How To Use Your Life As The Source Of Your Writing

Avatar for Emekadavid
2 years ago

A writer once approached me about writing a story that was part of his life experience. I gave him helpful advice. Every writer gives a little of their life. Though stories are fiction, there is an aspect of reality in that fiction. Every writer adds aspects of their lives to their stories consciously or subconsciously. The secret is to make sure readers do not associate the story with your life. If they do, there might be a backlash.

That brings us to the question. How can one use his own life story as a source for his writings?

I will give you ideas of what I have done and read from other authors.

Use experiences from friends and colleagues: While having a good time with friends and colleagues, we learn a lot of things from their experiences. That knowledge becomes our own in the long run. They can serve as fodder for our writing. Many memoirs that have become best sellers were the author’s experiences which he or she recalled from other people. When I have a good time with others, I realize they are more relaxed and want to talk more. So, I always listen. By listening, they impart their experiences.

Don’t expect a celebrity life: I live a dull life. I wake up in the morning, say my prayers with my family, and sit down in front of my computer to write. This routine has become so regular that I tell myself I live a dull life. But that doesn’t stop me from having ideas for my writing. That should be the same for you. Your life doesn’t have to be complicated, neither does it have to be exciting for you to have ideas on what to write. One thing that has been going well for me is that I read a lot. My reading has become a part of my creative life. If you have a pet, your dog's antics might serve as a good source for a short story. Or even a crime fiction novel with the detectives caring for dogs. If you love walking in the park, murder in your best park can serve as fodder for a thriller. The story could turn out to be a best-seller.

Use “What if” Questions: What if questions help you to create alternative realities of your experiences. Use them well to serve as sources for your writings. For example, each morning that I wake up, I ask myself: What if I did not wake up from sleep, what would my family have said? The answer to that question can serve as a good resource for an exciting short story. Or, What if aliens had discovered my balcony and landed on my roof? That would be scary, isn’t it? It would make for a science fiction adventure story. This analysis can help you to explore story ideas you can use for your writing. Fantasy writers do this all the time.

Locations can serve: We all have scenes we love and locations we love visiting. You can describe those locations in detail when writing your story. You can also set your stories in those locations. One of my popular short stories was set in Bar beach, a popular beach here in Lagos, Nigeria. I got the idea to write the story after observing the quirky religious activities at the beach. You can research the location to help you learn more. There are many tools for research on the Internet nowadays.

Your heritage stories can prove fruitful: Every family has a story that is part of their heritage. Your family doesn’t need to have aristocratic roots to give you ideas for your writing. My grandmother once told me a story about one of my kinsmen. Years later, I found myself depicting that kinsman in one of my novels. I gave him an arcane personality because I hated what he did. As I wrote, I discovered several things about my subconscious. I realized how my subconscious had interpreted that simple account from my grandmother. Harper Lee’s novel, "To Kill A Mockingbird, " a bestseller, was a story about an American county. She told it so well that you would think she was part of the heritage of the county. I encourage you to read the novel to see how this can be done.

These are some of the ideas you can use for your writing. If you plan to inculcate these ideas, make sure your writing does not expose slander others. Use names that show no relationship to the true person. Make the location far from that of the real person. Only you should know that some of your characters came from your own life experiences.

As you use your life experiences to craft your stories, be creative. Do not limit yourself to only what you know. Using “what if” questions can help you create an alternative truth of the real event and character.

Always remember to respect the reader by making sure your grammar is top-notch. Having bad grammar in a good story bores a reader and alienates your audience. It shows the writer does not have respect for his readers. You can use tools like Grammarly and Prowritingaid for help in grammar. Your story should also be coherent and engaging. Because you are writing on a real-life event doesn’t mean you should be factual. Let your creativity add in pieces and bits that are entertaining. Learn sentence structure if need be and edit well.

I hope I get to read your stories when you write them. Subscribe because more articles are coming.

Sponsors of Emekadavid
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of Emekadavid
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Emekadavid
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments