Why I Stopped My Online Clothing Business When Pandemic Hits

36 61
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Everything started when I was in Grade 11. I was 17 years old at that time and my other 2 best friends were planning to have an online business so we could earn our own money and not rely too much on our parents. We talked about putting up a business for somehow long months, and it just didn't happen because we were lacking in doing actions.

However, after some months, my sister-in-law did a buy and sell of bags. Then I said that I wanna help out in selling. So, what I did is I posted photos of the bags on my social media, and fortunately, a friend of mine bought one. But I think, isa lang yung napabili ko at that time or maybe more than that but I couldn't remember that much haha. But I felt good that I sold something that time because I got a commission, even if it's just a small amount.

The next day, my 2 other best friends saw my post on social media wherein I sell bags. I told them that it wasn't mine and I just helped out. Then we discussed again our plans to have an online business. We talked about where we should get a supplier, business name, etc.

Fast forward to after a month or so I guess, I set up my own online business. I made a business name, logo, Facebook page, Instagram account, found a supplier, and all that jazz. My other best friend was there to lend some minimal help as well. While my other best friend was still figuring things out (in the present time now, she's running her successful online business).

My online business continued to operate for many months or around a year. It was slowly unfolding as time passes by. It eventually officially stops running in December of 2019 or January of 2020. Our graduation for senior high school was approaching at that time and so every one of us are busy with things such as prom, final exam, etc. I would say that it also officially stopped because of the pandemic.

When the pandemic hits, I was so furious that time because I have no earnings. Because in the past months, I was so used that I have another source of income aside from the allowance that I get from my parents.

I had countless thoughts about whether I should still continue having a clothing online business. But at the time when the pandemic was just starting out, here are most of my thoughts:

  • I should not continue having a clothing online business because it involves shipping. That means I have to pack orders and go outside of our house to ship them off to my customers. I was an overthinker about the spread of the COVID-19 virus at that time, so the thought of me stepping out of our house more often to ship orders make me really furious.

  • I should not continue having a clothing online business because it also involves meeting up with customers who are just nearby our area. Again, I overthink about the virus! So the thought of meeting other people also bothers me.

Those are just some shallow reasons that my head made up to stop myself from clothing online business. But here is the main reason why I really stopped...

There was a video I watched months ago from Sorelle Amore on YouTube where she discussed that she also tried selling physical items when she was younger and later on she realized that it wasn't meant for her. Digital products are the ones that are meant for her. And I just thought that maybe it's the same with me.

Selling physical products entails so much work such as shipping, meeting up with customers, having an inventory, packaging, and all that jazz. It demands much time, doing active work, and you have to keep on moving from one place to another (I am only referring to small businesses owned by one person who does all the job done).

And the chaos doesn't fit me. It doesn't fit in my schedule and responsibilities with my college course and my personal life.

I realized that I wanted a business or a side hustle that doesn't require me to move around that much and enables me to just get the job done without going out of our house.

I am happy with my decision that I stopped my small clothing business years ago. I am happy to try out other hustles that I can juggle along with my academic and personal life. I shared in this article of mine all the side hustles that I did, both physical and digital products and earning platforms that I've tried: I Earned XX,XXX Money: Side Hustles Changed My Life.

Anyways, a shameless plug though. Here's my small business that I made in exchange for my clothing business years ago. You can send a direct message there if you want to avail and I will gladly assist you. 🤗

Salute to all small business owners who sell physical items such as clothes, stationery, etc. I am aware that shipping, packaging, and all that isn't easy. However, hard work always pays off. Fighting~! ❤️✨

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Articles:

For daily updates, let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: March 28, 2022

17
$ 6.97
$ 6.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 6
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

I have plan to take on a business also ..pero not now muna kasi andami lang kailangang unahin ..pero saludo ako sa mga ganiyan na small business. patuloy lang po kasi sa maliit naman nagsisimula lahat eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan. Start when you're ready. True!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga pag masipag sis. Maliit man o malaki ang business, kung may sipag at tiyaga may makukuha din talagang kita. Salute din ako sayo, kasi kahit nagkapandemic, nakahanap ka talaga nang paraan para kahit papa'no may kikitain ka. Good job ka dun!👏😊

Hindi kaya madali yung magbi.business ka tas lahat ikaw ang dapat gumawa or maghandle bawat process.

More pa! Hehe...God bless sayo sis..I know soon magiging productive na productive ka..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat sis! 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I was thinking online sales is more better than the physical sales, because the online sales will not simply require a physical shop, while in physical sales shop is required where your customers can come to buy product from you. I think in physical sales they are more expenses and while in online sales they no much expensive of shop rent and they are more sales on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It depends. Nowadays, we can have physical sales even just through online shop and without renting a physical shop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag Online business din ako dati nag stop din ako gaya mo dahil sa COVID-19 Okay na sana eh madami ako customers noon kaso nga iyon, dahil sa pandemic ayaw ako payagan lumabas ng Family ko para sa kaligtasan nila so yung Kaibigan ko nalaman nya kung saan ang supplier ko kaya doon din siya kumukuha at inagawan na ako ng work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala. Grabe naman yung friend mo mare. Parang ang off naman ng ginawa nya.

Buti na lang natagpuan natin tong read and noise, in exchange for our loss small business, 'no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have done a good business because the times have provided a solution to being able to create your own business with online media, because your own business is very good because your income is completely in your control, financial management and spending can be arranged yourself. but your decision to quit does have a good reason because the pandemic has made the situation even more complicated in sales, many of the same things happen to sellers and entrepreneurs. it's good for you to save the item first if it's still in your hands later you open it when the pandemic has changed to endemic, maybe you have to be patient for this incident but don't give up trying to find a new business by continuing to use the same method but not depending on the pandemic problem. I think you can also do direct sales without using shipping. buyers will come to your place because most of the efforts during the pandemic have switched to offline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooww. You really have a business mindset sis. How I hope to have thay kind of confidence and courage to do business. So far, blogging lang taalga yung kaya ko. Nahihiya ako amg hikayat ng mga tao bumili ng mga product ko eh. Very wrong attitude :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapalan lang ng mukha sis. Confidence is being improved naman at hindi overnight na nahahasa. Just try and try to put yourself out there sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also tried t sell products sa fb nung wala pang shopee at lazada. nuong una lang talaga malakas din kita pero feeling ko habang tumatagal talaga eh sobrang hirap din magbenta lalo na kapag wala ka masyado audience. Pero now feeling ko naan mas okay na. Actually im planning nga to make a business ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman, I tried buy and sell nung di pa masyado uso ang shopee at lazada. Marami talaga nagoorder, kaso kalaunan parang lahat na may shopee at lazada. Hahaha. Good luck sa pagbi-business mo ulit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hirap din nuon no sis dami ka kompetensya pero pwede pa naman eh kahit ngayun. ako nga balak mag shopee seller kaso need mag invest for waibill printer agghh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go sis! Good luck! Okay oang naman ata kahit printer lang at hindi waibill?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess pero magkano din printer hehee. Ilaw ba may nakita kang printer na mura??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako masyadong familiar sa mga printers eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many factors talaga when it comes to having a business. May plano rin akong mag negosyo sis but right now, I am weighing the factors. Iipon muna siguro ako for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Good luck sis! Need talaga mag plano muna bago sumabak sa pagbi-business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is okay, what matters is that you are safe sis and you can always come back and start that business again. Everyone lost their job during pandemic and we can always come back if that is really our passion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree. Thanks for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a business which selling physical items is such a hassle specially now that we are in pandemic, lots of sellers need to wrap the item, ship it to the courier and deliver it to the buyers. There are satisfied customers but some are not, it leads to low ratings and it might affect their business. It's a good move not to pursue your small business cause its risky since your the one who will deliver which you might get prone to virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! It's just me who did all the work that's why it's really hassle and risky because of virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Competition is real talaga when it comes to business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truts. Kaya dapat may kakaiba sa business mo if ever may plano ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At an early age you were already open minded on the business field and that was what made me awe.

Anyways, I knew that you will still able to cope with the business you wanted to achieved in the future. God bless to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started selling physical products naman during pandemic through an online shopping app. But it didn't work either hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many competitors na din kasi at that time kaya it's harder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also tried selling items. Ang ginagawa ko non is buy and sell but I realized na marami rin palang hassle. Like meeting up with customers, minsan super late pa sila and other stuffs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, buy and sell din sakin. True, hassle talaga. Naka experience na din ako ng late at super late pag meet up. Di ko keri hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a young 1 man small business owner myself, yes it definitely takes a lot of time, effort and perseverance Q~Q especially since sales isn't guaranteed all the time, there are always ups and downs. Im glad you're able to find the best fit for you! Let's keep on fighting 🤍✨

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. Yeah, I am glad too that I venture to other things and find something that works for me. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having our own business is not that easy. It has many things to learned more about and sometimes it came to stress out. At least, you are already exposing in that kind of business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely agree!

$ 0.00
2 years ago