Distractions.

35 38
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

October 12, 2021

Three new topics were added to the draft bank. I'm doing this at three in the afternoon. Three times I moved, First, I started writing in the living room since no one is there and thought that I can have some quiet time there but no, after 30 minutes my niece joined me and she keeps on ranting about her online class so I moved to the kitchen where I find peace lately. But this afternoon my Aunt decided to join me. She picked up her playing cards and pulled a chair and join me at the dining table. At first, she was quiet and then she turned on the radio and listen to the news while playing cards. I think she started to get bored after a couple of minutes and started talking to me. I tried so hard not to get distracted but I ended up deciding to move inside my room.

And now that I'm here inside my room, all the ideas are gone that's why the last article that I started writing goes to the draft bank too. However, I can't let the day passed without publishing an article.

Distractions are real. And it is so powerful that no matter how much you want to focus it is just hard to focus if the people around you don't want to cooperate. This lead me to search about how to avoid distractions and this is what I found.

I'm like this sometimes lol

Set up a productive work environment.

I'm well aware of this one. That is why I always try to find a place where it is quiet and that I can do my writing alone.

How do I work best? It's not amongst noise and hustle, I do prefer somewhere quiet. I do prefer to be alone and do own my thing. I'm also not the type who can sit in a cafe just like what other people are doing. I'll just end up watching all the people that passed by, watching their emotions while they are chatting with their friends, watching the way they walk, and even the way they dress. Yep, that's how I easily get distracted.

So the best setup for me is a study table inside my room where I can control the movements and the noise.

What about you? what's your work environment?

Turn off distractions

The only thing that I need to eliminate or turn off is the people who keep on talking to me and the noise that is coming from the radio. Music is fine with me but if it is a radio station where the reporter keeps on talking then it's a different story.

Even when I was working before I don't like it when there is someone who will sit in front of my table and then will start talking as if not seeing that I'm busy working. I shoo them away. I may sound rude but I love to work quietly. I love the world that I create when I'm alone with my stuff. Introvert? not exactly I just love some silence when I'm working.

Phone is fine with me, I can ignore it or even set it in silence mode, It's just the noise coming from peoplearound that I can't tolerate.

Set a working schedule

I find it easier to write in the afternoon when the kids and my Aunt are having their afternoon rest. Or After dinner when everyone is already in their room having their me time. That's the best schedule that I find so far.

Though if only I got nothing else to do in the morning, I'll prefer writing in the morning when my mind is still fresh and my energy is high.

What about you? What do you do to limit these distractions? Do you easily get distracted with the noise around you? Or you can work even if there is party going on.


lead image source

Thanks for your time reading this article, I've been publishing article that will help us build ourselves and if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, if you got something to share about the topic I hope you will leave a comment below and let's talk about it.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

17
$ 7.75
$ 7.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.07 from @King_Gozie
+ 7
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

I can still work even with noise. Pinakamahirap talaga saken is yung temptations ng socmed 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap iturnoff ng distraction kapag ingay ng paligid like yung soundtrip ng kapitbahay at ingayng sasakyan hehe. Distraction is real talaga po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mawawalan talaga ko ng gana magsulat pag madaming tao sa paligid ko, or kahit ni isa lang, ewan pero na co conscious ako eh wahaha. Dami din distractions sa bahay, dami kasi bata dito ang iingay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot of distractions, because there is always something to do, when I sit down to write I have to stop to do something, when I come back I have lost the sense of what I was writing. I like silence without distractions

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. it's hard to write when there are so many distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like to work in a quiet place if it involves writing or reading but I like to work with noise if it's calculation-related work

$ 0.01
2 years ago

if it doesnt involve writing or reading... i can work with sound noise..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually sit down to write late at night when everything is quieter. This way I avoid any kind of distraction. Otherwise I can't even concentrate ahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's what I used to do.. but because I have to wake up early that's why I trying writing earlier

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually planned recently to always release an article by a particular time but I'm always not meeting up with it due to distraction... thank you for this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here... that's why i also have different schedule of publishing my article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a person who gets easily distracted. Here at work if I need to finish something and then Lady Boss asks me to do some errand then I would completely forget some things that I need to do. aigoooo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

guess you have to write it down so you'll not miss anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really guess so aigoooo😅 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get distracted easily by the tiniest thing. Whenever i want to write, i lock myself in my room and pour out my mind. A little sound or music can take my attention away from what I'm doing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can still stand a little sound or music.. its just that the sound of conversation that I can't stand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get distracted easily, i can start singing along with the music🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right sis. When someone started talking to me, I can't get my work done. I always end up chatting with them and leave my work unfinished. Distractions are everywhere. Even inside my room, I get distracted by the noise made by my siblings and neighbors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

luckily my room is quiet... and when I closed the door , they don't that it means that I don't want to be distracted anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Roommate ko sinasabing snob ako kasi hindi ako nakikinig at sumasagot sa mga kwento nya😅 hahaha wrong timing sya palagi. Gusto ko makapag focus magbasa at magsulat. Mas mabuti na to kesa chismis😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ay oo naman.. kahit ako mas gugustuhin ko ng sabihan ako na snob kesa sa chisisms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan ganyan ako..maumpisahan ang article..tapus here comes distractions. And then. Wth . thoughts are gone all of a sudden..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang masaklap pa.. pag nawala na ang thoughts.. ayaw nila agad bumalik hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy dealing with distraction especially when I'm doing something serious, maybe someone is trying to get my attention, I usually take excuse from them so it won't sound rude to just keep mute while they talk to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

actually I do tell them.. its just that sometimes they just don't understand that I need some silence.. but I do tell them nicely of course

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you are with your family, enjoy these moments, but I liked your work environment too, a study table in a quiet place next to a window with a beautiful view...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. i might find them a distractions but I'm so thankful for having them with me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako Basta kapag tulog Yung mga Bata hehe. hirap magsulat kapag maingay saka may mga makukulit. Haha

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

ay oo sis... nakakaubos ng pasensya haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of distractions sis. Me too sometimes if I'll making an article I can't concentrate it since there are many distractions, sounds of transportations and noisy of people at the outside.

Sometimes what I did I use an earphone then play a music to make me motivate and continuing making an article. It helps me a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

i do that too.. but when you have niece and nephews like mine.. naku useless ang earphone lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nga sis. Tama ka..😄😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah.. i imagined your ranting niece and your tita who cannot stand the silence...

i can work in a coffee shop though not unless I really intend to escape what I was suppose to be working on so then I see everyone and make up stories in my head. But as muhc as possible i don't bring work to coffee shops.. that's just a sad coffee break..

I am easily distracted. I too need that space of controlled noise and silence (my rules).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ahahahaa feeling ko kung magkasama tayo sa coffee shop makakabuo tayo ng isang novel hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay uu .. yung nag sasagutan pa kamo.. storya ng isang araw nung barista, tapos that same araw sa point of view naman ng isang tambay.. or nung magjowang malapit na mag break ahhahaha.. mga ganun...

$ 0.00
2 years ago