A dialogue with a mosquito.

50 102
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

The reason I am writing later than my normal writing time is because I drifted away while doing something I had forgotten about already, it wasn't that important by the way. Just then, a mosquito came wheezing by, in broad daylight! It is quite uncommon for me to see mosquitoes during the daytime but today not only did I see it, it sang me a lullaby very close to my ear. You know one of those moments when something happens and you're not sure if it is in a dream or if it reality? That's what it felt like. Although that pass isn't likely a dream, what I am about to tell you definitely is..

The mosquito sang a lullaby in my was and I mean that literally. Not just a wheezing noise but an actual song. I got up from my sleep in my dream and said to this little creature,

Layla: "that sounds really nice, but why do you have to go through all the stress though? I was about to sleep anyways!".

Mosquito: Wow, so you really understood the song? I always thought humans hate our lullabies and think we do it to annoy you guys, I guess that's because you don't understand us.

Layla : well...you can't really blame them can you? Science told us that's a way of distracting us so that you can suck our blood, even if we could here how beautiful your lullabies sound, we would still get irritated by it since it isn't sung for the right reasons.

Mosquito: what do you mean, right reasons?

Layla: You do it because you want to have a better opportunity of biting us, not because you're really interested in our sleep.

Mosquito(visibly indignant, with antennae sticking out more prominently) :... and you think that's a wrong reason to bite you? Look, I understand you're a human but that doesn't make you right either. From your biased perspective, it's wrong for is to do so and you aren't wrong in protecting yourselves, but insinuating that we're doing it for the wrong reasons is blatantly inconsiderate and overtly biased. We're living creatures too and have to fend for ourselves and if that means sucking on your blood, so be it! It's not for us by the way but for our young ones, we need blood to hatch our eggs. We need to keep surviving, we can't go back extinct simply because you think we're doing what we do for the "wrong" reasons. I am sure, if the rows were reversed, with the selfishness of the average human, you guys could do much worse!

Layla(suddenly realises Mr mosquito has a point, but nonetheless still surprised at the sudden outburst) : Well Sir, you do have a point, but that was sudden and I wasn't expecting it at all, were you that upset from what I said? Anyways you have all reasons to propagate your species, perhaps it's even a responsibility, and thank you for acknowledging that I also have a right to protect myself. I never knew mosquitoes could be this objective.

Mosquito :Well, I guess you're right. What saddens me is how my species have grown to hate humans too because of how you hate them.

Layla : Well isn't that something unavoidable?

Mosquito : Yeah seems like it, the hatred is bound to be there, both species are just doing what they think is best for themselves. Humans protect humanity from mosquitoes, Mosquito do what they do to ensure continuity of the mosquitity!

Layla(laughs) :What's mosquitity? Sounds like a word a verse in those awful noises you make in people's ears.

Mosquito (adjusts glasses): If humans have humanity, why can't mosquitoes have a mosquitity.. Or are you tryna sound biased again?!

Layla :Oh! Hahaha, fair enough Mr. Sorry if it sounds like that hahaha. Seriously you're a funny dude you know, are most mosquitoes like you tho?

Mosquito : Well I can't answer that, you know most of us don't know what we're like because we our lifespan is short and there's barely enough time for self realisation, but I guess I am not that different.

Layla: Hmm... Well I just hope someday you guys evolve into a specie that doesn't need blood to survive, that would be an evolutionary achievement for you guys. Knowing that there are many mosquitoes out there just like you, I guess I will feel bad if I ever kill anyone of your brethren again!

Mosquito (proceeds to Leave) :I hope so too, it's not like blood tastes good by the way.. or maybe science would help us if they know our plight. The problem is we can't speak to you humans and all our attempts to do so will sound offensive.

From Unsplash.

... And then he flew speedily to his brothers. Do you think there's a way to do what he says. I felt bad for the little guy though after hearing his side, but I guess until science does anything about it, or until evolution, things will just keep up the way they are. This made me remember an article by @Ellen.he titled animals just cannot say what's on their minds.

So guys what do you think about this? Do you think Mr Mosquito did justice to why they have to suck blood even at the expense of people's health? As a human, what do you think about the actions of humans towards mosquitoes and in extension, harmful animals in general?

Thanks for reading.

Special thanks to @foryoubtc09 for the sponsorship renewal.

