Bitcoin Pizza 🍕 Day History

14 70

Do you know that the first transaction that was ever made with Bitcoin as the payment was to buy pizza? Oh, well..now you know. I've posted my entry at noise.cash about the #KPIpizza that was initiated by PVMihalache in celebrating Bitcoin Pizza day. Upon posting I've read some comments that they didn't know about this Bitcoin Pizza day history.

Source: Twitter

PVMihalache made it #KPIpizza because it was intended to promote KPI options of UMA, which is a synthetic tokens that can be used as payout or rewards for DAO's.

Bitcoin Pizza day history

Source: nypost.com

The guy above was Jeremy Sturdivant who filled the order of Laszlo Hanyecz of two large pizzas (cheese and supreme) form Papa John's - the first transactions purchase that was paid with 10,000 Bitcoins. It happens last May 22, 2010, a year after Bitcoin went live as it was launched in 2009.

Source: nypost.com

This was the picture of Laszlo Hanyecz in 2010 with his children after ordering two large pizzas from Papa John.

10,000 Bitcoin only worth $41 at that time, as it didn't reach 1:1 with the dollar yet. I only crossed $1 above early in 2011.

When Sturdivant got interviewed if he regretted not holding the 10,000 Bitcoin from Laszlo he said,

“I had no idea how huge it would become, I am proud to have played a part in the global phenomenon.” - Sturdivant

Despite losing boundless richness, the 31 year old didn't regret as he was proud that he became part of the Bitcoin history.

That 10,000 Bitcoin today is worth $300 Million plus at $30,000 per BTC. That was huge!

Likewise with Jeremy, Laszlo also did not regretted buying pizzas using his Bitcoin. To him it was free pizza he got from contributing to an open-source project. It was just a hobbies for him and he was happy that his hobbies brought his family a dinner.

“I think that it’s great that I got to be part of the early history of bitcoin in that way,” - Hanyecz to Coin Telegraph in 2018

Laszlo even spent 100,000 Bitcoin for pizza alone in summer 2010 that is around $3.9 Billion at $30k per BTC. Wow!

Source: nypost.com

That time Bitcoin is not crippled yet, fast and has cheap transaction fees unlike today. The history was great but the outcome of Bitcoin nowadays has failed it's whitepaper that was written by Satoshi Nakamoto. It's not peer-to-peer electronic cash anymore as it is backed by major investors, to maintain it's “digital gold” tag, but no worries Bitcoin Cash was born to continue Satoshi Nakamoto's vision on P2P electronic cash, fast and cheap cost of transaction fees.


There are a lot of institution participating to celebrate Bitcoin Pizza day on May 22 every year. Some exchanger are having pizza airdrops or pizza party.

Source: Twitter

I only participated in this Bitcoin pizza celebration with Bitdeer as the mechanics was just simple, retweet, follow Bitdeer official and tag a friend.

I am not expecting to win though, I just like to retweet as a reminder that yesterday May 22, 2022 I've known the Bitcoin pizza day history as well after 12 years. I've heard it last year though, I just didn't mind it unlike this year I've got to learn more about it.

More Crypto Articles:

Fear, Doubt & Uncertainties

Basic Concept Of UMA Protected Tokens

Understanding TerraUSD & LUNA Crash

Welcome To Bear Market

Until When Will Bitcoin Cash (BCH) Stays In The Bottom?

PAWNing Bitcoin Cash ($BCH) Via BlockNG

Who Are The SuperUMAns

Ending My Pandaland Journey

Copy Trading - Bityard Experience & Observations

Tara Magtanim Nang Puno: Retweet To Plant A Tree 🌴.

Grow Your BCH Satoshis In Bitcoin.com

Earn FlexUSD While Holding It

How To Cash Out VIS Direct To Gcash-Bank Acct. Via P2P In Binance

Find me at:

readcash •noisecash •Publish0x •Hive •Twitter •Telegram •Discord •email

Date Published: May 23,2022

18
$ 12.48
$ 11.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 10
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty

Comments

That was a huge milestone. I would still have regrets if I learned that the price would balloon to something great. I could have bought a lot of pizzas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so nice, I love pizza. I can't wait to see my favourite joint accepting bitcoin as payment. Transaction charges on my decentralized https://atomicwallet.io/ App are so cool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can make pizza even better from Papa John's. But unfortunately no one buy it in one BTC. It was big example of BTC,"how it works in all conditions". Thanks for writing about history and I grab all the knowledge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

History was made. And although I understand why he doesn't regret his actions, I think I would have some regrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said!!! Megan Has caused this turmoil!! She married into the family. has absolutely used Harry and the royal family. She is ungracious !! also pushing American attitude on the naturally reserved British! Harry needs to be home. HERE ➤➤ http://workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I wouldn’t want no pizza anymore 😁 he literally would have been a too richest man in 2022… history was made tho and he is still proud of it..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess we're all grateful to that man and today seems like a good day to have pizza too..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, history is kinda amazing. Grab some if your like pizza.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you enjoyed the day?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats sa pizza na mapanalo mo ateee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe sana nga manalo hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I can taste pizza again in my own money from this platform. Pizza is really one of my favorite food most especially when there's a lot of cheese.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, just buy when you have money ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago