Who nor fit climb tree na from Ground he dy talk.

0 15
Avatar for Excelord
1 year ago

This is a very strong proverb in Nigeria, this word has a strong meaning, to be frank I haven't heard this word before, until last week, my dad use the word during my cousin sister introduction "Who nr fit climb tree na from ground he go talk" my dad is typical Benin man, he is the odionwera of his street (the first person to move into a street, and the street is been named after him) I love to be around my dad, because he is full of wisdom, the always have a proverb for every situation.

During my cousin sister introduction he made a strong proverb, that I was tempting to ask what he meant, by it. The proverb goes like this "Who nr fit climb tree na from ground he go talk, not when he or she has climb half way"

It was on sunday last week that my uncle told my dad that his daughter will be doing introduction and he want him to be there, that because my dad is the overall senior and beside my dad and my uncle build there house on the same street, intact it just one building different if not there house would have be close to each other.

So on sunday afternoon, the soon to be inlaws came to my uncle house, so my uncle took them to meet my dad, as custom demands, so after few meeting of introduction, they all went to my uncle house, because that the introduction is taken place and that where the woman who they want to marry is (my cousin sis).

I was opportune to be in the parlour with them to see, how introduction is been done, I have never witnessed how it is done.

So my dad, my uncle and his wife sat at the parlour, while the soon to be in law and his family member consisting of his father, mother, sister and his brother.

So we all sat at the parlour, then my uncle welcome them, and the man who came to do introduction, introduce him self and his family, while my dad welcome them and then ask what brought them here.

Then the boy father said, that they saw a beautiful flower in my uncle compound, so because of her that why then came to see us, so my uncle said that good, then my dad then ask if the boy has first of all discuss the matter with my cousin sister, then he said yes, so my dad then called my cousin sister out, and ask him if he know all this people here, and she said yes, so my dad then ask her which one of them is her husband to me, then she point him out, after that my dad made this proverb "Who nr fit climb tree na from ground he go talk, nr be when he don climb half way, then everyone laugh.

So my dad advised my cousin sister and her husband to be, the meaning of the proverb, which is "Who nr fit climb tree na from ground he go talk" meaning that marriage is good, but one thing is certain, they is no hurry in marriage, and also you dont force anyone or anybody to marriage, just like if you can't climb a tree, you speak up while you are on the ground, not when you climb half way,you start complaining, so likewise for marriage, if you know you don't love or value youself, they is no need of you both to enter into marriage, and also marriage is a life time thing, so after all the advise, my cousin sister and the husband to be was ask to kneel down while my dad, my uncle and his wife, likewise the boy parents both pray for them.

And after ward they was light refreshments, although it didn't get to me, due to the people on ground was more than what was prepared for, but after everything my cousin sister gave a special package.

And after that day, the proverb get on ringing on my mind, " Who nr fit climb tree na from ground he go talk" to me it means that some should learn to say his or her mind, no matter what, so that people won't start assuming.

Thanks for reading this article. Please don't forget to click the 👍 button. God bless

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Excelord
1 year ago

Comments