You are not here to compete with anyone

4 43
Avatar for Esthery97
1 year ago

Life is not all about competition

In this world we live in, everyone has their lives to live so taking life as a competition is a complete waste of time.

This is not the school of thought applicable to an apprentice that wants to learn a skill. In my boss's shop, we are about 15 apprentices and I am the last person that came to learn. You can imagine how tough it was for me to learn and as well get attention from people that have already learned and are ready to graduate.

When I first got there, I tried to see how they relate with one another and from there I could get closer to some of my seniors in the shop not for anything but to make them teach me what they have learned so far in the shop.

If I had depended on my boss to teach me personally, it would only mean that I am not ready to learn the work quickly. I moved closer to those that I believe knew what they were doing in the shop and there are these two of my seniors that my boss always sends to make hair for customers outside which means they know the work perfectly.

I relate with them too and I was able to grab some knowledge out of what they have learned.

After two months that have been trying my best how to make hair, I was able to grab some hairstyles because plaiting is not hard for me to know but styling hair in a different style is what I find hard.

The thing about hairstyles is that once you miss one style then you are heading to another style entirely, I was calm so that those girls can teach me what I need to know about how to make some hairstyles.

The day I first plaited hair for one of my seniors in the shop, my boss got surprised because I was just 3months old in the shop and I could plait hair already so she called me and asked if I had learned from somewhere before I came to her shop and I said no that it was my seniors that thought me all the style and I worked on it.

Ever since then my boss knew I was serious about learning so she always pushes me to the front anytime there is plenty of work in the shop this made all my seniors to jealous and want to compete with me but because I wasn't doing it for a competition I was able to get what I want easily which is learning all that I wanted when I wanted it.

How I overcome the competition

I was determined to learn the work so this helped me not to look at who was competing with me in the shop. I knew such a thing would happen because people don't like anyone who is focused and determined but I never looked at their side, all I keep doing is what I know best.

Till now my boss love that about me because I know people will compete with me but I never let it get to me, their competition with me gives me the energy to keep learning more and more.

5
$ 0.50
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Esthery97
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Esthery97
1 year ago

Comments

People like you will definitely learn in a little time because your mind isn´t about competing with anyone as that can even take your focus away from knowing the right thing and learning on time. Most people do not have the thought you had which helped you know what you were doing then. This life isn´t all about competition but focusing on what you are doing and you will grow on time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend life is not like a competition. We shouldn't compete to the others. We have our own lives. We have a different paths.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As you grow older you will you will tealize that what youbteally need is apeace of mind😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never compete about myself to others because I always do my best what ever it takes for my own sake not for others' approval.

$ 0.00
1 year ago