Perseverance : My key into medical school

Avatar for Dr.Mfon
3 years ago

My journey into medical school wasn't easy. Today I will be sharing it with everyone.

It all began when I entered the senior class in my high school and we were thought Biology, I discovered I paid keen attention to the teacher during such lectures than other subjects.

Before this time I had nurtured this ambition of becoming a Medical Doctor, precisely a surgeon. So while I was attending Biology lectures, i allowed nothing distract me. My results were always the best. Represented my school in different science competitions and won lots of laurels.

Fast forward to my final year examinations in 2014, in my country, we do write two of such examinations, that is the West African Examination Council (Waec) and the National Examination Council (Neco) examinations.
I passed with just one sitting. I was so happy, I was close to becoming a Doctor. I had told almost all of my family members about my ambition and they were really supportive.

I felt everything will go smoothly, not until I wrote the entrance examinations into the university, it is called Joint Admission Matriculation Board (Jamb) and the Putme examinations.
I scored 245 from a total score of 400.
Before this time I heard the minimum requirement was 290, I was so worried.
Going for the second examination called the Post Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (putme). My low Jamb score discouraged me from studying.
Going for the examination I score 238 from a total score of 400.
I wasn't surprised because I wasn't reading.

Most of my friends whom we graduated alongside with were already studying their dream course.
I was so frustrated. Family members advice I changed my course to a simpler one like Anatomy, Biochemistry or even Physiology.
I was bent on being a medical doctor. But I wasn't ready to sacrifice my time for studies. I was having this confidence that if I could pass my Waec and Neco examinations, then Jamb and Putme are not exempted.

I registered for another entrance examination in 2015, most of my friends were already in their second year. Here I was trying to pass the entrance examinations.
Alot of them started giving me attitude, at a point my self esteem began to reduce, I was become socially withdrawn.
I was just tired of everyone telling me, it isn't easy gaining admission to study medicine and surgery.
My parents were supportive although at a point dad became worried.
I wasn't ready to give up on my dreams, I had this belief the world was waiting for my helping hands in the medical field.
I failed my entrance examination the second time, I was depressed but wasn't discouraged.
People confronted me the second time I wasn't still ready to let go of my dreams, so they left me. I told them until failure gives up on me, I won't stop trying. That was a tough decision you know. But who cares, all I wanted was to happy and fulfilled.

2016, I registered for another entrance examination, almost everyone had already given up on my dreams.
Guess what happened! I failed the third time. My depression was heightened, I gave up on everything but not on myself.
That's the main secret to being successful.
Whatever challenges you are facing, it's okay to give up eating, laughing, playing, dancing or even smiling but please don't give up on yourself. Its suicidal.

2017, I registered for my entrance examination again, this time around, I didn't change my dream course but i changed all my strategies.
Let me share it with everyone, since I wanted studying medicine, I had a mnemonics that was formed from the word medicine. Check this out :


M - Motivation
E - Evaluation
D - Devotion
I - Innovation
C - Calmness
I - Inspiration
N - No
E - Encouragement

Let me briefly explained ;

1. Motivation : I had this stethoscope hanging on the wall of my room, every morning when I wake up, I do picture myself using it on a patient. I had my wall covered with motivational quotes and the picture of Dr. Ben Carson was on my reading table. Those were my biggest motivations during my hard times.

2. Evaluation : After studies, I set questions pertaining to what I read, and it was helpful.

3. Devotion : I devoted my time to studies, I spent close to 15hrs everyday preparing for my examination.

4. Innovation : If you want to be successful, you need to reproduce new ideas; create them when necessary.
During past years I discovered I was easily distracted when I read at home, I had to start visiting the library everyday. Also had to increase my reading time.

5. Calmness : This is very necessary, you need to be stable to create better ideas. Involve yourself with things that will distract you from worrying. One of such things I used were music, till date, am a big fan of music.
It creates this peaceful arena in my mind.

6. Inspiration : Be an inspiration to yourself.. one of my favourite quotes was ; I will never give up until failure does.

7. No : During difficult times depression will come, self pity, social withdrawal and other bad vibes, learn to say No to them. I did and it worked for me.

8. Encouragement : Learn to encourage yourself. They were days I spent crying, all I do is tell myself " Mfon, that's okay, just get up, let's study, you can do this" I will lay on the floor nodding my head. When I remember such moments I do smile.
I came to realize my greatest cheerleader was actually myself.

After using the above principles, I went in for my examination again, (smiles) I scored 300 over a total of 400 in my jamb and 290 over a total of 400 in my putme.
I was Offered admission to study medicine.I wish you were there to see me smile, I was smiling like I won a huge sum of money.
Right now am in my 300 level.

I had to share this with everyone to encourage everyone trying achieve a certain goal but can't, Don't run away from failure, formulate new strategies to tackle it.
Keep on trying, don't run away from your dream because you failed, continue trying you will win.

Always remember that perseverance is the key to success.

With love,
From Dr. Mfon .

6
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Kajahal
Sponsors of Dr.Mfon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dr.Mfon
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

This is a big journey, my stay and journey to becoming an accountant was a hell mixed with good experience. But my final year was a lot of nice experience, i became a friend to the Hod which was our project supervisor, just because i said the truth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. honesty truly is the best policy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so encouraging, I was going through alot in my life. But after reading this I have reasons to hold on. Thank you Dr.

$ 0.00
3 years ago