The Day before Christmas

19 44
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hi, I'm new here. Well, I opened this account some weeks ago but I couldn't bring myself to start posting here until now. This is my first post and I'll like to introduce myself.

My name is Daria, I feel like I'm 5'10 feet tall but I'm only about 5'3 or 5'4. When I'm not working, my ideal day involves lazying around on my and with my phone. Although sometimes, I get the sudden urge to clean up everywhere and when that comes, I have to listen to it immediately or I may not feel like lifting a finger anymore.

It's just one day to Christmas, my mum has travelled to spend the holiday with her sister, I'm home with my dad and little brother and my other siblings may be coming home tomorrow; that means I'll have to cook a lot. I will be going to the market today to pick up a few things I may need for tomorrow and after Christmas.

The market during this period is usually filled with people, causing a human traffic. It is like a war with the pushing and shoving, racing to get attended to first, and the struggle to carry all you've bought while arguing with a stranger and making your way to the next store.

The crazy thing is how quickly one can also make friends in these situations. You may meet someone who said a simple kind word to you and then you both form an alliance, helping each other spot things on your lists, sharing market hacks and taking each others sides when arguing with other people in the market. It's a strange kind of excitement; while subconsciously worrying about stranger danger, you still let your guards down to accept the help you need.

There's a chance that you may never even meet the person again, but they would always be part of your Christmas stories. Sometimes, when you remember them, you may wonder where they are or what they're doing but that's as far as the friendship may go. Other times, you may form a friendship that transcends the Christmas shopping wars and it may be the beginning of a wonderful thing.

The shops during Christmas always have lots of goods on their shelves and the prices are usually higher during the festive season. The good thing is that you'll always find what you're looking for, but you may have to fight for your turn though.

I don't intend to buy a lot of stuff because I already bought most of the things I needed for Christmas earlier in the week. I know I will be very exhausted by the time I get back, but I won't be able to rest because I'll have to start cooking. I guess I'll find time to rest after Christmas, that's when my holiday will truly begin.

Before going to the market today, I have to do some cleaning around the house. That is going to take me an hour or two. The trip to and from the market could could also take an hour or two because of the Christmas rush. This evening, I'll start prepping for tomorrow's cooking by marinating the meats and refrigerating them. If you have any idea on how to save cooking time, please let me know in the comments.

Tonight, I may go to church for the vigil Mass which starts by 10pm and lasts till after midnight. I enjoy the count down to Christmas that is usually followed with fireworks outside the church. I especially like the fireworks; the thrilling sounds that comes it a burst of colourful shimmering lights. It's like a beautiful danger. I could stay up all night just to watch them. I love the nights before Christmas maybe more than the actual day itself. It could be because of the anticipation of Christmas, knowing that it's so near, receiving the Christmas calls and messages by 12am or just the feeling of the calm before the storm.

Do you celebrate Christmas? If yes, how do you prepare for it?

5
$ 1.31
$ 0.61 from @fantagira
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello Daria, where are you from? I’m also 5’3.

I’d like to welcome you to read.cash with a little gift from Club1bch. Happy Christmas 🎄

photo.jpg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas Fantagira, it's so nice to meet you! I'm from Nigeria, where are you from? Thank you so much for the tip, I will be paying it forward

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That’s great to hear. I am from Poland. We have the same name in Polish - Marta. That’s why I asked ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow, that's wonderful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to ReadCash Daria, it's great that you finally decided to write your first post :) We do celebrate Christmas in simple ways. I hope you are having a wonderful celebration :) Have fun and I hope you will enjoy your read cash journey

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I'm also glad I got to write my first post. It's really nice to meet you FarmGirl. I wish you a very merry Christmas!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

YOu are so welcome :) Cheers to your writing journey!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to readcash Daria, and Merry Christmas to you! I hope you have a fun time here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, merry Christmas to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You welcome Daria, everyone is prepared for tomorrow and I want to make tomorrow just for giving and helping others. Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so kind of you! The world needs more people like you. It's really nice to meet you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello po, nice to meet you here in this flatform I hope you will enjoy your stay here😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Aiah. It's nice to meet you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep it up 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello mate, it's nice to see you here. anyway we also get busy today, buying some stuff. With my new family, celebrating the Christmas is different as they don't woke up at twelve to celebrate the Christmas, they prepare to sleep 😂. I miss my home,i miss my family as we really celebrate Christmas there. We don't have gift giving but we woke at midnight to join the celebration. Anyway, enjoy your stay here in read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, this sounds nice too! I hope you have a very merry Christmas!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Daria... Welcome... Enjoy your stay here... (:

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome Dear,

$ 0.00
2 years ago