Holy Week!

3 36
Avatar for Daliana
1 year ago

Here we are approaching the Holy Easter Holidays, some of the greatest of mankind. This week is one for prayer, fasting, cleaning the house and preparing some chosen dishes.

What is religious fasting and prayer?

First of all, when we fast, you can't do it without prayer. Fasting is an inner cleaning, a refrain from products of animal origin, such as meat or dairy products. And prayer is also an inner cleansing, a connection with God. Prayer should be done daily . So let's pray to heaven! Prayer before anything else!

This week people are also cleaning houses and gardens, a general renewal. This is done every year this week.

We must be pure in heart, in myself, outside and inside.

And on Holy Thursday, people begin preparations for the Easter meal. And I start with the dyeing of eggs. Now it depends on each housewife how she decides to paint them. In the past, women decorated or colored them with onion leaves. Nowadays there is a special paint, that's how I used it. That's what I did on Thursday.

And now, from Thursday to Saturday evening, the housewives prepare all kinds of traditional dishes, depending on the area where everyone lives. I've done a few things so far, I'll do the rest tomorrow.

This dish is called sarmale, it is a traditional Romanian dish. No holiday without sarmale. It's a mixture of minced meat with spices, rice, onions and all wrapped in sauerkraut. Serve with polenta, sour cream and hot peppers. They are not finished in the picture, they will be boiled tomorrow.

I also made something sweet, also traditional in my country, it's called cozonac. It's a treat. I haven't done this for a long time, only for about two years, maybe in the future I will gradually show you the recipe.

I still have a lot to do in the kitchen, but there is still a day tomorrow.I've done enough for today.

During Holy Week, the church service is held on Thursday evenings. Little by little, everyone goes. On Friday the children go under the Holy Table, and on Saturday they share. I remember when I was a child I used to make wreaths to take to church. My parents bought me new clothes and I wore them to church for the first time. And Saturday night is the Resurrection service. People go to pray and take the Light.

I have many fond memories of Easter from my childhood, there were other times, traditions and customs were kept sacred. Nowadays, children don't go to church much, unfortunately.

After the Resurrection service, people go to their homes and the first thing they do is hit a red egg, then serve the other preparations.

I hope we all have an Enlightened Easter, with much peace in the world and health!

All pictures in this article are made by me!

4
$ 2.68
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @moonlight22
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 2
Avatar for Daliana
1 year ago

Comments

Totul arata minunat sper ca azi sunt gata sarmalele😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ai facut deja sarmalele? Sa vezi ce discuti am cu sotia mea , nici nu s-a apucat de ele.Se vede ca ai avut ceva treaba astazi la cate ai facut,Si sarmale si oua vopsite si pregatite.O adevarata gospodina . Aaaa, apropo, arata minunat cozonacii! Sa ai sarbatori de Paste ,fericite!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Referitor la sarmale, mai este și mâine o zi, are timp sa facă. 😂 Este multă muncă, într-adevăr, dar rezultatul este pe măsură. Sărbători frumoase și liniștite și ție!

$ 0.00
1 year ago