The BTS Meal: I Love it!

6 31
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I apologize in advance for the inactivity for the whole day. Actually, I had thought I won't be posting for today but I had a sudden change of mind, and started writing this, fifteen minutes before 12 a.m. .Well, so, I guess, I did not actually posted on a Saturday, but on a Sunday, right? I mean, fifteen minutes before Sunday is here. Technically, no Saturday article.

I hope this will be the first and last time I will get to miss a day to post. I have a reason, though, but I will still count it as a miss.

In the middle of the night, I just figured I should narrate today's highlight. Spoiler alert, this is another Kpop fangirl moment I want to share. Even if you don't care, please stay with me tonight, okay? LOL.

I am fighting the sleepy feeling right now by streaming my favorite BTS' tracks nowadays, Butter being the number 1. Second one, Film Out. Just for a random promotion, I made an article about this song, too. Check it out, I will wait for you here.

Why Purple Heart, Though?

This purple heart ignites confusions, of course. I should explain it. Or, do you have an idea what is a purple heart? If you do, before I explain, please comment below. I would love to know how you got familiar with this concept.

So, here's the tea. Purple is a special color for ARMYs like me. ARMY, the name of BTS' fandom. BTS' member, Kim Taehyung, or V, (one of my favorite persons), coined this sentence, "Borahae", (보라해 in Korean alphabet) which translates to "I Purple You".

To us BTS and ARMYs, it is our own language of love. It is how we express our love in words. According to V, "Purple is the last color of the rainbow. It means that I will love and trust you for a long time."

Since then, our signature color as a fandom has become purple. And when it comes to hearts, we use those purple ones, instead of the red or pink ones. Not to discriminate the latter of course. It is like our own code. Personally, I only use this heart to my co-ARMY friends, or to those who are really close to my heart.

So this is basically how I express my affection towards an ARMY friend:

"I Purple You 💜."

I hope you still saw the purple heart there despite the dark label bar. Anyway, today is a happy day, for my ARMY heart. My purple heart is full of happiness. [💜]

A Great Day on June 18

I have shared on one of my articles about my excitement of the BTS Meal opening in my country, Philippines. Other countries have this special limited collaboration already, before us, according to the release schedule you can see below:

Source: McDonalds official account on Twitter.

Philippines' schedule was June 18, yes, last Friday. (Not technically yesterday, because it is already 12:06 am as I type this. Happy Sunday, by the way.)

Friday is part of my work week. You can now guess where I headed to straight after work. Yes, the nearest McDonalds (laughs). Of course, it is a hassle. It is a Friday, and I should just head home to get a well-deserved rest, after yet another busy day, but there I was, unbothered by the hassle of queueing to order, the trouble of carrying those bags of foods I bought, and the slight rain after work.

To be honest, roughly 75% of my mind throughout my Friday work was just all about getting that BTS Meal as soon as possible. I would not want to hear "Sorry, we've ran out of this meal today." from the staff, (which is, I think, almost impossible to happen, because I know McDonalds has foreseen the vast amount of demand for this limited collaboration undertaking.) Still lowkey worried though.

Oh, wait, a favorite track started playing again. The song is "Best Of Me" a song by BTS as a product of working with The Chainsmokers. Heard of the latter? Yes, BTS has worked with them years ago. Search this song I just said, so you'd believe me.

A Brief Friday Story

Okay, so given my introduction above, I will get straight to this Friday evening. I was convincing enough to tag along my non-ARMY friend, to.. you know.. buy herself some regular fries and a coke float, because "we may become hungry while traveling home." I am thankful she agreed to accompany me.

It was already 6:18 in the evening when we arrived at the McDonalds. I am not surprised anymore of the queue I had to line up with. It was not that long of a queues, but surely not short, either. I think, it's only less than ten minutes that I was able to finally enter the restaurant.

I was not able to take pictures, because I am a shy potato, but I was amazed on how well-prepared everything is. Purple balloons everywhere, the crew wearing purple masks, and those special crew uniform that has a special design relating to BTS Meal, too.

The overall waiting time is nice, I got my take-out ready in not more than twenty minutes. Great job, McDonalds personnel! Thumbs up to your effort and hardworks.

My eyes lit up at the actual sight of the BTS Meal right in front of my eyes. I only saw this on TV, and Youtube. And of course, on BTS in many promotional videos. That moment, I could now hold it, and appreciate the look more.

Anyway, fast forward, I was able to get home successfully with a happy, excited smile on my face.

The BTS Meal: What's in There?

For the kinda detailed description, The BTS Meal contains the following:

  • Medium Coke

  • Medium Fries

  • 10 pcs McNuggets

  • Special Sauce 1: Cajun (카이준)

  • Special Sauce 2: Sweet Chili

Source: McDonald site.

Honestly, this is enough as a meal to me. Seriously, ten nuggets. Others may see this as rather a snack, but to me, it is considered heavy. Well, your tummy, your judgment. Moving on...

What makes this special are two things: (1) The Special dipping sauces that BTS picked themselves. These are Korean dish inspired sauces that were actually exclusive to Korea before. (2) The limited edition packaging design that represents BTS and ARMY. Though the designs differ among different countries. I don't personally know the reason.

I don't know about the others but it costs Php260 in our fiat currency here, which is roughly $5.2 when converted to dollars. I could say, the price is pretty reasonable. In fact, it was just almost half of my expected price. I was so happy.

Photo Corner

So the photos I am about to share here are my own captures, on that very day I purchased The BTS Meal. Please bear with these, I am not a professional photographer.

Not yet opened, except for the slightly consumed fries and emptied coke. LOL. I so love the purple and yellow combination.

Still the same, just different angle. I want you to have a closer look at these two dipping sauces which are already opened. I love the contrasting combination—Sweet and Chili giving that addictive kind of spicy, and the slightly sour after taste of Cajun sauce that neutralizes the hotness of sweet chilli sauce.

The nuggets are best eaten hot. Crispness disappears when the nuggets grow cold. So, if you're trying them, eat them as soon as it is served!

I just had to include the very cute paper bag that comes with one order. The design is different on the other side, hopefully, I can show you if I could take a photo again real soon.

Cravings satisfied. I was indeed elated by this experience. This will remain special to me. And hey, remember that one article where I decided it's time for something new? I remember including there one of the genius ideas I come up with, save a portion of my weekly budget from Monday to Friday,so I can treat myself every Friday. It happened that the release date was a Friday. Wow, look at that. Look how the stars aligned.

Let me just share a few points before I end this. I know others still have a negative view on this, haters, non-fans, casual listeners, or those who just has no idea. Specially others who can't understand why "The BTS Meal has so much hype when there is really nothing special to it..." Others, probably jobless clout-chasers, posted themselves purchasing one order and crumpled the packaging, and even documented it being thrown to the trash bin. Look at this Facebook post:

Translation in English is this:

"BTS, BTS, my foot. I just want nuggets. (laughing emoji)"

It made me laugh a bit. My friend, if nuggets is all you want, why just not buy the regular nuggets? Anyway, thank you for your purchase. The money still goes to BTS and McDo. (laughs). Or maybe edit your caption as this:

"I really just want nuggets and not this BTS Meal, but I want clout, and I wanna prove a point here, so I wasted some money, and STILL bought this meal! Yes, and wow! I even took a picture of these crumpled goodies into the trash can. How amazing of me, right? I know, I helped contributing to the internet toxicity more, so you're welcome!"

I'm gonna stop my nonsensical joke here. Let me say that respect is what we should all practice here. If you don't like the meal, don't buy it then. No one is forcing you to buy, nor eat that.

If this simple meal makes millions of people around the world happy, what is the deal about it? Why do we have the need to see those insulting posts from time to time? Can't you just be happy that lots of people throughout the world are happy? Isn't that a good thing, so you just want to spoil it? Well, try harder. While you write debates-engaging essays of why you dislike this meal, we just visit McDo, or call for a delivery, and just sit here, savoring the food.

The BTS Meal is not just a bunch of foods placed in slightly different containers. It is an experience we would never forget as fans of the biggest boyband in the world.

This has been my experience on having The BTS Meal last Friday. I hope you like this one. :)

Hello! Thanks a lot for being here!

I am so excited to see your names on my sponsor block.

You may read some of my previous works if you haven't yet.

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

4
$ 2.87
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 4
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Curious lang ako ate kung tinatapon niyo yung package haha. Papansin lang yung sa FB, ang target ng BTS Meal ay yung army at di yung bashers. Nakakainis lang na nilukot nila yung package para lang magpapapansin. Bumili na lang sila ng regular mcdo haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello! Ako, nikikeep ko haha! i am even planning to laminate the sauces covers. Hahaha. Nainggit ako sa ginawa nung kaibigan kong ARMY din. Anyway, trueee. Papansin talaga! Wala akong makitang sense sa post nya, tapos nakaturn off comments pa. Hahah, duwag, ayaw masugod. Well, kung clout gusto nya, nakuha naman nya hahaha! Bahala sya, Karma is an ARMY naman. May bawi din yan, tatawa lang ako dito sa gilid. lmao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This must have been an amazing experience for you. I like when something is themed and I would be so happy if something would be themed with my favorite band. I cannot even imagine what a great feeling you had during your meal. I bet you enjoyed it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes! Given it is the only merchandise I can afford as of my financial capacity right now, it makes me so happy and thankful. Thanks for your nice words. I enjoyed so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a friend who has a Korean Grocery shop and THE BTS ARMY here in our place have conducted BTS event there. I can remember myself being a fan of F4 before. I can feel your happiness in sharing this experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes! F4! My mom has glass sets that are F4 themed! LOL, I suddenly remember, it is I think, a marketing project by Pepsi? I mean the PEPSI glss merchandise featuring F4. Thanks for this, I remember it out of nowhere. xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago