Decentralised social media

0 34
Avatar for Don_Christov
3 years ago

In my 3 years in Crypto I have used a plethora of Decentralized and Blockchain based social media platforms, each with their strengths and shortcomings. Like many who got in during that period I started on Steemit, then there was the Justin Sun takeover, the witnesses debacle, the hard fork and Hive was born. Steemit basically became abandoned after that and I moved to Hive alongside writing on Scorum, a Blockchain based sports blogging platform. Hive lost most of the early steam it started with and now it’s a shell of itself, and Scorum pretty much became abandoned by its founders. Then I tried out Minds and that was not what I was looking for at all, so I moved to Uptrennd in its early days and it was rosy. Token price was good and the platform was active as hell, even got past 100k users at some point and then some cracks began to show in the walls. Now Uptrennd is also a shell of itself, I then began trying other newer options. Used Voice, Read Cash, Noise Cash and they are all cool but none looks like it’s ready to hit Mass adoption.

But then I came across another project whose beta hasn’t even gone live but I’m pretty confident it is one for the future, and that’s CARBON. They are a decentralized social media much like the rest but they incorporate a lot of the new trends, something which most of the others have failed to do leading to their extinction. One of the very first reasons I fell in love with Carbon was because of their username claiming process. Users only began registering on the platform by claiming their usernames on the 31st of January but the process was one of the easiest I have ever seen. All you need to do is connect your MetaMask wallet to their site and select your username, no emails or phone numbers needed for confirmation codes and the likes

The UI according to the roadmap will be similar to that of Twitter, with some other sick features like encrypted messaging, social feeds, password vault, an NFT gallery where you can share your works (this is one feature I’m super excited about) and by far my favorite, a leader board.

In the early days of Uptrennd, a leader board was one of the things that made the platform very active. Many old users would remember when we used to get rewarded for activity on the platform with a place on the leader-board and the top 100 (if I remember correctly) were given extra tokens. Carbon will use a model like that but the top 300 will be rewarded with over 700k of CRBN tokens.  I have been privileged to interact with the founder and he is determined to build a quality platform having learnt from the shortcomings of those before.

Carbon is sure one project I expect a lot of big things from this year. At a price of $0.124 with a $4 million market cap I think CRBN is still undervalued. Just added some more to my bag yesterday with some spare cash, and with their beta going live this month I expect that they will push for $1 or close. To sign up on Carbon like I said go to their website https://app.crbn.io/ in your MetaMask and for now claim your username. They go live this month, and if there is anything I’ve learnt from all the other platforms I’ve used it’s that early adopters gain the most. Keep winning friends, I hope I see you all there.   


2
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Don_Christov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Don_Christov
3 years ago

Comments