An almost triggered pneumonia and a bomb explosion.

20 67
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Sorrow, Bomb, Ill, Bad, Tears, ...

I woke up from my disturbed sleep in the middle of the night with difficulty breathing. It was my pneumonia which got triggered. I couldn't remember drinking cold water for the past day so I concluded I must have inhaled something that triggered it. After waking up, it was difficult for me to go back to sleep and even if it were possible, I don't dare go back as it could lead to the worsening of the chest's tightness. I was out of drugs so I did what I do in such situations: prop myself up on my back on a pillow as a wedge, this made it subside and the coughing and discomfort became less. I made it to the morning.

A combination of salbutamol, septrin and erythromycin were bought from the nearby drugstore which I took after forcing some breakfast and I immediately went back to sleep, couldn't even do the cleaning. Just then, I felt serious shaking around the area I was lying down. I thought it was hallucination resulting from dizziness but then I heard a loud scream. It was shrill, sorrowful and macabre. There's no way you can hear such a scream without feeling a chill run down your spine. I instinctually felt something was wrong. Then the commotion followed further affirming to me that something was indeed wrong, people were talking incessantly and I could hear distant crying. My sister who was downstairs having a conversation with a neighbour suddenly ran upstairs and straight into the house to the balcony. I followed and there it was, a demolished school building two streets away from ours, a crowd of onlookers and wailing people and traces of blood on the road. At this time the police were yet to arrive and I hadn't the guts to go downstairs to the site of the happening and besides, I wasn't feeling very well and any direct contact with the sun would only worsen it. I entered into the house to lie down when few minutes later, my sister who hitherto also had no idea what happened told me it was a bomb blast. I I entered panic mode immediately and for an instant, my headache vanished, "bomb blast you say?" I asked her as if to confirm that it was a joke. It sounded too gruesome to be true. I have always associated bomb blasts to something way more gruesome in my mind and this is the first time I am experiencing one soo close to where I was. At that point I didn't know what to do. It was still very early in the morning around 9-10am and my uncle had travelled, so I and my sister were the only ones at home at the time. We locked our doors and the balcony door too so we kept peering through the balcony window. I saw students with bloodied clothes crying out to their mothers, I saw a dead man lying on the floor with a cloth thrown around his face. I saw dead bodies been evacuated from the collapsed building. It was too much for me to take and I fell down crying. This was a site I hadn't beheld in a long time.

The police soon arrived and a little order was restored, the crowd dispersed a little, the dead bodies were taken. I could see reporters interviewing some of the onlookers and the policemen. The whole scene seemed like a movie to me. It later came to my knowledge that the man who was surrounded earlier was the person who planted the bomb so it's more like a suicide bombing operation. Then came the rumours that it wasn't a bomb but a gas explosion. I live in the area but to the best of my knowledge, I don't remember knowing any gas station there. The name of the street this happened is Aba road and I live two streets to the right which is Enugu road. I go to Aba road alot on errands and there isn't a place I don't know in the whole street. There isn't any gas station near the school this explosion happened so it sounds really unbelievable to me. Even if it resulted from the explosion of a gas cylinder, I remember knowing that bombs can be made out of gas cylinders. A very touching story I heard regarding the explosion is that four students out of those that died are of the same parents, I can't even begin imagining how the mother would feel. Like who exactly did she offend?

There's a lot of speculations surrounding the incident. Some people say it has something to do with the recent barbaric jungle justice carried out on a girl who's been accused of blasphemy in another state, if this is true then I don't think my level of comprehension is up to the level I could understand how these are linked, it is all shades of stupid to me.

May the souls of the departed rest in peace and may God grant the family of the deceased the fortitude to bear the loss of their loved ones. My sudden illness coupled with this sad incident didn't even allow me to post anything yesterday as I was in a very bad sorrowful mood. Things keep getting worse and worse by the day and only God will come to our aid.

Thanks for reading my friends and special thanks to @BCH_LOVER for the sponsorship renewal.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖

16
$ 3.01
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
$ 0.04 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 14
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Sorrow, Bomb, Ill, Bad, Tears, ...

Comments

Damn, so you live close to where that bomb blast happened? I saw videos of it online and it's a very gruesome sight, I even saw the suicide bomber with his body torn to pieces. You guys living in the north are trying sha, crazy things like this happen very often over there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I tell you oo very close. It wasn't a site worth beholding. The north is in shambles. I just pray this doesn't result in a tribal or religious war.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was a very touching and tearful incident. I felt very sympathetic when the bomb happened.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was very painful. To think that most of the victims were children makes it more heartbreaking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry for all you passed through yesterday at your side. I heard the news, and i was totally sad on hearing such, i really feel for the mother whose were lost as a result of the bomb blast.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is a very sad and gruesome incident. I feel greatly for the mother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May the soul of the departed rest in peace and may God grant that mother the fortitude to hear that great loss. 4 children lost in a day. I read about it on the news. It's really heartbreaking and devastating. BTW hope you are feeling better now?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One can only imagine the height of pain she would feel. I pray she turns out fine in the end. I am feeling much better now thanks Doc.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

So much pain for the mother who lost your kids at a go. Thank goodness you're safe....I wonder what this country is turning into. Please be safe and stay alert.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It must have been indescribably painful for her. May God console her. Thanks Mhizutty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm... This northern Nigeria. I hope you are feeling better now? Glad you guys are unharmed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Northern Nigeria is something else oo. It's God that's just protecting us and may he keep protecting us amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was what I thought it, a cooking gas can't blow up that building like anything, that look like a bomb to me, thank God you are safe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It definitely is. Thanks Cogamedia.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG!! This is total Wickedness. What a country we live in. Thank goodness nothing happened to you guys. Stay safe dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Michael. It was a very saddening experience. Thank God for life nonetheless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really bad.. Thank God you people were unharmed. There's this guy I know who went to apply for a job in the school yesterday, but was told to come back tomorrow, if not for the fact that he was told to come tomorrow, he could have been there and be a victim

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm what a coincidence. You will never leave if it isn't yet your time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my. I remember a certain incident happened in one of our malls here in the PH, it was Glorietta and the culprit is a septic tank according to the investigation. Also in BGC a certain Condo explode too due to gas tank.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's sad. One has to be very careful these days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago