Filipino Believed Too Much In Once The Year Ideology.

17 47
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

The days become so soon and happened past, just a week we will be closing the season and the 'ber' month is coming, so much more that Filipinos are all excited again in the seasons began, November for all souls day, where it becomes a family reunion. December for holidays and New Year. Why do some Filipinos love to celebrate it well? Because we think that it is just once every year, so we must celebrate it no matter what.

I am not dragging my Filipino, but the moment I heard a word that said "we shall celebrate and have a feast," then one family member said the priorities over the celebration, the next call is that "It's just once a year? What was the problem?". I feel the sadness of the man who even labeled the killer joy, he thinks about priority, and yes, it's just once a year. But how about other things to handle?

There are good and bad traits of Filipinos, which I think most of my readers will find relating. Also, more bad qualities developed as social media emerged from nowhere. Not just the Marites Syndrome (gossiping) but also the fame and sociality affable. People want others to see their selves as an apple in the eye.

The curse of Once a year Ideology.

There were terrible traits that I could not stand in other people. They will kill priorities, so they could have to celebrate something as they said it was just once every year like birthday celebration need to be gracious for just happened every year, not every day. They need to feed other people. But the reality is that the next day they will be the ones who will be hungry. Why? Too much hospitable that they will prepare food and let others drunk the whole night with their expenses.

I laughed at the joke of one person saying that. Only Filipinos that when it was your birthday, you obliged to treat people, other country and nation you will be one to get treated and served special. This is reality, "it's your Birthday, so it fines" it's okay t spend money, forget the things you need to pay, others even borrow money to celebrate, because it's not happened every day, it's just once every year.

Did you get my point? Where people will look at the idea of a one-day stand. Spend now and cry later Ideology.

The saddest part is that you were the black sheep or the joy killer when you disagreed with the fact that people need to look for priorities, not in the celebrations.

This idea was not wrong; the celebration could still have occurred. Some people choose not to prepare the feast, yet they still celebrate things.

The joy of once a year celebration.

I remember one of my friends always said this thing. "it's just once every year" that happened every February. He will call me to remind me of his words. It's his birthday. But he just wanted us to be there, even what was the prepared feast, food served wasn't that special, but all the fun and love laughter is obvious. This is the best celebration I am looking at.

They were going to some celebration where decorations weren't that priority for materials needed funds, set-up, and things.

I just found myself sad after the incident I saw. People are getting powered by social media. Posting their family member's food and program, the birthday celebrant had no choice but to spend their own money for his birthday and feed the strangers even though he will be the one soon to be problematic after all the celebrations.

Does it wasn't toxic? Forcing people to celebrate it just once a year, not realizing that bills and payments are always daily, is food also necessary? Then when this person disagreed, celebrating seemed like a bad trait. Were they selfish for not feeding other people? They had no manner of not sharing the blessing of life just once every year.

Remember that we still celebrate things once a year and live peacefully as we know our priorities of ourselves.

10
$ 3.87
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sa akin, bdays are to be celebrated. Celebrate life kasi wala tayong idea when will be our last day. It is just sad that today, a buddy of ours joined the creator. Stay safe, yonongs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, kaya di ako ganon ka active kagabi. 🥺 I hate to loss a friend talaga, especially you guys kasi you helped me a lot where I can't do such things in personal life. She's one of the supportive friends lalo na first week ko there ,🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mom's mindset is not like that. She'd rather make the celebration simple and practical. She always thinks about what to eat in the upcoming days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a best mindset; look for alternative is better 😇

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan na ganyan lagi ineexplain ko sa family ko haha pero maririnig ko lang once a year lang to oh so sagarin na naten haha pero I'll make sure to tell them na don't be to much since we still have following days to budget but yeah ewan ko pinoy will always be pinoy kahit walang wala nga nakakapaghanda pa rin, I'm really not fond on celebrations gastos lang kasi kahit pa sabihin nila na minsan lang, still, besides we need to be practical na, this is one of the main reasons why I hate celebrating even my own birthday haha I just found it one of those normal day and no need to go bongga pa for it, okay na yung kasama fam or friends and simple dinner will do na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama that was the word 'sagarin na natin' nakakainis minsan, especially now inflation is not a joke 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeahh eto din naeewan ako ih yung parang sa kasabihan nga na "ubos ubos biyaya bukas naka tunganga" that's why when mom wants to celebrate I make sure I aske her kung sure ba na may pmbayad pa sa future bayarin and stuffs and glad mom always plans and gastos with caution, even though she really love buying stuffs mostly sa mga bagay na deprived sya before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And this is the reason why I don't like celebrations. I'm too kuripot for that and I really like to get close with my toxic relatives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko nung birthday ko last year. Chained na sa amin yung ganitong mindset, and I kinda hate if. Ayoko magpahanda non kasi nga balak ko kani kami lang tapos yung lola ko nagtatanong kung ano ba handa ko or whatsoever. Ayaw ko nga magpahanda non kasi nagtitipid ako kaso si Mama at iba kong relatives mukhang magsasabi ng madamot, makasarili, walang utang na loob or whatsoever. I also hate that kind of ideology as long na pinaghandaan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hndi na talaga mawawala sating mga pinoy ang pag celebrate ng special occasions, like birthdays, Christmas, New Year, and fiestas. Because it's just once a year. Some will even make a loan just to celebrate the event. But that is the absurd part. Celebration isn't mandatory. We shouldn't take the priorities aside for the sake of extravagant celebrations. Debts will follow and you'll just regret it, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, just simple as we could that's fine, nagyayari kasi the more pleasing in the eyes of others the more they thinks it's success. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing wrong about celebrating as long as there's money intended for it. But when one borrows money from other people just too lavishly celebrate then that's where the problem starts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

100% I hate that kind of mindet, even feeding others even you will be broke the next day, sige lang bahala na syndrom is kind of something really.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The article fits for me today because it wasn't my birthday but I don't have expensive foods to offer to day, as in literal wala akong handa hahaha. I am just happy to have one more year. My nagharana kanina as what we usually do kapag my birthday. I just bought cream bread and pandesal for them and offered a milo too. That's all at wala na ehheeh. I don't have money and no need to pretend hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Again, happy birthday Ms, Jen. I read your post. It doesnt really matter the food but whats matter the most is your presence and thanking the creator hehe. GBY again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me once in a year celebration is really important di kasi natin alam kung buhay pa ba tayo next year, makikita pa ba natin yung mga mahal natin sa buhay..it's about the shortness of time we have here in the world kung bakit minsan nakakalungkot kung may celebration tayong na-skip like birthday, reunion and so on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama din naman, and I also enjoyed that kind hehe. But the way we think and neglect the priorities over the event is absurd. Like we could still celebrate even we were low in budget thou, just that priority prior haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago