Lost his paradise

4 27
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

So I got to writing this story for my hive account and I thought it would be selfish of me not to share it with us here. So here it is and I hope you learn one or two things from it, cos it's a true life story, though the characters have been changed.

So here it goes...

You know those guys that are usually the centre of attention in school? The type that just seems to be the centre of attention even without asking or seeking for it? Those guys that just seem to have everything, intelligent, smart, cute, charismatic, handsome and funny? Those guys that every girl in class wants to be with?

Okay, in this situation it is one particular guy, and it's not me. By the way, my name is Precious and this is the story about my love life with Emmanuel, the perfect guy in class.

It was the resumption of school for the second semester of our first year in school and we had all resumed school with a lot of frenzy from seeing each other after 2 long months of vacation. I and my girls were in one corner gisting and giggling about our best vacation moments.

Emmanuel and his guys on the other side were busy discussing football and yes I knew because as I said, Emmanuel was a centre of attraction and no discussion or even decision in class was perfect or complete unless Emmanuel has made his own input.

I know you might be thinking that I had a crush on him, but quite the opposite. From a distance he seemed like a proud and cocky guy, and I hate cocky guys. He'd always walk into the class with his head held high as if he's got everything figured out, his clothes well ironed and he smelled quite nice.

He seemed to be cool with everyone in the class and I could always hear the girls gossip about how they'd love to date him. How he's so sweet, flirty, and very good with words. Add the extra incentive that he is intelligent and would always help with assignments, and he seemed perfect.

So one day we all came to school, and unfortunately the lectures we had that day were postponed as the lecturers had some professional meeting to attend. Since we had a free day, we all decided to go out and have some fun. As we were about to leave, Emmanuel walked up to me and proposed in front of everyone for me to be his date for the outing.

Since we weren't particularly friends and I definitely wasn't the prettiest in the class, I was embarrassed and surprised at the same. But since he was playful and jovial, I joined in the act and turned him down. Surprisingly, he continued the act throughout our outing.

After that day, we started talking more, and I found out that he's actually really a nice person apart from the fact that he was an incorrigible flirt and seemed to enjoy every little attention he received from the ladies. This usually pissed me off but I'd never say anything as we were not dating. We got really close and I loved being around him as he seemed so knowledgeable and I learned so much from him.

Then one night, I noticed that he'd been in school all day doing drawings, and had slept off. I decided to go get food for both of us. After eating he dragged me aside to sit in one corner of the classroom. That was the day he officially asked me out. At first I started laughing, thinking it's just one of his goofing moments.

Then he held my hand with a firmness that reeked of a deep longing, then I looked into his eyes and they were reddish and watery, I couldn't tell if it was the fact that he just woke or I saw genuine vulnerability and surrender like one ready to leave his being in the care of a superior being.

I've never seen Emmanuel like this but then I turned him down outright. I was too scared, not just because he was a flirt and I wasn't ready to be competing with other more pretty girls for his attention, but because I felt I wasn't ready for love myself.

A proud man, I thought he'd avoid me and just continue with his flirting, but my turning him down seemed to ignite his passion and he started eschewing the flirting and other little things he knew I disliked. I found this very attractive and soothing to my ego, but I still wouldn't give in.

This continued for like a month until his pride got the better of him and he started withdrawing. But that was bad news for me, because at this point I had fallen heads over hills for him. The power has shifted from my bossom to his ego.

I remember the day I told him I had accepted his proposal and he said

"you can't be my girlfriend"

"why not" I queried feeling hurt

"because you already mean more than a girlfriend to me" he replied looking hungrily into my eyes.

I never knew what that statement meant, but we got together and he was the sweetest thing that had ever happened to me when I didn't allow my jealousy and insecurities get the better of me. We continued in this manner throughout the semester and he triggered passions in me that I never knew existed. He was my paradise.

That was until the break, where he all of a sudden changed. I decided to not travel so that I can be close to him, but we started spending less time together because he's always busy here and there, but wouldn't tell me what was going on with him. He was still the sweetest for the little time we were together, but I could tell that there was something wrong with him but he wouldn't open up to me.

After some time I started to miss him too much, and he was never there to fill the void. That was when Mark came into the picture, he was sweet, tender, caring and would always listen to me. Gradually my feelings started tilting towards Mark. Eventually I called Emmanuel and broke up with him. That was when he opened up to me about what was bothering him.

"I couldn't stand the fact that I couldn't provide for you and give you the best things that you deserve. I was trying to see how I can be better for us, to find a way to be a real man to my girl" he wailed as he started weeping bitterly and started begging for my forgiveness. When I asked why he didn't just open up to me. All he could say was

"I couldn't imagine burdening you with my issues. I needed to deal with my issues as a man" . Pride again I thought as he finished. Only if he knew that I never cared about any of things.

I have never seen him so broken, his cute and nicely chiseled face looked distorted and hideous as he tried to come to terms with the new reality. He staggered through the room, struggling to maintain balance with the help of the walls in my room murmuring curses to himself under his breath.

Just like that Emmanuel had lost his one true love because of his masculine pride. I feel for him but I just can't share my emotions and I hope he's learnt his lessons.

Sponsors of DiikaanYe
empty
empty
empty

Image from unsplash.com

Welcome to my blog, you can relax and be rest assured of quality content on diverse topics. You're free to air your views and opinions in the comments section, and It'll be my pleasure to learn and engage

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for DiikaanYe
1 year ago

Comments

I won't blame Emmanuel much, if he had shown his weakness to her, she would have left, either ways, he would have still lost her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think she would have left as she knew him very well. And she wasn't complaining about his status, all she wanted was for him to open up to her.

But then you're speaking from a girl's perspective and you might know better

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Women are unpredictable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Very true

$ 0.00
1 year ago