All work and no play

10 14
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone on read! I want to appreciate everyone who takes the time to read my articles and leave a comment, know that you make someone (me) happy every day by doing that. You guys are awesome. And to my sponsors, I love you!

Yesterday, I had so much trouble writing my article that I thought I wouldn't be able to do it. I wished someone could go in my head, figure out what I wanted to write and then write it for me. I was so busy with work that I could barely make out time to eat. I don't like that I don't have much time for myself but that's the situation I find myself in with my job.

Due to how hard it was to write during the day yesterday, I've decided to write tonight. My eyes are closing, my body is tired and I just feel the need to rest and sleep off but I don't want to give in till I'm done or at least halfway done.

Maybe I should talk about how my day went today (yesterday, by now). I woke up and immediately started to work on a letter I was too tired to write last night. I was still sleepy but it needed to be done. I was later told that I made some mistakes in the letter; good thing it got edited before being sent to the final recipient.

After that, I prepared for our work virtual meeting. We work from home most of the time, so we have to be prepared and punctual for the meeting calls. Most officers working remotely requires their staff to be as dependable and accountable as possible. That means you have to remain ready for a call at all times, be able and willing to start a new task, give feedback on between and complete the tasks on time even though you have no direct or physical supervision. For my work, it also means that one is allowed to be one minute late to a scheduled meeting. I actually like the idea because no one has to keep waiting for others while having awkward conversations.

After the meeting, we were assigned our tasks for the day. Mine involved expanding what I had worked on the previous day. My previous work was approved, so I had to work with it to create a larger body of work. It required a lot of research, writing, design and it took most of my time. I wasn't really happy that I had a lot of work to do but I was grateful for the learning process.

I remember, during the meeting, my brother kept banging the door so loudly, every other person present in the meeting could here the loud bangs and I couldn't mute my mic because I was giving a presentation. I tried to signal by waving my hands but he just wouldn't look towards where I was sitting. When waving didn't work, I started snapping my fingers towards him to catch his attention but it was not working and I was beginning to run out of breath. I must have looked extremely crazy with my gestures haha.

While all these were happening, I was home alone with my younger brother. After a while he came to me that he was hungry and wanted to eat noodles. I reminded him that he had already eaten an hour earlier and I can't leave my work to do the cooking but he kept pestering me and later sat down with a sad face that made me feel bad. So, I took a break from work to quickly cook for him. Coincidentally, my boss called when I was in the kitchen, I had to lower the cooker and run back to my work. I managed to convince him that I was still on my work and after the call, I finished cooking.

I'm proud of myself because I completed a huge part of the work, about 97%. At about 6.30pm, I had my lunch/dinner after which I read and commented on some posts on here, and then went to bed because of how exhausted I felt. I also slept off while writing this lol and continued this morning.

Anyway, that was how my day went and based on the message I've just received, today might involve a lot of work too but I'll find out after the meeting.

Remember to COMMENT and SUBSCRIBE!

3
$ 3.65
$ 3.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Workaholic Daria💪. I don't think if I can cope with virtual work for 6hours without leaving the camera from something else. You guys are trying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 It's not easy. There are usually temptations from all angles, TV, chatter from neighbours, TV, food lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was really an hectic day for you and I must say you are strong especially working and trying to make meal for your brother. You can´t blame him though, Lol. Just take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear, take care of yourself too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your day is what I describe as my nightmare!!! I'm sorry this happened to you... Try to rest when you can please... Take care of you... You're awesome!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I'll try to rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A stubborn bro and long patience sister haha perfect matches. Lucky boy indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 We work well together

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so busy this past few days Daria, Business renewalS

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I can relate to that. I hope you'll be able to find time to rest

$ 0.00
2 years ago