Offline: Still Connected Final Part

19 37
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

It is actually raining as I write this.

It added more to the cold atmosphere in our house; even our electric fans are turned off. It felt more comfortable in bed, and I felt sleepy earlier today, LOL. Nevertheless, I will still write.

How was your day everyone? I heard from the news that our country, Philippines, is experiencing a typhoon today, the levels and damages depending on each of its regions. Thankfully, my location does not have excessive flooding nor too much hassle because of strong rains and winds. Typhoons aren't that shocking anymore, because our country is located in the Pacific Ring of Fire.

Today I am finishing what I wasn't able to continue last time. This is about my idea of the internet, what it's supposed to do, and what's actually happening nowadays.

This is a two-part article, and I am hoping you would read the first part first. I assure you, it's worth your time, as I put together the products of my research, personal observations, experiences, and even my own thoughts about it.

Here is the first part:

In this opening part, I have given an overview about what internet has prepared for us its users, how rapid it grew, and how it eventually became an addiction to many people around the world.

If you are a person who's addicted to mobile games, spends lots of hours on social media, or sleeps late due to use of cellphones or other gadgets, you may want to continue reading this.

In the last segment of the Part 1, I have already tackled about the effects and negative impact of prolonged exposure to mobile phones or gadgets, and even games.

Here are what I have finished discussing about:

  • It is not good for our health.

  • It impacts our mental aspect.

There are still a lot more effects of abusive use of technology, and I will try to cover the general, and common ones, as to encourage easier understanding and involvement of you.

Let's get straight into it.

Effects of Prolonged Exposure to Internet (A Continuation)

  • Risk of Cyber Bullying

Cyber Bullying has emerged ever since internet has proliferated around the globe. It can be defined as dealing damaged to the victim's mental health, and privacy by use of internet.

Cyber bullying is a crime, and in no other way should be tolerated. However, it has grown popular and, unfortunately, become parts of the news.

Because it is internet, and the crime is done online, the perpetuator has more courage to inflict damage. The suspect can always hide under a dummy account, or just delete the account where he/she did such offense.

Becoming engrossed into the online world increases the risk of being cyber-bullied, even from the minimal insulting comments, to as dangerous and concerning as death threats or below the belt insults toward the victim.

  • It may affect our personal relationships.

You may notice now that you spend most hours of your rest days with your phone. Try to look back and remember, what did you last talk about with your mom? Or dad? or siblings? If doing this thing seemed hard for you, maybe it's time to observe both your virtual and face-to-face relationships.

There is no sense of achieving lots and lots or friends in the virtual world, while unknowingly compromising your bonds with your family members.

  • It affects your focus.

Some people tend to be dependent on responses from their phone. A little vibration or ring from it makes them shift their attention to their phones, because they don't want to miss out on information or latest messages.

This could affect them, regardless if they are students or working already. Productivity is impacted.

I personally experience this on occassional times. Some of my house chores are stacking up, because I haven't noticed that I have spent too many hours on cellphone.


While there are a lot of effects of too much use of gadgets and internet, these are the only things I was able to include.

So what do you think? Are you one of these persons who related to all the stuff that I said ever since the part 1?

Maybe, this is the sign, my friend. This is the sign for you to re-evaluate this are of your life. We all.have different excuses for using our phones more than how it's supposed to be used. But, I think, now is the time to finally change for the better.

Ways to Cure or Prevent Abuse of Internet or Gadgets

These are the ways I have thought of, that may help you. Just in case doing all of these aren't enough nor doable, don't hesitate to sign up for some psychological therapy. Maybe there is some deeper underlying condition that causes you to be addicted to the technology.

  • Practice not using phone an hour before sleep. First of all, the blue light emitted by phones causes the eyes to find trouble falling asleep, so this tip is crucial. Using phones or gadgets in bed affects of sleeping cycles. This is not healthy. I know it's hard, because I use my phone on bed, too. Maybe start from thirty minutes, then add more minutes everyday, until you can achieve not bringing your phone with you on bed.

  • Start getting rid of applications you don't really need. It is because these apps cause us to 'force' ourselves to stay on our phones when that time comes our messages over all social networking sites have ran out. We resort to playing mobile games, or shopping online, and more. This is kinda fortunate for me in some sense, because my phone has very limited storage (lol), so I uninstall apps occassionally. Seriously, do it. It's helpful.

  • Set a daily limit on usage. And make it work. I have read from an article that people use phones and gadgets five hours a day in average. Combined for a week, this is a shocking 35 hours (Source) you could've just spent doing something more recreational. Your daily limit depends on you, but make sure you are able to cut down few hours from your usual time consumed. I hope you can do it.

  • Try out other activities. Maybe there are new hobbies waiting for you. Or new non-virtual friendships that are along your way. Be more active on developing these instead. You my find a very big difference. Online relationships are beautiful and amazing, but remember, they should not replace your personal relationships in the real world.

  • Track your progress. Nothing is more fulfilling than being able to see how you improved over time. You my list down all the changes you have decided to take on, and make a check list to determine if you have achieved it.

  1. Uninstall these apps.

  2. No more phones on bed.

  3. Only twenty five minutes on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

  4. Try out sewing this time.

  5. Spend more family time this weekend.

Above is a simple demonstration of what you can do. Of course, whatever you find comfortable of doing, you are free to apply it to yourself.

