects. How? I'm still about to discover that part. hahaha

Drosera spatulata and Drosera Indica

Do they love direct sunlight? Oh yes, they do, you have to place them under direct sunlight for 12 hours but be sure that you are done with the acclimatization before you put them under the direct sunlight.

The plant is a bit expensive so you really have to take care of it. But I think it is worth its price, as early as now it is already giving me joy by only looking at them so what more if i'll be able to make it grow right?

@TengoLoTodo and @Pichi28 let's start the race na! hahaha

By the way, if you guys are interested to buy and have your own VFT plant you can check Carnivorous Daddy's FB page here. I'm sure you will also love to buy one or more from him, aside from the discount that he gives, he also offer lifetime care tips for your VFT plants.

Still planning to buy other varieties of VFT, crossing my finger that I'll be able to grow it bigger :D


Photo credits: Carnivorous Daddy

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)


24
$ 10.80
$ 10.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 14
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Plants, Venusflytrap

Comments

Hala grabe sa collection. Nakita ko toh nung na post mo sa noise, i was not expecting ganyan sya ka delicate alagaan.. and for sure pricey din toh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yep.. ang pricey nga nya pero aliw sya alagaan hahaha i don't know why but i enjoy watching it kahit wala naman sya ginagasa 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko din try yan. Hindi po ba siya nakakstakot.? Haha kasi diba carnivorous so hindi kaba kakagatin niyan.? Silly me 😅😅 Parang okay siya alagaan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang saya nya po alagaan para kang may baby na laging tinitignan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman siya nangagat sis,kasi sa movies diba parang ganun siya.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems to need a lot of patience and effort to grow this kind of plant ate. Pero for sure, once the acclimatization is done it will grow beautifully. 🥰 I am curious how this plants eat insects too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to keep one din, kaya lang feeling ko hindi magtatagal dito samin eh, ganda pa namn yung ganyan na plant, gustong gusto ng kapatid ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful plant, you have to take good care of them, they are very delicate. I would like to have one at home but here it is very difficult to get them and the price must be very high. Happy sunday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't call myself a plantita anymore, coz I did not knew about these things untill now.. Though this plant is little bit scary according to me yet they have different and special kind of charms and beauty... I want to own a VFR plant but I can't coz I'm really lazy and do not know how to take care of them.. I can say that you're a good mother and taking care of them in a good manner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to have a carnivorous plant but I am scared to take insects to feed them hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is awesome Eylz, they look amazing and saved this for the tips. Been so busy, had no time to look, fear not I will start the race soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda talaga nang collections of plants mo maam hehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, you've bought it! Congrats on your new babies. And I'm betting on you on that race, lol @TengoLoTodo and @Pichi28 where are yours?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh ye of little faith 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wahahaha coqui.. might get mine by December .. might get one earlier if my excitement gets the best of me.. hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha so far my sis Eylz2021 is leading the race, sorry! lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahha yes she is. .and i think Tengolotodo will come in second . hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They look beautiful but I am not sure why I am afraid of carnivorous plants lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga plantita lang makakarelate dito sis pero ang ganda po.. mahirap nga lang siya alagaan at baka mamatay

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo kaya need sya alagaan ng maayos kasi mahal din sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a rare plant. Ang ganda nya. Parang gusto mong makakita ng ganyan sa personal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo sis sobrang aliw sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang arte naman ng plant mo sissy hehehe ayaw sa tap ayieee kaya pala ung binili ko dati di nabubuhay hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha oo maarte talaga sya.. at hindi din sya sa soil nakatanim hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya pala di makasurvive tinanim ko, diko muna inaral ang buhay nia kaloka hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg ang gaganda nila, sis!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo sis.. sobra syang nakakaaliw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy hala,😳😍 para naman akong ignorante nito. Sensiya na, hindi kasi ako into plants talaga, yung mama ko ang mas mahilig. Na.amaze lang talaga ako sa hitsura niya. Hehe..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha ok lang :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha i am so getting one from him din. Congrats sa new babies ate..would have had a chance to see them pala kanina no? Harhar... Next time talaga!...

Woohoop for vfts!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

har har har yep.. next time! thanks for the cello wax haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wah! Ngayun ko lamg ni zoom in yung pot mo with guehoi... Meron ngang indica dun sa tabi no? Ang generous ni carni daddy!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute..nakakaamaze lang na pati sa halaman may carnivore din noh..hehe..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo nga eh haahaha and excited na ako makita sya na nanghuhuli ng insects haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga..paano kaya yun noh?..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks so cute sis. I'm familiar with this kind of plant. Parang nakakita na ako ng ganito. Sobrang hilig mo pala sa mga plants sis. Si mama ko din, sobrang adik. Ako din sis may mini garden ako. Thank you for this. Meron akong na learn about sa plant na ito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks sis! sana magkaraon ka din ng ganyan hihih ang cute nya kasi talaga hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sis.. Oo sis pati ako. Ang cute niya. Sana sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although its expensive but have a beauty of its own, Thank you for sharing the tips to acclimate plants.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

you are welcome Farah! hope you learned something from it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago