You're wasting money

Avatar for CryptoSorted
3 years ago

It's amazing how people go about losing money and complaining about transaction fees without making efforts to change the situation.

When all they needed to do was use alternative means of achieving the same result.

The crazy part is that most of these people are not ignorant of the cheapest ways to make transactions.

They're too reluctant to make the rational choice

Don't let yourself go poor in the name of "decentralization" or "loyalty".

Ways you're wasting money on fees and how to avoid them

1. Trading on Ethereum-based DEXs

Before I started trading on Uniswap and other DEXs even a $1 fee on any network was unacceptable.

Then Uniswap made me accept that $5 was cheap. And even $7 to $10 is within the limit.

To the extent that if you're trading with anything less than $1,000 your chances of making a profit is very limited.

Because immediately you execute a trade you're already at a loss by 2% to 5%.

Are you sure you're here to make money or gamble, hoping for some luck?

Except a token is not listed on any centralized exchanges, avoid buying or trading it on a DEX.

Use a centralized exchange and move your funds to your self-custody wallet when you're done buying or trading.

You will not die. And yes, nobody is monitoring you.

2. Moving BTC or ETH across exchanges

The average fee to move Ethereum out of an exchange is between $2 to $5.

Some exchanges charge even up to $7. While others like HitBTC are in business to make you poor with their horrific fees generally.

I'm still surprised that that exchange is still in business.

Another exchange you will do well to also avoid is Coinbase for the very same reason -high fees.

You can cut down on the exchange withdrawal fees by moving coins with cheap transaction fees.

These include TRX, XRP, BCH, LTC, NANO, BANANO, DOGE etc.

When it gets to your destination exchange you can then convert it back to your BTC or Ethereum if you have to.

3. Forcing yourself on Ethereum

I have started experimenting trading and yield-farming on Binance Smart Chain (BSC).

Why do people keep using Ethereum when they can achieve similar results on BSC?

In fact, I'm even surprised that many projects have not ported their apps to BSC.

This, understandably is why most people are "stuck" with Ethereum.

If not for anything, but to give users the "option" to choose what chain to use based on their preferences.

Please if anyone knows why most projects are hesitant to use BSC as an option. And why remaining stuck with Ethereum is the best way to go, kindly, let me know.

When Ethereum sorts its shit out, I will use it more, but until then, I would rather use the better alternatives.

Conclusion

I cannot allow my brain to assimilate 2 figure transaction fees as normal.

In fact, anything above $1 is no longer normal at all.

I'm I talking this way because I don't have money, let alone having enough to waste?

I guess so.

But I can also see that a lot more people are bearing a situation that they can actually control and even change.

6
$ 1.16
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ohdearcrypto
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
+ 3
Sponsors of CryptoSorted
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoSorted
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I find your fees extremely high, the ones you mention but noticed it depends on where you live how high the costs are. I'm satisfied with what I have now and am trying out a free bank account with free cards. Actively searching for ways to save money is what I do 24/7.

It's not laziness or loyalty but fears that make people decide not to try out something new. The fact is no company pays for loyalty.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

True. Fear plays a major part. That's why we'll work on providing more information about alternative platforms so people can make informed and more efficient decisions on platforms they use.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it helps because it's really not that easy to understand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure there's some learning curve every new thing. But they certainly wouldn't more difficult than using Uniswap.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, you are very correct. There is no reason for people to pay exorbitant fees, especially if they're trading with small amounts of crypto. I never touched Coinbase again after figuring out crypto. It's sad that crypto newbies will have to learn the hard way that some exchanges charge an arm and a leg to provide their services.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The likes of Coinbase and HitBTC are criminals when it comes to fees. It just doesn't make any sense to use them.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Things will change once BSC will evolve

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully. People are just too fixated on Ethereum

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Um, here on the platform I'm a beginner, and I've actually heard that I can earn bitcoin cash. When my first earnings start, then I will be able to make transactions, and until then I will read your useful posts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you the best in your journey bro.

$ 0.00
3 years ago