Perfect Spot to Buy Fresh Fish | Mananggal Dalaguete Cebu

5 56
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Tips, Cook, Cooking, Beach, ...
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty

Today is Black Saturday on this holy week. In the past few days , I was eating heavy meals and I want to start my morning with a soup or any fresh vegetables and seafoods.

As I mentioned before that Dalaguete is a municipality which is known as vegetable basket of Cebu . This place is not only rich in agriculture but also in fishery. I am craving this morning to have some fish soup and I remember, one of my co teacher suggested me to go in Mananggal a known place where all fresh caught fish from the ocean were dropped . I was shocked when I arrived there because there's a long queue. I was on the 11th . You might question why I should go there than going directly to the market ? To let you know, whatever fish available in the market came from here all delivered from the other neighboring islands such as Bohol or Negros.

Aside from having a fresh caught seafoods, they're offering a low price . I bought "anduhaw" fish for 240 PHP per kilo but in the market the price is 300 PHP per kilo while the " "lamayagan" or squid is 170 PHP per kilo and it's 200 PHP per kilo in the market. I can see the big difference and how much discount I can get and through this, I can even save more.

One thing caught my intention was that most people who are buying have their own respective baskets. I wasn't inform at first but at least now I am aware next time I will buy. They promote an eco friendly one because aside of using plastic bags, they prefer to bring basket which I find it way more better .

On my way home , I decided to dropped by in the second house to give some to my sister-in-law since they have lots of dogs and cats who are fond of fresh fish or fish bone . I can see her big smile how happy she was to have some.fresh fish. And when I am about to leave , I got some "alugbati" a green leafy vegetables, scallions that my mother-in-law used to plant in her small garden. I will surely use it for my fish soup.

We cleaned and washed the squid carefully to avoid the squid ink spills. It's very easy and quick to cook this kind of dish it has common ingredients such as garlic , red onion , tomato, soy sauce and green onions . This will be cooked for 15-20 minutes . I love to add lots of chilli to add spicy flavour.

And here's the finish product , I love how soft it is and the tasteful flavour of squid remains. I was not able to control my rice at this time because it's been months I haven't eat it . I miss it's good taste.

For the remaining fish , I will cook it for lunch. I will grill it because the weather is so good. And have some fish soup as well. Thanks everyone for reading , I would love to know what meals you have today. If you have suggestions on other ways to cook the squid, I'll be happy to hear it. Goodbye and a Good day everyone.

9
$ 6.25
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Tips, Cook, Cooking, Beach, ...

Comments

I loved how such foods could be bought fresh, as in fresh from the seas. It's great that buyers are encouraged to bring baskets when buying, a great eco-friendly practice. But, hahays, I am allergic to certain seafoods I really can't tell what a squid tastes like. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought it was Mananggal like the creepy half-human flying in the dark night. Haha. I'm so sorry. Anyways, I loved sea food a lot. My lola used to cook us various seafoods back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, my first time to heart it, I thought it's Manananggal but it's closer to the word sound. Hehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never see Cebu city. After see in your picture I can feel that freshness can get from this city area. I like to buy fresh fish also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I am hoping for you to see what Cebu can offer. I'll assure you are going to love it and enjoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago