In the Shadows of her Mind.

1 24
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

It was already 2 am and Lisa was yet to find some sleep because her mind was going through a great storm caused by the events that led to the death of her lover. She was so restless that she could not find herself some peace of mind. How did it happen? Why did he have to die now when I thought my life was becoming beautiful? Kelvin was the first man I truly fell in love with just at the first sight. I can say it was pure love at first sight because I could not get myself to stop thinking about him after our first meeting. He smiled at me and I felt the warmth and innocence staring straight into my eyes. It was the best day of my life and just when I thought everything was moving fine, I was called to the morgue to identify his body. How on earth would I have known that Kelvin would not be coming back to me just a few days after we had such a heated argument? I was just being a silly lady when I asked him to leave the house just as we got into a fight. This was just eight months into the relationship. He tried so hard for us to talk it over instead of leaving the house but I was just stupid and silly that I insisted that he left the house.

 

I could see him breaking inside as he left the house with tears running that his cheek. Kelvin loved me so much that he could not spend a day without being with me. Irrespective of his tight schedule, he always finds time to come and see me. It was one of such visits that I had to tell him to move over to my house since I was also enjoying his company. He moved into the house and it all became more blissful. He knows how to treat a lady at all times. We never had any fight that lasted more than 20 minutes because he will always apologise not minding who is at fault and that singular act made me love him more. Our love became so strong that we started talking about marriage in other to seal it up. The day he asked me to marry him was and will always remain in my heart forever. It was romantic and poetic that I could not stand on my legs when he looked at me from his kneeling position. It was a wonderful day and more so, it was right there in the lobby of my office. I could see the joy in his eyes when I accepted and kissed him amidst clapping and cheers from my colleagues.

 

Which Kelvin are you talking about? This was the very first statement that came out of my mouth when I was told over the phone that he was involved in an accident. I could not understand what the caller was saying because my mind began to race back into time trying to turn the events that led to him leaving the house around. I could hear his voice begging me to calm down so that we could talk and I could hear him trying so much to say something to me. The worst part of it all is that I cannot lay my hands on what caused the fight. I strongly believe that it was not any fault of his because I remembered having a very bad day at the office and I came back to the house with loads of stored anger. I guess I transferred the entire aggression to him and I remembered how he tried so much to avoid the fight but I was so stupid and silly that I could not stop. The last thing the caller said was; Please ma’am, kindly come to the morgue to identify the body. As the call ended I could not imagine seeing Kelvin’s body lying in that morgue and I prayed so hard for it not to be him.

 

As I drove off from my house, I began to pray to God for me not to see Kelvin’s body on that morgue table. When I got there, the mortician took me inside where the body was lying on the table. As he was about to open it I closed my eyes hoping that it was all a dream that I will wake up to with Kelvin sleeping by beside me. The mortician lifted the cover to reveal the face of the corps and as I opened my eyes to see the face, lo and behold it was my Kelvin lying lifelessly on the table. I could not hold the shock, immediately I began to cry but as I was crying I felt as though someone was shaking my body. I looked around me and instantly the morgue was empty and I was just left alone in there with no corps on the table. As I tried to understand what was happening to me. I began to hear a voice calling me and at that moment fear gripped me because I thought I was running mad. As I tried to turn around in other to see who was calling me I woke up only to find out that I was having a terrible nightmare and Kelvin was trying to make me up. As I woke up I rushed and hugged him so tight because I thought I had lost him to the cold hands of death. I could not tell him that I saw him dead in my dream.

Thanks for reading my little imaginary story.

Davinchysax loves you.

2
$ 2.66
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Rafd9828
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

You really did justice to this story, you are doing good, very interesting story...

$ 0.00
2 years ago