What's important is that we acknowledge that we need to modify our old practices, and substitute them with new, healthier ones.


I hope you were able to learn from this article. I am not a licensed medical practitioner, but I did my best to talk about this prevalent issue that we have to be aware of.

The thing is, this was supposed to he posted yesterday. I am sorry, everyone. My eyes are really dozing off last night and my writing was just babbling nonsense, so I had to stop and just pursue it today.

I hope I am not yet too late. Please enjoy this part, the finale of my two-part article. Offline: Still Connected.

But wait, why is the title like this again? I think I have mentioned it in the first part, but let me add more today.

Sometimes we don't notice that our bonds with family and friends just around us are becoming weaker. We tend to value virtual relationships more, and though it mostly happens during these times, I think this is not healthy.

God gifted the people around us for a reason. We are naturally social individuals, we can find and maintain friends, even without the help of social media.

We could live even without gadgets and technology. Even before these were born, a lot of civilizations has been established. It is not part of our basic needs, nor a permanent medicine to our pain. So we gotta stop depending on it.

Slowly but surely, let's start to disconnect from this online social sites and connect more with the people just right beside us. Time for us to share some new stories face-to-face with our family members, or our neighbors.

Though the internet made our lives easier despite the pandemic, we should still not depend on it.

Let me add this interesting input by @meitanteikudo on the first part of this article. His amazing thoughts always left me pondering and amazed. Here are his words about this topic:

Disconnect to Connect. Aren't we really moving backwards? I mean, mobile phones and similar technologies were once advertised to be used as a tool so we can communicate with the ones we love, but now, what has it done? Aren't we more disconnected than we were before? Isn't it worse?

Now, I just hope my ideas and thoughts have been imparted well. I had fun writing about this issue and I am hoping to tackle more in my future works. Thank you, for being with me until this part. I appreciate your support.

With a smile on my face, I bid goodbye to y'all, virtually.


Hello, friend!

You are very welcome to support me in my humble read.cash journey. My sponsor block is always open for your generosity. :)

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image source: Unsplash

6
$ 1.61
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

This puzzled me for a moment but I got it now and it's a brilliant idea! Hoping kids will appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Internet in general is a good thing. What people use it for is another question. I think the main purpose of the internet is to get information you need very quickly.

On the social side. It is good if we use it to connect with friends who are far away from us. Closer friends we should meet up and not look at out phone during spending time with them.

Definitely we should reduce screen time. Not good for anything. We can be "antisocial while we are social." There you go that could be a title for an article. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, I love the contrast but familiarity of the alternate title you said! This is amazing.. I really love it. Thanks for this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what? I really don't have the social media issue you mentioned here like I mean Facebook, twitter and Instagram lol. The only social media I have really utilized to connect with close friends and family is WhatsApp, but I don't think they have taken the place of my non-virtual relationship. If I am not on read.cash trying to see what I can do, then I am on other blogging sites or I am drawing or reading. Anything to keep me busy though lol. this a great article for anyone who would find interest in it.

PS: How do you mange your read.cash and noise.cash accounts lol. I am just curious because I really don't think I can, I have tried since like when I had an account on noise.cash but I just can't. I prefer read.cash to noise.cash truly and even when friends encourage me to stay active on noise.cash too, I just can't lol. I think I have even come across our name over there some months ago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to try out other blogging sites. Please share it to me, I want to explore and learn more. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I love to explore too. Have you heard about Hive blockchain? That is actually where I begun my blogging journey before I found read.cash. If you need any help or assistant. I will be here to lend you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I want to know kore about it. Can you teach me how? I can even ask your telegram account to have better chat with you there. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh sure dear I can. My telegram account username is the same. ZELLYPEARL. You can search me and add me up, when you do, you message me so I would know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will do! Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, there Zelly! I kinda relate with you. It is also hard for me to be active on noise.cash because read.cash takes most of my free time. I will really get into this soon, like posting actively everyday. I just treat noise.cash like a twitter account where I visit whenever I can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see. i don't even visit there for like months. And during those period there were free tips, mine was just dormant and I realized it was taken away after the system was changed from giving free tips. I like it here on read.cash Because I get to read longer and interesting topics compared to noise.cash where some people are just busy making noises hehhehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What can I say? I really love the quotation. LOL. Anyhow, thanks for the mention, I appreciate it so much. There's just a question I wanna ask, it's not really relevant to this but it's remotely similar, if you are to invent or develop a non-existent technology, what would it be? Why?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm . It is an interesting question. Maybe if "possible", I would invent an "Introvert Translator/Interpreter". It has to be something worn above the head like a headphones and able to read my mind. So whenever I am around people and wanna interact, it will do the talking for me. This high quality technology should be able to translate my thoughts into appropriate, not offensive words. It is a revolution towards extroverts understanding introverts more. LOL

I don't even know if I was making sense hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol Why did I think of something like an antennae on the head. Hahha

So it's thought driven? Like you think about something you want to say to that person and it will spit it out automatically without you even speaking? So some sort of telepathic communication??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. If that is even realistically possible. But I want something like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, not in the soonest future, The brain is still mostly a thing we can't understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep posting po maam Godbless always. God is always Good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, friend! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago