The death of a friend.

30 54
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Death, Friend, Sad, Memories, Reality, ...

Death comes in the most unexpected of circumstances, leaving us with grief we've never felt before, the grief gets worse if this unwelcomed but inevitable visitor comes to those who we feel we can't live without, people like our parents, siblings, close friends and other loved ones with whom we've maintained close relationships.

As young people growing up, we know they death knows no age and isn't restricted to elderly people only and yet for some reason, we feel that we won't die yet since we're still very much young. The death of a friend, although painful brought me back to the shocking reality that death doesn't care about your age. You might just be reading this article and fall down dead.

There's this friend of mine who, during the last university strike, was always talkative in the class group because of how boring like has become without school at that time. He engaged alot in playful banters with other talkative members of the class in they group. I was also a very active member in the whatsapp group so we'd spend hours chatting online either on the group or outside the group. He was particularly fond of sending numerous data consuming stickers in an attempt to innocently provoke others, a very friendly and funny guy with unmatched interpersonal skills. One day, while the strike was still ongoing, I woke up to a voice note from his mom which had been forwarded to the class group. I then saw a picture of him smiling with a matriculation gown on him, a picture we took a year ago when we were matriculating. I didn't believe it at first as I thought it was some kind of joke although I know he wouldn't go as far as faking his own death, I still wanted to believe that his playful nature had led him to do that.

The notes was then followed by a message from the class rep who officially announced his death to the class members in the class group. All these while my hand was trembling and my phone was shaking seriously in my hands. I dropped the phone to let the news sink in and after slightly recovering, I proceeded to the bathroom to wash my face. On visiting my phone again, the whatsapp group was flooded with condolence messages, I couldn't say or type anything as my mind went totally blank. I chatted my class rep privately to request for the deceased mom's phone number to call her, I gave my condolences and to my surprise, her tone was a bit playful but still one could feel the pain deep down, God! What a strong woman. I cried and prayed a secret prayer for him and asked God to grant his parents the fortitude to bear the loss. He was such a promising young man. He suffered from malaria and typhoid which led to his demise. Prior to his death, his engagements online dropped significantly and since he was my favourite chat buddy, I called to inquire if everything was okay and he informed me about his illness, I never knew it'd become serious since his tone was playful as usual so I thought it was just normal malaria he would recover from in no time. A report after his death said it escalated and led to multiple organ failure leading to sepsis then death.

After the whole thing, I took some time to reflect upon myself. I and the guy were around the same age, I might even be a bit older than him. I was humbled beyond measures. It made me realise the brevity of this life again and again. It is just like the blink of an eye. Death can catch up with anyone at anytime so let's live a life and love without boundaries, live in the moment and forget about the past or future for none of it is guaranteed. It instilled a level of faith in me I still hold firmly.

My dear friend never lived to realise his dreams, but I know he's in a better place now, a place that's above all dreams.

Rest on Mujahid.

May the souls of all our departed loved ones rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖

22
$ 2.98
$ 2.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Trifecta
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 19
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Death, Friend, Sad, Memories, Reality, ...

Comments

It's really so painful to loose a loved one, so sorry sorry your loss dearest Layla, i can't imagine how you are presently feeling. You're right, let's just live in the moment; forgetting past hurts, we don't know what would happen tomorrow. Rest in peace dear Mujahid

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Ella for the condolences 🙏😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo, this just left me speechless, I'm sorry for the lost, I have a heartbreak now..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's very sad. RIP to the dead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah..😫😫

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that death knows no age because everything has been determined by the Almighty for our time and age on earth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's why we should always be mindful of its presence. It can come anytime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Death is one thing we can never be too prepared for. No matter how much we try to tell ourselves that everyone will die one day, it still comes as a shock with a lot of heartbreak when it eventually happens. I recently lost a classmate to cancer, even after we struggled to raise the money required to take her to India for treatments, she died when she got there 💔. R.I.P Mujahid

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's so sad to hear. The amount of dreams that are left unachevied due to death is heartbreaking. Mujahid wanted to become a neurosurgeon because his grandmother died from a brain problem but it wasn't his place to do so.. May your friend's soul rest in peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about the lost of your friend. Nothing hurts like that dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This hurts a lot. The death of a friend is one of the most painful things one can ever experience. I pray the he finds peace afterlife. Sorry about the death of your friend and I don't want you to overthink please

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is all about acceptance. Sometimes I do think but then I realise he wouldn't want it to be this way, so I say a prayer instead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry about the loss dear...it's so sad to lose people that we know and care about.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is... We just have to live with that feeling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Condolences to you and to the friends and relatives of your dear friend on his passing. It is true that life is fleeting and no time is assured. It is good though that your friend enjoyed his time while he was here, and that you were able to form a close bond. May he rest in peace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He lived life to the fullest. I guess that's something worth celebrating. Amen to that Trifecta. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really painful. Sorry for the loss of your close paddy and friend. May the Lord give you and the family, the fortitude to bear this Loss 🥺. Dreams left unachieved.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What more can we do than to accept it? It isn't ours nor his doing. May his soul rest in peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Recently I just lost a Friend and I didn't know until I went online on Facebook because I rarely use it and I discovered that he has passed away and that's really heartbreaking and the truth is someday it will be our turn and by then I hope we've achieved everything we want... May their souls rest in peace 🕊️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eyya. May your friend's soul rest in peace. I pray we achieve all our dreams before our time comes. Amen to that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Death is an unseen spirit that doesn't consider someone's status and age before knocking at the door. It could lay hands on a jovial person as well as on a boring person. But in all, we just need to prepare for it because one day it will come. Rest in peace to your amusing course mate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for your consoling words Ayo. Amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life was indeed very unpredictable and death has no age. We really can't tell how and when our lives will end so be sure that we will enjoy every moment that we have. May his soul rest in peace. I really felt sad about what happen to him. For sure at his young age, he still have lots of dream's to chase including his family, but he unexpectedly leaves the life that he has at no time. Hopefully he helped his family to accept his death. I'm sorry for your lose anyway.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Life is too short to keep on worrying about things that matter very little. Live every moment of it. Amen to the prayer... Amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace🤕🤕

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This life is so temporary everyone of us have to left everything and everyone one day. Feel sorry for your loss

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. A very fleeting place it is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago