The Plans I Had For 2021

4 10
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Good day everyone! We have less than 24 hours to go, and I am really excited to start the new year. I don't know what to expect; tomorrow might be just another new day, but we're going to celebrate anyway. 2021 has been a hell of a year, but it has been better than 2020 in my opinion. I'm really looking forward to what the next year will bring.

In 2020, I planned to stay low key, mind my business and be totally invincible. Well, it didn't work out that way. By December, I found myself in a different location where I got to hang out with a bunch of people for a couple of weeks. I didn't realise how much fun I was going to have there. I made new friends tried out challenging activities and I sometimes found myself in the limelight. Putting myself out there made me expose myself to new friendships, experiences people, and opportunities. So for 2021 I decided not to limit myself in my environment. I wanted to put myself out there and take all that the world had to offer me. And therefore, I made the following declarations:

  • I WANTED TO WORK INTENTIONALLY TOWARDS BEING HAPPY - This may sound weird but over time, I had gotten used to being unhappy or sad. Things got to me really easily and I usually took my time to wallow in the sadness. Most often than not, nothing good ever comes after, so I usually do not expect anything good to happen to me and I actually cherished the rare moments when something good actually happened. So for 2021, I wanted to intentionally make myself happy. I wanted to let go of the negative thoughts, the negative experiences, I wanted to do the things that made me really happy. I also wanted to take note of the negative things, the things that triggered my negative thoughts and do away with them. So, I was taking the step to actively and intentionally do the things that made me feel good for 2021 because I felt and I believe everyone deserves to be happy. For the end of the year I don't think I've been able to 100% accomplish this, but I'm so grateful for how far I've come. I didn't get here on my own though, I have a wonderful person supporting me and pushing me to be my best self and I am very grateful to him.

  • I WANTED TO BE MORE SOCIAL - I am not a very social being. But I realised I had a lot of fun in the previous year when I was out with people and I wanted to try to do a bit more of that. I don't think I succeeded with this, but I did try to go out and make friends once in a while. I think every situation I found myself, I didn't limit myself so much. I tried to talk to people and start new friendships; the main problem I had was continuing those friendships. I always had problems keeping up with people, having to call or chat often. I usually want to be in my own shell and talk to people only when I see them. I do get nervous around people and I usually do not know what to say to them, so for my own comfort, I avoid confrontations.

  • I WANTED TO TRY NEW THINGS - I'm so happy to say I did do this. I did not only move to a totally different place, I got to try new things, experience a new culture, and even start a new wonderful relationship. I spent most of my 2021 in a whole new state it was very exciting being away from home. I didn't know anybody there, neither did I have anywhere to stay but I was able to figure it out. I made new friends, I met exciting people, I discovered the cultures and how different things were, how the people reacted to different situations and how they did things differently than I was used to. Everyday was just like a new adventure. The best thing about 2021 where's my relationship. I met this amazing person who was and still is totally perfect for me. He made life seem easier. I learnt how to experience love differently because of him and I also learnt what it meant to have a relationship of two fully committed people. It was refreshing knowing that I didn't have to live just for myself because I had someone who genuinely and totally cared for me just as much as I cared for myself and I'm eternally grateful for that.

So, how about you? did you make plans for the year? Were you able to achieve them? how did that go or did your plans change along the way? Will you make plans for next year and intentionally work towards them?

Thank you for reading as usual. You guys are amazing!! Don't forget to subscribe, comment, upvote.

Happy New Year in advance!! See you next year!

4
$ 1.62
$ 1.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @King_Gozie
+ 2
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It seems we both have similar problems when it comes to keeping friends, I hardly keep up with friends and would rather keep to myself. I will like to change that attitude in the coming year but sometimes I just can't help myself 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I'm glad I've found someone who can relate to that. It's not easy to leave my shell

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a meaningful post, it shows how you take time to reflect on yourself.. that's very healthy. Happy new year to you dear :) lot of blessings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, I hope to do better next year. Happy New Year to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago