This is what happens if you don't schedule a break... Real.

16 65
Avatar for Ellehcim
1 year ago
Topics: 2022, Sharing, Blog, Blogging, Insights, ...

07/11/2022


I opened a thought-provoking topic at the closing part of last night's blog. Yes, nice. Opening something at the end of something else. Interesting.

(Correction: This was a draft from three days ago, which means it's blog from a few night before. LOL)

I already put such statement in the previous article, but let me share it here again, for those who are new in my page.

I had a therapist who once told me, “if you don’t schedule a break, your body will take one for you. And it probably won’t be at a convenient time.”

Source: Twitter

First of all, I am thankful to this user. Feels good to not need to go to a therapist just to hear these pieces of knowledge that they share to others. Thanks for being not selfish enough by spreading the word.

Everyone must know this. Everyone must be reminded of it.

I also love the replies and comments under the tweet, saying people's own experiences of this statement coming to reality.

Real life stories of people who dealt with absolute burn out because they overworked themselves when they should be getting regular breaks, others who regularly gets 'sick' on specific times of the year, as if the own body decides its own time to 'reboot' because the owner does not, or those people who suffered injury for months because of neglecting their well-being. Lots of different stories, but similar lessons learned.

Our body ain't machines. If machines themselves also had scheduled maintenance, why don't some of us, merely people, do it, too?

We have limits! We're no superheroes with unlimited strength whatsoever. And in this world where hustling has been so normalized and dramatically involved in people's lives, taking breaks have been considered something that makes people "who are supposed to work" guilty. Which is very wrong in any aspect.

One very relevant example of this is my personal experience three years ago. After three to four months of me studying like there's no tomorrow, then getting addicted of coffee and junk foods, plus lack of sleep, I really got what I deserved after I graduated. Those months before graduation were really exhausting months, because I had to pass never ending evaluation exams, while helping mom with dad's hospitalization (I talked about this story in my older blogs), yet I knew I didn't have time to rest and slack off, because time is so precious, and I could bear to spend more money repeating the semester. I tell you, I only got to really make up for all sleepless and stressful nights after my graduation. I gained back the weight I lost while studying, and really got rid of anything stressful.

However, a few days after graduation, I fell really ill. As in, the illest I have ever been, so far. I became sick for half a month! I had to took lots of meds, I could not do other basic things. There were times I almost fainted, goodness, I don't even want to think of those times again. You know that feeling like you're a withering vegetable, and could not do anything about it? Yes, that's what I felt. I am thankful for my family, especially my mom who helped me recover. It was blood infection, by the way. The doctor even recommended me to be confined to the hospital because of my condition, but, I hate hospitals, so I refused. It was through my family's help, and God, of course, that I was able to survive through those trying weeks.

After having experience that, I really told myself not to be reckless about my health anymore.

I am proud of all of us who grinds and grinds. I can pretty much say now that I know people who are so hardworking that I am surprised they can handle many activities at once. I hope these people, I hope, WE, won't forget to rest, too.

Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty

What do you think about this article? Show some love! Feel free to leave a like, comment, and share it to your friends! If you want to support me in a different way, be one of my sponsors! This user loves sponsors! 💯

Read Next!

Start worthwhile journeys:

#Club1BCH

Lead Image from Unsplash

To God be the Glory.

12
$ 2.61
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
1 year ago
Topics: 2022, Sharing, Blog, Blogging, Insights, ...

Comments

Yes. They say experience is the best teacher. I think learning from others' experiences is wiser. You don't have to go through the pain while learning. We just have to be observant of other people's struggles so as not to acquire the same.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes, I have seen the best teacher from my father's experience rin sis..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yown, na experince mo na pla yun noon sis, kay adoble ingat ka sa sarili mo ngayon ha.. naku mahirtap na kung maulit pa yun..

yug sakin naman bughat ang nararamdaman ko , dalawang buwang ubo, laging maskit ang balat ko, at yung ulo ko parang nabibiyak, lahat masakit. kaya natuto na ako dun, di na ako nagpapalipas ng gutom kahit medyo masgastos

$ 0.02
1 year ago

naku, hirap din ng naranasan mo. Talagang pag maalala ay, napapasabi talaga tayo ng "di ko na uulitin!"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo nga sis, makatagam mam gud

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We shouldn't take our health for granted sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo, mahirap na magkasakit sa panahon nhayon, masmahal pa gastusin kaysa sahod haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pla naging inactive ka mareng

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hahaha, isa sa reasons madam..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Legit, ang malala pa baka yang rest na yaan ee mas matagal dahil super over work kana. Kaya wr should really know when to takr a break. Kaya marenggg, wag mo ipagkait sa sarili mo yaan okie.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamat marengs. Reminder ito sa lahat ng mahilig talaga mag overwork kasi nakasanayan na..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i agree sis.. some overwork thinking they are still young but the body has limits...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, di man sila agad magkasakit at a younger age, babawian din sila when they get older..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that kind of experience you have elleh. We need to rest talaga din minsan. Wag tayo magpabaya sa sarili. Ako din elleh maingat ako kasi weak din ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama yan. Ika nga prevention is better than cure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Elleh taman yan din lagi pinaparemind ng partner ko sa kin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago