Will you marry me? #2

13 40
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Writing, Love

If you haven't read yesterday's part you can read it here.

The rays of a Saturday morning sun pierced through the curtains in greetings, waking tired Gracey from a rather disturbed sleep. She yawned, stretching her long arms and shapely legs as if dissipating excessive tiredness. Stepping off the bed, she reachee for her phone on the drawer. Five missed calls. Two from George, two from her supervisor and one from Stacey, her twin sister.

"If only Stacey were here", she said longingly while staring into space. She needed someone to talk to at the moment about what happen about the proposal from George. Not just anyone but Stacey, she's the only one she discuss things like this with.

"Ughh!", She grunted. The scene from yesterday was playing in her head. After she walked out on George she'd immediately boarded a taxi home and cried herself to sleep. "How do I tell him?", "He doesn't deserve that", "I can't do it" were what she kept on repeating amidst tears. She hated herself for the embarrassment and shame she caused him by walking out on his proposal, but she couldn't just risk everything and accept it. It isn't worth it to her. She loves George no doubt, but there's something he know not about...and Gracey has no intention of telling him.

"Why is this woman stressing me nau!" She casually thought after seeing the supervisor's call again. It's Saturday(a day off) which made her wonder why her calls keep coming.

"Hello ma. Good morning ma", she greeted.

"Good morning Grace, be at the headquarters by 9:15am something came up", replied the supervisor I an authoritative voice.

"He-hello ma, bb-but it's Saturday and I...", Gracey trailed off after realizing the line was already dead. Cursing silently, she checked the time: 8:30am, starting off to the shower, she dialed Stacey's number.

"Hey babes! Let's meet in the evening!", Gracey said in a musical tone.

"Mumu, someone has been trying your number since yesterday but you weren't picking, home everything is alright Sha?" , Stacey in her kiddish voice. Stacey, who never misses an opportunity to joke not only with her sister but with everyone whom she knew, lived not quite far from her. It's about a 15 minutes drive.

"Well... let's just meet at Johnson's. It's Saturday and we ought to go out right? We'll talk", says Gracey cutting the called while running off this time to the toilet in yesterday's dress. "I am late already!".

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
My amazing sponsors, do well to check em out.:,-)

*******************************

"Hmm..so that's what happened huh? Nawaoo!", James exclaimed after hearing what George recounted about the marriage proposal. "Yes oo my brother, I was really rendered speechless", Goeorge confirmed.

George had had second thoughts about calling Gracey in the morning, "if there's anything she wants to talk, I will wait. If not I'll call her tomorrow. I'll be patient with her".

James, despite being a rum-dum, was still a very good friend of George's. He gives good advice too when he's not under the influence of alcohol. George decided to go over to his house to have a talk with him. They were both the Saturday.

"Hmm.. that's really unfortunate. You see George, there are girls who don't like that kind of thing. I am very sure Gracey loves you but maybe she just doesn't fancy public proposals like the quite, reserved person that she's. Have you tried calling her?", James said, nursing a cup of fruit juice in his hands.

"I thought about that too James. I don't really know, but don't you think her reaction wasn't too much? I mean walking out on a proposal isn't cool...I haven't called her yet. I wanted to speak with you first", George, starting to get frustrated, replied.

"You never know with women, they are one of a kind. I still think that's the reason. I mean Gracey loves you and if there's anything she wants you to know,I believe she'd have let you know", James buttressed.

"Well...all I have to do is inquire. I will just go straight to her house later today since it's her day off. If it has anything to do with disliking public proposals I'll propose to her in her house where it'd be only the two of us. I shall marry Gracey, it's my destiny", George said, staring into space. Looking at him with a sarcastic look on his face, James says "pele oo Mr soothsayer, destiny ko, fate ni"..then he bursted into laughter. George feigning anger, punched him jokingly on his shoulder saying "even when you drink fruit juice, stupid things still come out of your mouth", they both laughed.

To be continued...

Thanks for reading.

To all my sponsors, upvoters, commenters and viewers I say a big THANKS to you all. You all matter in my journey.

Yours Layly,

❀️.

Lead Image from Unsplash.

10
$ 2.76
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 11
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Writing, Love

Comments

I hope it'll be YES! Waiting for the next part !y friend. Galing !o naman gumawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope. I'm not falling for it again. Love this concept. But in the end, people will be sad knowing that it’s not real. πŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. Stories are always like that. At least we got entertained.πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope Gracey reconsiders the proposal privately thereafter. Beautiful story friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so too. Thank you very much Princess.🀭❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sparked interest :) Will see what happens next, I wish it would be a big fat YES :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so too..🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being in George's shoes I will not propose again if you can't accept me in public then so be it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. We never know what the problem is yet. It might be the public proposal or something else..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really in love with the article already, I had to read the first one immediately to keep up with this one and I'm not regretting it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you like it Semaj.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So she's going to let her past get in between her love for George? She should at least try telling him and if he doesn't accept her after that, then it's still ok. At least it's better than not trying at all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That might be correct, but we don't know for sure what's the problem is. Not yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago