What is the difference Between a Girl and a Woman? 

10 35
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Somehow, I have wanted to write about this for so long now but I needed to have the right push or inspiration to do that. I have managed to get myself prepared for it which is why I am writing it today being the last Sunday of September the year of the Lord 2021. But before I start, I will like to seek indulgence especially from the female folks on this platform. The reason is that I believe that there are things I may say here that may not go well with every one of them, therefore if I say anything that does not go in line with your belief as a girl or woman, please, do not crucify me rather your thoughtful and constructive corrections will be highly appreciated. Thank you for your understanding and please, join me as I walk you through this path of careful observation of who a girl and a woman are.

Ok, having said that let me pose this question to us especially the female genders on this platform. What is the difference between a girl and a woman? I presume you all would want to hear what or how I will categorise a woman and a girl, right? Well, this post is not purely meant to do that because I am not looking at the question I posed from the point of the age difference or body stature which is one of the first things that catches the eyes when a girl or a woman is seen. I will like to look at the question from actions and reactions that a girl or a woman portrays in certain situations and this is what I will use as my scale judgement in this post. I bet you are surprised that I am focusing on just these two points of physical body stature and age difference please you don’t have to be, I am doing so in other not to have a post too lengthy for my readers. Let us look at the two point’s one after the other.

Age difference

To some extent, age does not mean maturity but then we cannot overrule the fact that age plays a major role in the extent of one’s maturity level in life. There is an adage that says;

“A traveller is wiser than a man with grey hair”.

Looking at the above adage, you might think that old age is not wisdom but that will be a wrong assertion to make. The underlining word there is a traveller so what it means is that if you are not a traveller, you cannot say you are wiser than the old man in your community. One more thing, you are wiser than the old man in your community in a few things which I believe you have leant from your years of travel, therefore you cannot claim to be wiser than him in all things. Sorry for the deviation. Let us go back to the bone of contention.

 

By age, a woman is someone who has crossed the period of adolescence and has fully mature by nature. I will not go deep into that but let me look at a girl from the age difference point of view. A girl as we all know is someone who is still in her teens and very much within parental control age. Now, let us look at the very vital part of the age difference as a means of knowing who a girl or a woman is. We all know that actions beget reactions therefore I will want us to look at how we can know a girl or woman through their reactions. One thing you must know is that your reactions to situations most times determine how the people around you will see you especially age-wise. Ok, I have had situations where people I thought should be mature enough to handle issues behave far lower than what I had expected of them.

 

For me, I take notice of people’s reactions and that is how I tell whether you are still a girl or a woman. It does not matter how old you think you are as a woman, the moment you act below your age I will begin to see you as a girl. The same thing applies to any girl who behaves way mature than her age, I will always have that high respect for her whether she is very much younger or not.

Another aspect I will look at is when a woman fails to do her duty as a woman. Let us take for instance a mother who fails to take care of her children especially in the area of giving them quality and healthy homemade food. It is not a must that a mother must cook every day but I believe a good mother will not allow her children to feed on the pot of other women. It may sound like no big deal, but I believe that the same way a good husband will not allow another man to take care of his family, that is how a good mother should not seat and watch another woman feed her children irrespective of how a good cook the other woman might be.

Body stature

That you see yourself as a girl developing those feminine attributes at a young age does not make you a woman. I think this is where most of our young girls go astray. The moment they notice the presence of cleavage on their chest and also a little curve on their back, they will begin to feel as though they have arrived in the league of womanhood. This is one of the deceptive points a lot of heartless men use against these innocent girls. The moment they meet these girls, they will address them as “big girls” making these young girls feel as though they are now mature enough to do anything they want to do. Those physical attributes do not make one mature or a grown woman. I remembered the case of Akon the musician who called up a minor to the stage and allowed her to rock him and unfortunately for him, the video went viral and the girl’s parents saw it and sued him for child abuse. When I saw the picture of the girl, I realized that it is not about the physical appearance of any girl rather it is about being mature by age. I will end by saying;

“A woman should not allow herself to be seen as a girl and a girl should allow herself to grow naturally and at the right time”… Davinchysax.

Thank you for reading.

Davinchysax loves you…

Don’t forget to SUBSCRIBE for more.

Lead image from Unsplash.com. 

9
$ 6.68
$ 6.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

Nice perspective, brother and I love the scale you used. In the area of responsibilities too, they differ since we are using actions and inactions as a scale. Things matter differently to both. Nice quote there, brother. I might need to start quoting you now 🤣😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You said it rightly, things matter differently to both. 😆 it will be a pleasure bro...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very unusual to read something like this from a man's point of view, but you just wrote it well. There's really a big difference between a girl and a woman. And it takes time to be a full grown woman. The responsibilities and the perceptions in life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is nice to read from a man's point of view

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! nice write up and nice creativity 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great write up Hahaha.

You said what’s happening exactly among girls and woman

There is this cousin of mine I still try to talk to about her not being deceived by her stature. She feels she is the big girl of the home now not even taking to advices from her mum. Still in a teenage years

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That feeling will certainly lead her astray because she will not act her age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope she realizes the truth before it’s too late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What happened to Akon's Blockchain city he was preparing in Senegal? Seems it just stayed in plans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago