Why I Chose Architecture?

38 67
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Are you a college student at the moment? If yes, what's your course?

Are you an incoming college student? If yes, what are you planning to take on?

Did you already graduate from college? If yes, sana all. Joke hahaha. If yes, what was the course you took?

What is your "why" behind your chosen courses? πŸ€”

Photo from Unsplash

In my case, I chose BS Architecture as my course. I am now a 2nd year college student at a university that doesn't have any tuition. (Share mo lang? LOL.) I always feel good whenever I think that I have $0 tuition because it makes me feel less of a burden to my parents. Hahaha. πŸ˜†

Since I was a freshman last year, most of our professors ask us to write explanations on why we chose our degree program.

I thought of sharing my reasons on this platform also. Here it is...

Why did I choose BS Architecture as my degree program?

Architect as a profession or studying architecture is something that I didn’t fantasize about when I was a kid. Because when I was a kid, what I dreamt of becoming are to be a:

  • nurse (because their white uniforms are pretty)

  • fashion designer (because I love designing clothes for my paper doll back then, I mentioned it already in this article: I Had the Best Childhood in the Philippines)

  • cake decorator (because it's very satisfying to watch someone decorating a cake hahaha)

  • doctor (because of k-drama hahaha raise your hand if you was also influenced)

I think I have other ambitions aside from those when I was still a kid but I kinda forgot them.

Those are amazing works, you know but my reasons are very petty. Haha. Not until I turned 15-year old. I was in Grade 9 when I chose Technical Drafting as my TLE (Technology and Livelihood Education) course. From then on, things about construction, designs and other stuff regarding those began to take on my curiosity, and I want to do something with it, perhaps satisfy or fill up the curiosity of mine. So I continued studying Technical Drafting until Grade 10. Then I took STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) as my strand in Senior High School because teachers suggest that it is the strand that fits my desired course.

To be surrounded with people who have similar goals as mine boosts my motivation to pursue my dream course. Just by seeing other people create something was mesmerizing in my eyes. Seeing photos and videos about architectural structures increases my enthusiasm to be more in depth in this field. It inspires me that if someone can do it, I can do it as well. I am fond of things that have to do something with creativity.

Being an Architect is a very creative profession, the additional and exciting part is the fact that you could have made something completely from scratch that will turn into reality.

As time goes on, I become much more interested in how buildings could influence our mood, behavior, and the way we live. Most of our lives are spent inside a building – through the use of architecture, I can provide a good impact to other people. I aspire to build a sustainable building which improves our lives while protecting our environment in the future. The building industry has the capability to reduce negative impacts upon the environment through design.

Hopefully, the learnings that I am going to acquire while being a student will help me in attaining a sustainable building with my own plans and designs in the near future.

My Architecture skills which include artistic and drawing ability are yet to be improved. By taking this course, I believe that I will be able to enhance these skills. Just like my fellow classmates, the main reason why I chose this course is because I see Architecture as my passion. But I know that passion isn't enough to keep moving forward, that's why I am going to practice along the way as best as I can.

I believe that architecture is more than just drawing and its aesthetic. There is something that other people don’t actually see behind those plans on blueprints.

Photo from Google

That's my "why" behind my chosen course.

How about you, guys? Have you ever thought about it? Share it on the comment box.

Anyways, the man in the photo attached is Architect Llyan Oliver Austria. He's known as a Filipino Architect YouTuber aka "big brain". If you watch his vlogs, you know it. He's one of my favorite architects. I've been watching his vlogs ever since he only has around a hundred subscribers. Watch his vlogs, guys! You will surely gain so much knowledge. πŸ˜‰

As always, thanks for reading! πŸ’–


Special thanks to @Pichi28 for the generous sponsorship. I highly appreciate your support! πŸ˜„


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash:Β CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: August 12, 2021

13
$ 0.81
$ 0.15 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 11
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Good luck on your chosen field and for pursuing your dream :) halos same tayo ng field pala (BSCE ako hahaha pero di ako passer ng board exam) Ok lang naman, i am still happy ang content. Wag papaapekto sa pressure sa paligid and just enjoy your uni days!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much! Ate pala kita! Okay lang yan. Pwede naman mag try and try sa board exam. Fighting sa atin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh good luck. Haha. Nag-1 yr ako sa Arki noon sinukuan ko. Pag di mo tlga hilig d ka tatagal. Hahaha. Kamusta ang pagpe-plate? Ok naman? Di naman inaabot ng madaling araw? XD

Bakit libre tuition? UP b yarn? San ba libre college? Haha.

Ay wait, napaka-swerte nyo may libreng tuition na nga pala sa college ngayon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow. Musta yung 1 year experience po? San ka na nag-shift? Actually, di maiwasang hindi magpuyat sa plates huhu pero kakayanin.

Naku. Entrance exam pa lang ng UP, deds na ako, pano pa pag dun ako nag aral? Hahaha. State university lang po dito sa amin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah OK. Nacheck ko nga diyan sa list. Hehe. Dami pala.

Kaya pa naman ang 1st yr pero hanggang dun n lng ako at inayawan ko na. Hahaha. Baka d n ako matulog pag tinuloy ko p. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Pag 5th year slash thesis season daw, legit na no sleep na ang iba. Grabe. Buti na lang naka-shift ka hahaha. San ka pala nag-shift sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha alam ko yan kasi mga 4th and 5th yr din dati yun panay sinasabi. Kaya sila bumabagsak sa minor subjects dahil sa major subjects. XD Uy baka naman magshift ka bigla wag sayang. haha. Maganda rin naman yan basta kaya m.

Syempre dun ako sa perslab ko na arts pumunta tlga. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

continue hah malay mo one day ikaw kunin namin HAHAHAHA archi ka pala hah HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo. Lagi ako nanonood ng mga vlogs nito.😁πŸ₯° gusto ko den mag architect before pero di pala kaya ng mga daliri ko.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang saya nya kasi panoorin diba. Hahaha. Ako di naman ganun kagaling pero kinakaya naman haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Continue to pursue your dream sis. Dont give up. I have a cousin who is an architect and i can see that he has a nice job now. Hehehe. Sana all tlg. Anyway, goodluck and most of all, God bless!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Congrats to your cousin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like Arch. Austria. I watched some of his vids. This reminds me of my friend who I talked about in my Mariah Carey post :D Grabe ang puyat nya nun kasi mano mano talaga ang pag drawing. As in matutulog lang ng ilang oras tas drawing ulit. Ang dami dami nyang ginagawa. Ineexplain naman nya minsan kung ano ginagawa nya kaso ako walang maabsorb haha! Magaling kasi magdrawing un nun pa. Mahilig sa arts kaya naapply nya sa pagka archi nya. Good luck sayo! Baka ikaw na ang next na maging pinoy big brain ng archi :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Galing naman ng friend mo. Ako nga di magaling sa drawing and arts, sakto lang pero push parin hahaha. Thank you! Ka-cringe if mag-vlog ako hahahaha okay lang ako as a viewer hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung bestfriend ko gusto din mag architech, kaso di kaya finacially. Kaya nag educ sya. Anyways, ako nga yung course ko di ako nag decide kundi yung school 🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Mej pricy talaga ang arki. Bakit anong course mo ngayon? And ano talaga yung gusto mo? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko din alam dream course ko hahhaa. Educ ako ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan sis. Anong subject balak mong ituro?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Automotive pa major ko HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same dream gusto ko din maging architect mare or engineer pero sa kapos talaga kami sa pera diko na natuloy pangarap kong yan. Gusto ko maging Architect at engineer kahit di ako kagaling sa Math pero willing to learn naman ako. Nasa lahi talaga namin siguro ang Engineering kasi Tito ko Engineer tapos yung pinsan ko engineering din kinuha niya course. Gusto ko noon na ako gagawa ng bahay namin ni Mama. Yan talaga dahilan kung bakit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bakit anong year ka na po now and what course? May kamahalan talaga ang arki as a course eh. Same tayo. Gusto ko din magawan ng bahay sina mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my dream course is an architecture too. Continue your journey and I know you will made it. You can be success the career you want sis.. God bless you always...πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Anong year ka na po now?

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko tinuloy yung architecture sis.. I already graduated na sis with other course..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Architecture was my choice when I was in college pero di kinaya ng grades and lol and mahal ang tuition fee. I took up Commerce major in Baking in Finance. I hate Math, but ya know, barkabarkada, same same kaya sinunod ko mga friendship ko. I am a banker by profession and worked in a bank for a couple of years :)

Congrats and goodluck sa pamangkin mo mo, sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahal din mga gamit ng architecture po. Buti na lang nga nakapasa ako sa walang tuition kaya push ko na din. Naging okay naman din po yung pag-sunod nyo sa mga friends mo. Naging banker ka na.

Thank you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung sister ko magaling sa art, gusto ko maging architecture dn sya πŸ˜… if gugustuhin nya....

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unahan mo na sisy mo. Ipa-architecture mo na charot hahaha. Dun sya kung saan masaya sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also a college student (Share ko lang din po hahahha). And my course is Educ. Dati architecture po talaga ang dream course ko ewan ko po bakit biglang nagbago, ganun po ata talaga yun. Hehehhe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan talaga. Pabago-bago isip natin hahaha basta dun tayo sa kung saan natin naeenjoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo tama nung una hindi ko po gusto yung nakuha kong course pero habang tumatagal naeenjoy ko naman po sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omgg I love watching Arch. Llyan's vlogs too. I learned a lot of things just from watching his kwela vlogs. I watch them even though I am not an architecture student HAHAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True! Masaya talaga sya panoorin kaya maeengganyo ka kahit di interested sa arki dahil sa tito jokes nya. Hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Having seen my niece going through sleepless nights and tiresome days during her studies made me feel proud at the same time feel sorry for all that she has gone through. But seeing her finally being able to finish her Architecture degree recently makes it all worth it. Still have to get through the licensure exam but yes, the future of architecture must be awesome!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! Congrats to your niece for getting though the hardships. Good luck on her licensure exam also!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dahling, and all the best to you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba sa BU ka? May barkada ako architecture din sa BU hahahha skl

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo hahaha. Ano ba name baka familiar sakin haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago