Disappointments and Danger

18 23
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

This morning was going OK until I got disappointed by my own phone. Work wasn't going to be stressful and I was even a bit excited about it till I tried to charge my phone. I plugged it in the extension box but it wasn't charging, instead it kept saying 'USB disconnected' or something like that. I battled with this for an hour while my battery was running down. I'm very dependent on my phone for work and personal stuff so, not having it is going to be a big issue. I can't get a new charger at the moment and no matter what I try, my current charger just won't work. There are few times where it starts charging for a second before it stops and those moments give me hope that it will still work but it just doesn't. At this rate, I might offline for most of the day and unable to interact on read.cash.

Anyway, enough about my disappointing charger. Happy Tuesday! How is your day going? For me, I just had noodles for breakfast because it's easy and fast to prepare. After that, I decided to write before my phone goes off. The good thing about today's work is that for the first time, I won't have to give feedback till tomorrow. Since I'm working from home, it means I can take my time to do the work. Now while this is interesting, I like the idea of working without the constant check in but I'm worried about the fact that it could be a prank or test to see if we're working. What if my boss calls in a few and asks us to give him updates or share what we've done so far. Apart from that, I also want to finish the work on time so I can do whatever I want for the rest of the day rather than working till the official end time. That was my plan but as my phone is going to go off soon, it'll hinder me from working. You may be wondering what I'll need my phone for when there's a laptop, it's actually a long story I don't want to get into lol.

So, now I'm killing time playing jigsaw puzzles and praying for a miracle. I will have to find a way to get my work done after which I may decide to do some laundry, eat and just take whatever the day has to offer.

For now, let me tell about boarding school hacks. Remember when I talked about using electric irons for various things in school, I'll explain the ones I remember.

(warning ⚠ Don't try this anywhere!)

  1. Bread Toaster

We did this by cutting the small laof in two and buttering inside it. Then we proceed to rub a generous amount of butter on the body of the bread. After that, the bread is wrapped in a paper (just enough paper to cover it once) and then is placed on a technical drawing board which we usually used FOR technical drawing or fine art classes. Then, we heat up the iron and press it onto the bread. We the turn the bread over and press the iron on the other side. We did that till the bread was flat, brown and crispy. The butter covering the bread enables paper to come off easily.

Sometimes, when we were provided with boiled eggs, we made a chunky mash of the egg and spread it in the center of the bread. Other times, we poured some powdered chocolate (mostly Milo) into the bread and after it had been toasted, the chocolate would have melted into a thick spread.

  1. Cloth Dryer

This is also another bad hack. When our clothes were wet, we sometimes used a hot iron to dry the clothes. Weirdly, I liked the sshhh sound that comes from hot iron coming in contact with a wet cloth which is usually followed by the smell of burning paper. This is however dangerous as it can easily burn the clothes, spoil the iron and make it more prone to burning other clothes, also, water and electricity shouldn't be playing together.

  1. Cooker

This should be the most dangerous of all. We sometimes used a hot iron as a stove to prepare contraband meals, mostly noodles. We were not allowed to cook as food was provided by the school but some students smuggle noodles into the hostel to cook. How it's mostly done is that you take an empty, clean milk or chocolate tin (aluminium, I think), pour water in it and place it on an upturned hot iron. When the water gets hot add spices and then noodles. I never did this though because it was too dangerous but I ate noodles from those who did hahaha and I didn't like how it tasted. It felt like the spices were still raw.

And that's all folks!

Thank you so much for reading!

9
$ 1.67
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

These hacks is really dangerous. But i like it my friend. I like Clever work. But yes be careful mate. And yes These hacks is new for. I never hear about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's dangerous. I don't recommend anyone doing it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These hacks could be dangerous especially that of ironing wet clothes instead of letting it to get dried. I think you need to get a new charger for your phone so it doesn´t disappoint you whenever you need to use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, yes it's quite dangerous. I don't recommend doing any of those things. Thanks, I will have to get a new charger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If iron had a mouth, I'm sure I know what it would have said, aha, daria... This your boarding school hack just made me feel bad of not attending one, anyways.. It seems everyone has a laptop now except me, though I have one, on my way back to school, screen got broken, still didn't know how till date, I did write about it, the journey that ended in tears

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Sorry about your laptop, I hope you'll be able to get one soon. Mine is not even exactly for me, I just use it for work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made me laugh with all the techniques for cooking or heating food with a griddle. Hehehe how witty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I'm glad I could entertain you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh i am using a frying pan to toast a bread Daria, it just like frying without an oil

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's actually a cool idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I knew all these hacks being a former border myself... But for the cooker why didn't you use iron buckets?????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, do they still make those?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah we tried ironing wet clothes too just to let it dry faster...Cooking the noodles with that upturned hot iron is smart one but it's dangerous as well. Someone who will do it needs to be extra careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's very dangerous. I never did that one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone's using life hack tricks for these. Not bad dear. Clever but be careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I won't suggest anyone to try them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha funny hacks, the most easiest hack I know is that of folding your cloths and putting them under your mattress, after some hours they'd look ironed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, that's true hahaha. I totally forgot we used to do that too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago