I committed an offense...but I have no regret

10 26
Avatar for Domeh
Written by
3 years ago

It was a very Sunny Monday afternoon, the heat of the sun was indeed very hot. At the popular Ede Market, both buyers and traders were seen using different means to cushion the effect of the scorching sun. Some took of their shirts, some were pouring cold water on their heads, and some were fanning themselves with locally made hand fans.

As I drive down the road leading from the market, I saw an old woman, with a basket, containing foodstuffs she probably bought from the market, standing beside the road. She was looking tired and exhausted. I drove very close to her and alighted from the car in front of her. Then I walked to her, greeted her and asked, "how can I be of help to you ma"? To cut the long story short, I learnt she has been standing there for over an hour. Cars refused to stop, as it was not a bus stop, afraid of being arrested by traffic control officers. Also, no one was willing to give her a helping hand to the nearest bus stop which is just about fifteen minutes walk from were she was standing.

Just as I was about to lift her basket into my car, two traffic control officers came, as my stopping there was a traffic violation, an offense. I listened to them patiently as they explained to me the offense I have committed and the penalty. Then I asked, do you both have mothers? Are your mothers still alive? Which is more important to you at this point in time, obeying the traffic regulations or giving a little help to this old woman.

I could have just passed like others, but, the quilt of leaving an old woman to suffer, when I could have actually helped her, would continue to hurt me. She could have as well been my mother.

If you were one of the offers, what would you do after listening to me?

13
$ 0.00
Avatar for Domeh
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

So nice article .... Sjjdhw Jhwdh iwdhjw Kdidhwj Jsidje Jdisjsj Oqodjwj Kisdjw Oqidjwod osixjwj Kxowhwjdh Lejxwj Jjhdjw Ueudhhw.kdkxjwhsh Isijdwj Isdhhwhd Kdjshhew Djsjjd Kdjdj Ndjdksjw Kdkdjhd Ksidjjf Smdkiwj Kseihwdh Skdijwjd Ksksjhweh.dkidhw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a good heart and I admire you and appreciate of your good deeds, to the extent of violating the law. But a law is always a law, to be listen and followed. Sometimes our emotions is the driving force that lead us to violate the law, and our goodness will not be recosidered when it comes to law. As the saying goes "ignorance of the law excuses no one".

You are following the dictates of your heart in helping others and the traffic officers are following the orders of the law. Both of you are individuals with principle to look up to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice committment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

amazing writer

$ 0.00
3 years ago

like comment my day subscribe now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really don't understand why some people take law so rigid, without giving it human face. Why will they always say "Law is Law" anyways I don't judge them because if they are not stern people will abuse the law

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very correct.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a sweet act of kindness. If I were one of the officers I would have treated with the matter differently. As an officer protecting and serving is their duty. I guess to make everyone happy and at ease, I would even offer my help (as the officer) to let the lady enter the car at a much decent pace, so that the car can be remoed from the location as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago