My Thoughts on Teenage Pregnancy

33 101
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

10/22/2021


Teenage pregnancy will never be an old topic. As time passes by, this will always be an issue we can never get rid of, I think, until the future.

Image Source: Unsplash

An article by @Eunoia sparked the birth of this blog. It has been quite a while ever since I talked about this with the family, maybe because we all have the same view about it.

Teenage pregnancy happens when two (mostly) unprepared young people commit pre-marital sex without using protection. Personally, I am acquainted with some people who already have a child at a young age, and in my case, these people I know are happy and at peace.

The stories I commonly heard from mom, and other people that I don't really know that much, are more into the negative side. And let's not lie, there are lots of disadvantages and struggles in teenage pregnancy, not just to the teen mom, but to the dad (because obviously, mom could not have it alone LOL).

First of all, teen parents may or may not have to leave schooling due to this. In most cases, it's the first. Due to changes in responsibilities, either one of them, or both may have to stop studying because they need money to support the child, among lots of other reasons.

A young man who should be solving Math problems, now had to look for jobs, even the low-paying ones, just to have a source of income. The pregnant girl now should prioritize her sensitive situation, and is entering a pressuring transition from being a teen to a mom.

There's also other people's judging gazes, words and comments that are indirectly insulting, and sometimes the couple's parents that will resent their children. Let's be honest, what parent would not? Parents wanted nothing but for their children to finish education and have a comfortable future, and they work hard for that, the in the end, their children will stumble like that. Young parents are so lucky if their parents would welcome the news with a smile. Because for me, disappointment, frustration, and despair are normal reactions of a parent. I apologize if I may have offended someone with my choice of words. These are my honest thoughts.

Well, parents are parents. No matter how they did resent at first, they'll eventually accept the young couple in the end, and sometimes care so much about their grandchildren as if they are the immediate aprents. How great our parents' love is.

I admire people who, even after becoming a young mom or dad, stull pursued studying alongside raising a child, because dude.. they are legends. And thanks to their parents, as well, for helping them all the way. I have this friend back in college that became a mom in her second or third year, I think. But bevause she had supportive parents, and of course shoe worked hard, she was able to graduate college with latin honors. How inspiring was that, right!

I also shared in my comment to Eunoia's article my own insight in this topic. I would be more proud of someone who became a parent early but took responsibility rather than someone who resorted to abortion just to protect his/her image, or whatever that is. A baby, even planned or not, is still a life. It did not decide to be born in this world, and so it has no fault of giving its parents a hard time. The parents brought the baby into this world, so they must take full responsibility.

In our country, it's sad that despite all efforts by the government to raise awareness about preventing teenage pregnancy, it is still a common occurence here. People, especially those who weren't guided well by their parents, usually enter into an irresponsible relationship at young ages, and causes the population to rise more due to unplanned pregnancies.

There are also instances where the jerk of a father escapes his responsibility and continues to have a good life, while the woman he impregnated was all alone raising the kid. Then in the future, he'll come back for his child like it was just nothing. These stories.. for real.. make my blood boil. I mean, how could some guys just do that? Leaving a person alone for a responsibility he also caused? I wonder where their conscience went.

Of course, I would also talk about women, who, after giving birth, will also leave the newborn baby to the unexperienced father. Dear, that baby came out of your womb..

Anyway, I don't really like to sound bitter or judgmental and I hope I did not come across as that. I am just voicing out the thoughts I have for parents who do not take responsibility to the child, the poor child they themselves brought into this world. When I touch this topic I really beome sensitive. Stop abandoning your child! Or if you can't afford to rause a child, then keep the lust to yourself. Don't do things you'd regret.

Anyway, I think I've been straying out of topic. I remember a beautiful Korean Drama, that I remember I also have talked about in one of my old articles, regarding KDrama Recommendations.

The title is 18 Again. Of course, one of my all time favorite dramas, I would not be bothered watching it multiple times. A story of a guy nearing his forties, who has his relationship with his family in the rocks.. And in a magical slip of time, he turns back into his eighteen year old self, and becoming a student alongside his children.

