Do you act differently online than in real life?

37 587
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

We have been exposed to social media platforms for decades now. The emergence of internet became a natural respond today and I think for everyone who is reading this right now. Phone became part of our daily lifestyle. We felt like we cannot live without our smartphones because it is what keeps us occupied, updated, and connected to other people.

In some situation, we are acting differently online than in real life? Why? I have seen few of my friends, especially girls who changed their personality when they are posting and uploading photos. Like, you wouldn't thought that this person is your classmate who is shy, introvert and don't participate in class. Yet, online she was exposing her body too much, she used makeups and even her words to describe herself is different.

I do not get it why they have to change themselves online. Is it beneficial for them when they do it? Then, one time when I had a chance to talk with her in the classroom because we are the cleaners. I asked her why she was posting almost exposing her legs and boobs. I was surprised to her answer. She told me that posting photos like that gave her confident and reactions she wanted that cannot give by her friends and family.

It means she has no space at home to express herself. So her only choice to express what she wants is online platforms. She gained attention and reactions from others. When I say others, it is people she doesn't know. She barely know people who is commenting and messaging her. Since she cannot avoid then, she has to reply so that they would not think she is a snob.

For a long time, she kept doing that and exhausted herself. She lived her fake life online. Wait? Can we call it fake life when she is just expressing her real self online than in reality? In her reality, her life was just a fantasy. A world full of restrictions, rules and obedience without allowing a space for her freedom.

Why we act differently online than in real life?

From my classmate's experience, she has a valid reason why she did it because her freedom was restricted and cannot be expressed. I am just sad for her because the family she was born with is like that. A family that restricted children's happiness and realness.

  • Because we want to express ourselves. I admit that expressing online is way easier than real life. You just have to go to you feed, type and click post. Bingo! You expressed yourself now. But in some unfortunate event, others received a total different views online that leads to cyber bullying and harsh words. That hurts!

  • Because want to be satisfied. The reasons why we are feeling null and void in real life is we aren't satisfied. The satisfaction we want to have and felt is not happening. The only choice is to register, sign up and interact online. This is a very common situation.

  • Because we want to get people's attention. I observed that people who are trending online are people who wants attention. If they want attention, then they would create issue. Bingo! Their names will be mentioned and spread faster which is their goal in the very beginning. Vloggers did this all the time.

Let us just be real with ourselves whether online or real life. There is nothing to hide. You will be accepted as you are. If you continue chasing your fake self, instead of shaping your real self. Then, I am sure others will not see beauty and genuine from you.

Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty

You are so welcome to become my sponsor. I would love to see you there in that block. Thank you po!

I am grateful you read this!

13
$ 6.22
$ 6.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @DennMarc
+ 3
Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Comments

Yes I do act differently mainly because I try to be more confidence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you are beautiful and i know you have more confidence in yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah..I try to behave real like being myself but when I see people showing fake life I will want to follow the crowd

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's good though. behave and act normal like your real self. there's nothing to hide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Facebook is an effective tool to promote articles and other sites to gain referrals. Though I seldom post personal photos and activities. I am doing it through my page and I use my personal account for sharing the posts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

are you sharing your articles on facebook? that's so nice. i haven't shared mine since day 1. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this question is quite important and we know the truth. Most people do pretend on social media, in other to get people's attention. In other to get attract to people, most people will not want everyone to know their deeply secret, in such reasons they will like tried to hide their identity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah, there are many people who pretend on social media because they don't want to be recognized by their real-life friends or families.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nothing but the truth, social media is full of pretenders.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pagdating sa online world mas maingay ako hahaha. Pero I seldom post my pictures since medyo nacoconcious ako. Tamang share lang ng mga memes para kunyari funny ako 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maraming tao ang ganiyan ang sitwasyon kuya. maingay at pala-share ng mga memes at videos sa wall nila. reflection po ata iyon ng personality nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala siguro sa humor nalang din ako nabawi hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media is a double-edged sword. Be careful who to trust.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

but in here, they are friendly and good. no negativities ever be seen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's why I like platforms like this. In general, everyone is benign or else they will be reported and compromise their account :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. I am more friendly in real life than in virtual. I don't like much of the facebook posts made by my friends or greet them online, but I do in reality. I am much of an observant in social media, I don't post a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

really? it is good you are friendly in real life because that is the most important one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I am, and more talkative in person hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I act differently. It's really different when we are dealing with other person face to face than that when we are online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah, it depends upon on how we saw and they treat us too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako kahit saan ganito pa rin eh. Iisnobin kita kahit saan kung gusto ko. Hahaha. Pag magkaintindihan tayo, edi friends na tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

siguro po ate nakakatakot po kayo sa personal. hehehe. pero kayo po yung friend na laging taga pag tanggol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media platforms have been really people's self-representation nowadays. It's just saddening how these became a toxic environment for everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

too much negativities, bashing and trash talks are seen in the socmed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeahh haystt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya hindi na ko masyado nagppost sa ibang social media accounts ko e dahil most of the time nacconcious na ko sa maaaring sabihin nh iba haha malala ako mag overthink eh. Pero siguro maturity stage na rin. Narealize ko na hindi naman lahat kailangan ipost. May mga bagay na pwedeng sa sarili na lang natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

totoo po yan kuya. nagiging paranoid na tayo dahil sa mga toxic na mga tao. konting post lang huhusgahan ka na. nakakalungkot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes .. I am more arrogant when I chat online .. Hahaha .. In real life I am very shy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

really? magkakaiba ang magiging impression ng tao sayo hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayaan mo sila.. Buhay ko to.. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't post a lot of stuffs online most especially facebook. I think I it's not having different personality (in my case) it's just that there are some sides of me that I can't show to public be it online or in real.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lately po, nagshashare lang din po ako ng mga videos online, yung mga funny videos lang po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kilala mo naman ako, kung ano ako sa bahay, ganon ako sa school, online at kung saan man ako lupalop ng mundo haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo kuya. nakikita naman sayo iyon dahil kilala ko rin ang ilang mga kaibigan mo kapag napunta satin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am who I am both offline and online world.pero mas open ako sa mga taong di ko kilala in person kaysa sa mga taong nakapaligid sa akin kasi pag strangers no judgement

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh, maganda po yan ate na same tayo sa both world. hindi kasi maganda kung mag kaiba tayo ng personality and attitude eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

minsan kasi ang iba mas nailalabas nila sa online world ang mga saloobin nila kaysa sa personal

$ 0.00
1 year ago