"Give them something to eat" (Luke 9 vs 13.)

11 41
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I believe we are all doing great on this first day of the week. By now, you must have set out plans on what and how you wish to achieve your goals for the week. We all know that the first day of every week is very important towards achieving our desired goals. Let me welcome you officially into this new week. I pray your heart will find peace and comfort in all that you lay your hands to do.

Having said that, let us go into the main reason for this article today. From the title, you would have gotten a little clue on what the article will be, but let me try and throw some more light on it. For those within the Christian faith, you must have read about this miracle of the son of God which was performed with just five loaves of bread and two fish. For those who are not from the Christian faith, you can read about this miracle story in the Holy Bible; Luke chapter 9. 

I won’t go into the full story because I believe that you must have gone through it as a means of understanding why and the reason behind this article. One major thing I will like to point out is that this article was inspired by the sermon I heard in the church on Sunday. I would say that the preacher passed a very strong message to every heart that cares to listen.

 

Now, let me highlight the points I would want us to look at in this article, but before I do that, I would want to ask us this question; why did Christ ask his disciples to give the multitude something to eat? We all know that He is the son of God which means that He has the power to get the multitude filled even without them eating any physical food. The reason He asked his disciples to give them something to eat was;

  • ·        He wanted to use that opportunity to teach us that Christians are not meant to be hungry in the presence of God if not for the sake of fasting.

  • ·        He wanted to teach us how to care and love for one another at all times.

  • ·        He wanted to teach us most importantly about the power of putting the little things we have into good use.

  • ·        He wanted to teach us to look beyond the physical because God can do all things.

Having highlighted these points, I will try to elaborate on one or more of the points. The first one I will look at is this;

Putting the little things we have into Good use

From the story which I believe you must have read by now, you will understand that it was through the little loaves and few fish that was presented to Christ that he used to feed the five thousand. Let me take another dimension to this and I will solicit you to follow me into my world of thought. I believe that these people who have travelled from afar to come and hear Christ preach and to see him perform miracles did not leave their homes without having plans on what they will eat. It is common knowledge that when people are travelling on a long journey especially in that era, they are known to carry with them few loaves of bread as a means to quench hunger on the way. To buttress this point, let me refresh your mind on how the disciples got the five loaves of bread and two fish.

 

The disciples got these loaves of bread and fish from a child who was among the multitude and I believe that the child was not alone on that journey. What this means is that it would have been the parents of the child that gave him the bread and fish to give to the Disciples of Christ. Another angle to it was that the disciples did not only ask the child or his parents for bread and fish, it was not just the child and his parents that heard when the disciples were asking for anybody with bread and fish. Now, if the parents of the child had five loaves of bread and two fish with them, it also means that others had bread, fish, oil and even meat with them but they were not kind-hearted enough to bring it out to share with others.

Mind you, the child and his parents did not know that Christ wanted to perform a miracle by multiplying the five loaves of bread and two fish therefore they gave out what they had due to their kind heart, generosity and the fact that they understand the power of putting little things into good use.

Building our Faith

The next point I will look at is the issue of building our faith. Christ came to earth to teach us the way to God through faith and love. This was one of the reasons why he did not just perform the miracle in the other way by making the multitudes to be filled even without them eating any physical food. When His disciples gave him the basket containing the five loaves of bread and two fish, I believe the multitude was eager to know what he was going to do with it and how he will be able to feed all of them. Christ displayed faith to all of them present and even to those of us who are now reading about it in the Bible. One of the things I have learnt is that, for us to follow Christ, we must have faith as big as a mustard seed.

 

The life we live is built on faith and this is why we see ourselves making five, ten and even twenty years plans even when we do not know if we will wake up the next morning. I believe that some people may disagree probably because of their religion but I tell you, my friend, as a Christian, you must not play with your Faith in God who sees and knows all things even before it happens. Don’t withhold that gift God has given to you because it might be through you a nation, community, friends or even families will be saved.

 

Davinchysax loves you.

Don’t forget to ⏩SUBSCRIBE⏪ for more.

 

Lead image.  

8
$ 26.59
$ 26.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Rafd9828
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

indeed a great story to learn these things.. I am thankful that you have shared the insights about the Bible Passage...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful exegesis. This is exactly how Christ himself would analyse it. You don't have to withhold even the little you have. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this interpretation especially the part about putting little things to good use. I believe that this cannot be too overemphasized because we can only multiply what we possess.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I believe that that was the true reason behind what Christ did on that faithful day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my sponsor for sharing this to us. I admit, I rarely read a bible but the miracle about the five bread and two fishes, I knew about it.☺️ I also watch bible series in youtube if I have time tho.

As a learning for me, "Sharing is caring" indeed! I may be a sinner, but I'm doing my best to change it little by little through doing something beneficial or helpful for other people, specifically through sharing blessings towards the other.

There's a great blessing coming our way, especially when we do it wholeheartedly..❤️

God bless you sir!😇

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We are all sinners who are on a journey to perfection therefore we must allow the love of God to always direct and guide us. Thank you my friend for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A religious blog in read.cash is rare, your work is one of a kind! I think this platform need it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Of course, we need to always remind ourselves of who we are and where we are headed to... Nice having you around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we must look up on what's the right thing to do and listen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with the lessons you have pointed out about the miracle of five bread and two fishes.

There is a powerful message in what happened that day Christ and his disciple. For me, it teaches me the need to always share with people what I have.

My mom used to say that if everyone food problem is solved, there won't be much violence because hunger can make people aggressive and even make them exhibit terrible behaviors.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You are right... Just as they say, a hungry man is an angry man... Jesus thought us how to show love even from the little we have.

$ 0.02
2 years ago