In that drama, I cried a lot. This show really expressed the struggles of teengae pregnancy. The young couple in the story had to stop studying when the girl became pregnant. Dae Young, the lead guy, had to be removed from the varsity, even he loved basketball so much, and Da Jung, a smart girl, also had to give up her dream of being a well-known news anchor.

I have seen the beautiful and ugly face of being parents at a young age. Dae Young worked lots of jobs day and night, and always injured himself, while Da Jung took care of the twins alone at home, alongside worrying for the expenses they had to pay. There were even scenes where they could not pay rent, I cried a lot in that part, too. I also understood some side of Dae Young, and his habit of drinking that his wife could not understand. All along it's his way of coping with all the struggles he could not dare tell his exhausted wife, too.

All their inner hardships were bottled up and not communicated because they had priorities to focus on, until the children grew to be young adults, and their marriage fell apart just in time. The whole drama gave the back story of how their love story went from being young lovers that used to be so inlove, until they've come to a point that they're so sick and tired of each other.

Here are some moments that still lives in my mind, rent-free. If you wanna consider watching it, have some preview through these heart-warming scenes.

Just click "CC" and select English language.

Anyway, my own opinion about teenage pregnancy? Of course, generally, it is not right. But it's not a sin, like Eunoia's side. Teenage pregnancy is not a sin but rather the after effect of the mistake. It's an outcome of our wrong decisions. This is my own understanding.

Government, and every matured person would not raise awarenes about teenage pregnancy if it's right.

People who've been in this situation might or might NOT have been informed of the life that awaits them, so I can't really be absolute with my side. Hiwever, what was started wrong does not have to be continued wrong. They say a mistake is a mistake only when one does not learn from it. It's just sad that some people had to experience it themselves than learning from other's mstakes. But, it's not too late.

As long as the couple stays responsible to what they brought themselves into, it's good. Like what the characters did in the drama I recommended. Even other people encouraged them to abort the cildren, they did not. Even they had to sacrifice their dreams, and learn to stand on their owm, they did not give up. They stayed strong throughout the years for their children. They are not perfect, but they tried hard. They did their best, and their love for their children is so big and real.


Lots of insights in this drama, that's why I like it. Anyway, these are the sets of thoughts that ran around my mind while just lying on my back, staring at the celing, and still pondering on Eunioa's article. Of course, I will recommend it. Read!

I hope I could see your insights in this one? What are your thoughts about teenage pregnancy and pre-marital sex?

Comment them down below! With that, I thank you sincerely for reading. Until next time! ❤️

❄️ Read Next!


My sponsor block is excited to have your logo! Thanks in advance.

Start your read.cash journey NOW!

Oh, wait.. Do you prefer interacting through short posts? noise.cash is perfect for you! Let me know, so I could guide you through.

#Club1BCH

To God be The Glory.

15
$ 10.20
$ 9.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Geekgirl
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I just wrote an article about teenage pregnancy earlier. I tried to search some related post and found your article. You're right that this issue was happened before, happening now and probably will also happen in the future. We need to do our part in helping teenagers not to involve in this trap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me I would not agree about what you have said that teenage pregnancy is not a sin. People now a days have that mindset specially those teenagers that it's okay for them to do what married people does.In the eyes of God it's a sin,having sex without marriage is a sin. God always reminds us in the scriptures don't commit adultery and it is one of the commandments of God.

Of course Satans will insist in our mind that we have to follow the trend that it's Good for us.Without thinking what will be the consequences after doing it. And there rise the Teenage Pregnancy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you in this part. But, of course, if they are 18 and their love is real, and they get married and have a child, even at 18, it's okay. The mistake itself is the pre-marital sex, and teenage pregnancy is the OUTCOME, not the sin itself. This is my understanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my opinion, For teenage pregnancy is not that much worse, as long as you both take responsibility. Do not leave it to your mom. But, for me, teenagers are not supposed to do that, because having a baby is not like having a pet. It is another stage of our lives. It is a serious matter.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spot on! We have very similar thoughts. The mistake has been done, damages have been incurred, the best way is to just be responsible for the aftermath. But then it could have been prevented throught proper education and awareness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, Proper education and awareness must be. Indeed, if that does not happen the child will be grown without the exact guidance of parents I'm sure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Curiousity is really prevalent among young minds, so guidance of the adults is crucial to prevent it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a mistake. Mistakes like that may come up but I wouldn't advise anyone to terminate pregnancy. That's one thing I don't like. It's very bad. But it may seem difficult for the girl if she still in school

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I don't support. People must ensure their future and then about babies. You have no rights to bring a child to this world untill you are completely able to take care of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree wumith your words. There are just some youths of today that are not aware of the responsibility of theur actions. Because they are not guided nor educated well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teenagers becoming pregnant is not easy especially for their families. But when it happens, it should be accepted and not seen as a big mistake or kahihiyan. I admire parents who don't condone their children's acts but still take good care of them when they get pregnant out of wedlock.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes, gintong mga magulang talaga. Though for.me, expected ko at di naman masisisi ang parents na magiging disappointed sila, especially when they want their children to have a good life.

Anyway, they still are there para sa mga anak nila, how great their love is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, although may mga magulang na iba ang paraan ng pagmamahal :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan, lodi. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a girl in my country who got pregnant at the age of 10 years old. As a child you definitely don't have responsibility to have a child not even for any other things. She kept the child and told her later "never do what I did".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My, 10 years old? I thought 12 years is the youngest ever, which is someone I watched in our local television show. That is really a young age! I wonder what stuff these kids got into that they did the thing and became parents at such a young age! That's not even a teenage, she has not reached puberty yet!

That is so shocking. Anyway, admire her for keeping the child and learning from her mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I became pregnant when I was 19 and i have nothing but gratefulness for my parents who supported me and pushed me still to finish my college degree. If not for my college degree, i may not be able to work in a prestigious company that only accepts college grads. Unexpected pregnancies are always a blessing, let us choose to rise to those adversities and use those early parenthood challenges as a tool to strive harder

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Beautiful. Thanks fpr this. Our parents really are a great help whenever we stumble. I am happy you chose to continue and finish study.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oho, 18 Again the yang movie na yan dami ding aral. Pero minsan nangyayari yang teenage pregnancy sa mga rape victim din yong labag sa kalooban talaga na. Iba iba din talaga ang reason no. Ang mas malala nga lang ay yong mga biktima ng mga kawalanghiyaan nong mga hmmm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's another case. Walang fault ang babaeng minolestya. So I would understand. Pero sa iba, minsan ang hirap din mapaniwalaan, maayos naman mag aral, hands on naman mangaral ang parents, pero naliligaw pa din ng landas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really crucial role to all teenage mom to look after what they committed of early pregnancy. It's just about councelling because it's happen already and try to adjust their selves for better future of their well children to be at early age of parenthood with the guidance of their loved ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And a crucial.role to.the teenge dad as well. It's equally hard burden for both parents .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, people are blind in n our place. Teen aged parent was over valued and some discriminate. Then you see, some parent are angry even they could forced the child to go out of thier home. 😬 So supportive parents is also a great life saver. Syempre it's a huge cut in vien if they will just let the teen ager do the things in her own. 😳

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. It might be a risky one, but hanga ako sa iba who managed to mend the responsibility of their own actions , at napatunayan nilang kinaya nila yung teenage parenthood on their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pregnancy should be at a mature age. Care must be taken to spread awareness among the children. Sex education and healthcare lessons must be compulsory starting junior schools.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with what you said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I concur with @wizo because in my secondary School days I confirm some of my class mates who gots pregnant that was the end of there school level being a half secondary School drop out which lead them into tender marriage which is not good at all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, sadly kids who are still schooling are more prone to teenage parenthood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My believe is that if it happens it may pause the girl’s career because while taking care of a baby, you may not have time for yourself not to talk of your career

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about it. The responsibilities instantly increase and priorities change.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article on early pregnancy is the second article I read today. There I said that pre-adolescent sexual education should be given adequately. Engaging in extramarital affairs is against both my belief and moral values, but it would be more appropriate to approach this event as a humane. Early pregnancy is a mistake, terminating a pregnancy is the bigger mistake that you will regret for your whole life. It is a difficult situation and process, I cannot express my opinion too much because it is a sensitive subject.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here. But I want to express these thoughts as free as I can because it really bothered me for a while now. I agree with you, terminating pregnancy slash aborting the baby is really a grave mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago