Along the road

39 59
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Flowers

October 27, 2021

Hi readers!

I went out this afternoon to start again a habit that I have forgotten to do because of the pandemic. What it is? My afternoon daily walk. Two things that motivated me to start it again, one is to get fit and the other one is the Actifit app that I heard from @Pichi28. Will tell you about that app once I've already explored it.

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
These people here on this block are like flowers that make me smile too.  You can
check them out if you want to smile too :)

And to make my walk this afternoon more interesting aside from the Actifit app is that I took shots of every flower that I passes by, so my article for today would be all about flowers. And for it to be easier I set another purpose of me going out and that is to buy whole grain bread. Yep, buying bread is enough reason for me to go out.

warning: this article is loaded with photos of flowers.

This article will be all about the flowers, flowers that I know and some that I usually see but have never been that interested to know their name. But this time, I'll try to research their name.

Peacock Flower

This is the first flower that I saw, its name is Peacock flower, and its scientific name: Caesalpinia pulcherrima. It's a big flowering tree that you will even from afar. A sun-loving tree and thrives in the hottest, and sunniest sites of the garden. A must-know about this plant is that it is poisonous for both dogs and cats. So for those pet lovers out there make sure that your pet will not go near this flower.

But to be honest I've been calling this flowering tree April Shower. I really thought that was its name. Thanks to google lens for telling me its real name.

Birds of Paradise

All along I knew this exotic beauty is known as Birds of paradise but upon researching today its real name is False bird of paradise or the Hanging lobster, its scientific name is Heliconia rostrata. The name "false bird of paradise" comes from its similarity to the Bird of Paradise flower (Strelitzia) and "losbter claw" comes from the shape of its flower bracts that resemble the shape of a lobster's clam. But stunning as it is, it is another flower that is poisonous to dogs but non-toxic to humans.

I loved this flower because of its color and I wanted to have this in our garden but my mom doesn't like it because it's growing like a bush.

Bougainvillea

Did you know that bougainvillea is not actually blooms or flowers? The showy paper-like that looks like flowers are modified leaf called a bract. This plant is tough as a nail, with thorns that are also nail-like. Easy to care, and needs a lot of space for it to spread and grow and you will definitely love it when it spreads on your fence because it will give you flower-like leaves that are so colorful.

Red button ginger

I just learned the name of this flower while writing this article though I've been seeing it whenever I go to 7eleven. It's scientific name is costus woodsonii or commonly known as Red button ginger. But if you will going to ask me what's the name that I give this plant I call it red candle.

This flowering plant has some benefits too. The costus oil is used for asthma, cough, gas, and other severe intestinal diseases. It is also used as a flavoring component. Is it edible? there are just some part of it that is edible but if you are going to ask me better make some more research before you think of chewing it.

Santan

I've been calling this flower Santan ever since I was a kid. Its scientific name is Ixora chinensis but its common name as per google is Chinese ixora. Grew up with this flower, used to play with it, made a necklace and bracelet from it. Used it as hair decoration as well. But did you know that the flower of this plant has many uses? It can be used as lemonade flavor, can treat skin disease, can treat fever and headache, and is good for dandruff too. Persian Shield

Persian Shield

Persian Shield or strobilanthes dyeriana. This one caught my attention when I passed by one of the greeneries. And yes, I pay for $2 and brought it home with me. I just find its color too beautiful and I just can't ignore it. And you know what's good with this plant aside from its beauty? It's good for households with kids, pets, and livestock. So it means, pets and kids are safe with it.

Final thoughts

These plants and flowers made my walk more interesting hopefully I can see different kinds of plants and flowers tomorrow. Will keep on finding new reasons for me to form that habit of walking again.


Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

19
$ 10.86
$ 10.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 9
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Flowers

Comments

The Heliconias also known as Bijau, I have one at home is low growing and is always in bloom, I also have bougainvillea or trinitaria orange and red double, I planted some cuttings that I have flowering to make a bonsai. In the urbanization we have red, white and yellow ixoras. I have seen the red ginger in the mountains and I did not know the last one. All beautiful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

the last one is my fave plant at the moment... it's called Persian Shield

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Persian Shield is my favourite of the ones you posted, those colours are so beautiful. I must check if we have them here, it is nice to know they are safe for pets too!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep... i love it too... and it is growing beautifully in our garden :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a nice walk, appreciating nice plants. I loved the Persian Shield.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here sis.. and it's growing well here in our garden now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With the pandemic I also abandoned my "habit" of walking. I used to walk from home to work and from work to home. It took me 30 to 45 minutes to walk to work hahaha. I had no vehicle, just my feet. The problem is that work was in the afternoon and it was very sunny. I don't have that job anymore, now I work online because of the pandemic. I love plants so your article fascinates me. I haven't seen the first plant but I will keep an eye out in case I have pets someday and someone gives me that plant hahaha. When I saw the second photo I thought it was the plant we know as "gallo" or "gallito" but it is not. The third photo is my couple's favorite plant. My parents had that plant and its size was huge, I know it as "trinitarias". The fourth plant looks very peculiar hahaha but it looks very useful for life. I have also played a lot with the fifth plant, but I didn't know it could be used for so many things. I love the last plant, it's beautiful. Its colors are very striking.

I loved your article, thank you for all the information about those precious plants :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

the last one. is my fave.. i love how striking its colors are. Glad that you loved my article.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mga common na bulaklak na nakikita ko sa daan, pero santan at Bougainvillea lang alam ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, yong Persian Shield why that is so beautiful and so violet 😍😍😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

de bahhh.. inuuwi ko talaga sya hahaha buti na lang din natawaran ko kaya bumaba ng konti ang presyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Along Pasay mo to cinaptured ?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

yep... lapit lang dito sa amin sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pictures almost looks painted. Nice

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love flowers 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda talaga ng birds of paradise! Wala nyan lahat dito. None that I know of or nakita man lang dito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

puro tropical plants kasi sis.. though yung bougainvillea baka meron dyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walking won't be that boring if you see flowers along the way :) Great shots!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. really had fun seeing them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:) have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love persian shield, sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

me too sis! haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful are these flowers and their colours... I wanna hug them all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i wish i can send them to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. The only flower I am familiar with is the bougainvillea and ixora. The world is indeed beautiful if we looks around us. Nice shots.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i agree with you 100%. there is so much beauty around us that is waiting for us too see and appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those pictures are beautifully taken; I wish I was there to see them myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

who knows maybe someday you can visit our country :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't under imagine what kind of beauties lie in flowers of these kind and you've really done well giving us something as great as this to feed our eyes with

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i really enjoyed looking at them while having a walk yesterday.. thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda naman ng mga bulaklak hehe pero yong birds of paradise ang ganda talaga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo nga eh... tapos ang dmi nyan kahapon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Red Button Ginger pala name ng flower na yan. Bihira ko lang nakikita yang Persian Shield dito saamin, ganda niya tignan Ate Eylz.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kahapon ko lang din yan nakilala hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wah so that's what it is called! Persian Shield!

Id like that color on my hair ahhaha soon maybe. But then again that would look nice on the plant but maybe not on me ahhahahah... ..

colors only nature can wear and slay on the runway

But i'll try it anyway. Bwahhaha...

I hope actifit inspires me to walk, too hahah

$ 0.03
2 years ago

or maybe we can meet in moa and have a walk ..

thinking of twinning with you but i think i've just leave to mother nature hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto pwede! Or ccp... Shoot na din

$ 0.00
2 years ago