Yours Layly,

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

24
$ 3.29
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 17
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

This was very fun.πŸ˜€ I’m sure the animals would have a lot to tell us if they could. Maybe we could learn something from them. Mosquitoes annoy me a lot, but it's not their fault because nature created them that way. I respect nature 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad you enjoyed it and yeah! That's nust nature. We've got to live wit it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why you see that they don't stay more than 24hours on Earth b4 they died

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh well. The mosquito is just being a mosquito. Leave the mosquito be lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

.. and I am just being a human tooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If only life offered dialogue instead of violence, then it would have been a much better place to live in. In lieu of this, mosquitoes must die. Violence is the way, peace was never an option. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah ah πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Maybe you should try summoning one in your dreams to have a little talk, or serve as a representative for both humans and mosquitoes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm battling the problem MR Mosquito gave me presently so my judgement will be bias. But can't they just bite without singing or infecting one?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eyya sorry. I wish you speedy recovery. Sadly they can't, it's unfortunate they were created with those protozoans in them. Sadder even is the fact that those without the parasite aren't the ones that bite.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! This made me feel pity to kill mosquitoes now. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Protect yourself oo. They are still a detriment to your health. Don't let this Mr pull your pity strings hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ this is so funny abeg. I was talking to a friend recently saying that I wish animals can talk a little.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you found it funny. I think the world would have been a better place id that happened.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will still kill any mosquito I see πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah. Engage in dialogue na, just like I didπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Way I dey treat malaria every week ni, kill am once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao 🀣 I have listened to their side of the story, truly we humans aren't trying, we should just give them a chance πŸ˜‚ abeg they should go and be sucking blood from cows and other animals, we can't be made to suffer because God created them that way

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Abi na. Even cow sef dey wipe dem tail for neck if they attempt to bite, shey na me go come dey look like mumu?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh you made me laugh about the mosquitity and the humanity. I am curious about the word mosquitity and tried to find it in the dictionary. Now I know that you are making us laugh for a while. I am smiling too while typing this hehehe. But yes, we have different reasons why we are doing something.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah I am glad found it funny Jen. You're right, neither of us is biased with our decisions, it's just survival of the fittest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, if ever we are on their side, for sure we will do the same thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mosquitoes often make it difficult for me to sleep because their sound is like a scary siren at night they will keep pecking my face if I don't cover it with a blanket.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's frustrating I agree, and sometimes you're left with no option than to cover with a blanket even when there's heat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can stand the lullaby she sings, but I can't stand her kiss. Death to all mosquitoes as long as it leaves redness and itching behind. I'm sorry for this! :))

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're entitled totally to that hahaha...and to think they distract you with that lullaby isn't so smart of them either.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They might not like blood but they need it to survive as long as they can, that's how they were created, its in their nature

$ 0.01
1 year ago

... and nature can't be defied. It's also our nature to protect ourselves. I guess it's all a game of nature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, I'm on the mosquito side, I support everything it said, you might think I'm a mosquito too but I'm not, until science find something for them to replace the human blood, I'll kill anyone that come close to my surrounding anyway

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahahaha. The eggs are more of a danger because when they hatch, they're the most active. It's our duty to protect ourselves no matter what.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes o, if any mosquito cries near my ear, its only a slap it needs,

I hope there aren't any mosquito guy here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I can't say for sure but I sha know that mosquitoes are dangerous to my health, any other thing can now follow πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I guess you have a point. We should protect ourselves at all costs haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once told a friend not to kill a mosquito that was sucking me and she was kinda livid. I told her they aren't the bad guys, they are just trying to survive

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm... If we go by that logic, we wouldn't kill scorpions too hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nope... Scorpions do not bite for food, but I get the pointπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mrs. Mosquito would have been more fitting, since male mosquitoes do not suck blood. Good perspective. But in trying to survive, they endanger my health too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well the dude I chatted with was a Mr. He sang songs in my ears. The male mosquitoes make noises in the ear to distract the person while the female mosquito does her thing. He is clearly speaking on behalf of the entire mosquito population.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. Alright. GoodπŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mosquitoes that are mosquitity, lol, now that's something. I understand the point that they need blood, but why my blood though. Hahahaha! I need my blood to survive too. Good story though.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. It's more than just the blood as the blood sucked by mosquitoes is a very negligible amount and wouldn't be of any hindrance to the normal bodily functions. The parasites is what causes harm. If mosquitoes didn't have parasites, I would care less about them sucking my blood. Besides I kind of have a desensitisation regarding mosquito bites.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true that we are all bias in what we do and if it were humans we'd have done everything in our power to achieve our aim. Mosquitoes are born to suck blood, it is how they are, they can't help it. But what they give to us is what is unacceptable, malaria is no fun. It'd be better if we could just get a bowl where blood can be kept for them to feed on

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the problem, they are a danger. They wouldn't be much to them sucking blood if it weren't for the parasites.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, or maybe feed on another animal that would be a better host as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's better too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Layla, it is a great honor for me that you mentioned my name in your article. Thanks, my friend. How inspiring this dialogue between humans and mosquitoes was. That mosquito was a very cultured and knowledgeable mosquito, and all its answers and arguments were absolutely correct. Every animal has the right to eat something to survive. And mosquitoes are no exception to this rule for their own survival.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's my pleasure EllenπŸ˜‚

I guess you're right. We all have rights as living creatures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please keep Baygon by your side next time. No time for talk πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You no get joy ooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago