Deceit, a Dangerous Act. 

6 19
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Trusting the words of others is not an ordinary thing to do, because there is every tendency that the person you are trusting might be pretending or trying to deceive you. It is like diving into the sea without any life gear. No matter how good a swimmer one is, diving into the Atlantic Ocean will be an option never to take. 

How and when do we feel deceived in life? To some, it may be when they have found out the truth while to others, they allow their instinct to be the judge of the character of anyone they meet. In either of these categories, one must try not to be deceived at all times. What will you do if you find out that your friend has been deceiving you all your life? I would not have bothered to write about this but because I always intend to teach or pass across a message to someone through my writing, I decided to bring this to us all to read. Maybe, I might be using this medium to talk to someone who might be suffering the same faith. Mind you, this is a true story, therefore, I will try not to use actual names and places of the event while narrating the story.

 

I got a distress call from a friend a few days ago and during the conversation, it became very clear to me that my friend was deeply heartbroken. I had to plead with him to hold on that it would be better for us to sit down somewhere and talk instead of doing it over the phone. He agreed instantly because he needed someone to talk to. I told him to meet me at a nearby café where we could talk. Before I got to the café, my friend Henry was already seated with eyes red from long hours of crying which I witnessed over the phone. As I sat down, he looked at me and said;

“Why is the human being wicked and heartless?”

His question caught me off guard because I did not expect to hear such a question from him. I had to summon the courage to ask him why he asked such a question. He looked at me for some time and started narrating a story I never believed could happen in real life let alone happening to someone I know. He told me how he left the office to go home just a few hours of reporting to work, this was because he was feeling sick and needed to take a break just to take care of himself. As he got to the house at such an unusual hour, he was shocked to see his friend who has been squatting in his house on his matrimonial bed with his wife. He could not understand what he saw because it felt as if he was dreaming. He went on to tell me that they left the house open because they never knew that he was going to come back earlier than normal on that day. He told me that he stood there looking at them while they were having sex.

 

I could not understand what he was saying because he was talking even as he was crying. I had to make him calm down just for me to understand him and after some time, he was able to hold himself together and continued with his ordeal. He told me that as he could not stand the heartbreaking scene, he called out his wife name, instantly she pushed off his friend who was already looking like someone who saw a ghost. He told me that he was shocked when his friend looked at him and said;

“She was my girlfriend before you married her, why are you feeling bad?”

He told me that this statement shattered whatever courage he was standing on. It was at this time that he looked at his wife and asked her;

“For how long has this been going on?”

He told me that his wife looked at him and said;

“I have never stopped loving him”

I was pushed to ask him how and why he did not know that his wife to be was once in a relationship with his friend. He told me that the wife never mentioned any relationship with someone else before they met. He also told me that her wife denied it even when he confronted her after getting tipped off by someone who knew the relationship that was going on between his wife and his friend. He told me that he is very terrified right now because a part of him is beginning to doubt the paternity of his son. It was at this point that I had to cut him. When I did that, he looked at me for some seconds and said:

“Does it mean that all this while, she was deceiving him?”

He could not hide his tears even though we were seated in public. He continued repeating his question but at this time, a lot of persons in the café could hear him. I could not allow him to draw more attention to our table, this made me tell him that we need to leave the café and he instantly followed me. I took him to a nearby garden where we could sit and talk privately. As we got there, I knew that the only thing to do was for me to calm him so that we could think of what to do next. After talking to him for some minutes, I asked him what he will do next and he told me that he is heading straight for divorce. He told me that he had no issue with his friend who betrayed him because he is no longer and will never be his friend again. I could not imagine how he was feeling at the moment because I have never been in such a situation all my life. This whole episode got me worried because I could not believe that a wife who has been living with the husband for more than five years will do such a thing. Things have fallen apart and the centre may never hold again.

In case you find yourself in such a situation, what will do? I am very curious to know what your reaction will be.

Thank you for your time.

Davinchysax loves you…

Lead image from unsplash

7
$ 4.22
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

I probably would have hurt someone really bad that day if it was me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No one will blame you if you do that...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For things like that many become murderers, I don't want friends like that, double cheating, there is a song by Wisin y Yandel, which describes a scene just like that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is very heartbreaking. I could not imagine what he had felt when he walked into them on the act.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is heartbreaking. I will find it hard to forgive my friend put in that situation, that's just betrayal...if she never stopped loving him, why did she lead another on? it's just wrong and inconsiderate

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is what I am yet to understand... We need to be careful when it comes to love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago