What am I Currently Reading?

44 62
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Books, Story, Novel, Romance

My love for reading was instilled in me since I was in elementary. Just like any other kid, I started by reading short stories like "Jack and the Beanstalk", "The Ugly Duckling", "Hansel and Gretel", and so on.

It, later on, evolves to reading novels such as The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, "Looking for Alaska" by John Green, "Turtles All The Way Down" by John Green, "Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell, "Message in a Bottle" by Nicholas Sparks, "Macarthur" by Bob Ong, and other physical books that you would see on National Bookstore.

I also did read stories on Wattpad mostly written by Filipina authors such as "Diary Ng Panget" by HaveYouSeenThisGirl, "Tantei High" by Purpleyhan, etc.

For quite some time, I have also tried self-help books like "The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck" by Mark Manson, a finance books like "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" by Robert Kiyosaki, and "How to YOLO Wisely" by Nikki Jurado, a memoir book like "Becoming" by Michelle Obama, and a children storybook that I really love which is "The Little Prince" by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

I have never considered myself a 'bookworm' but I am just really fond of reading stories or books that I find interesting from time to time, may it be a physical book or an e-book, it doesn't matter.

Even if it's a newspaper, as long as it's interesting, I will read it. Just kidding. I don't see any newspapers anymore nowadays. Haha.

Photo from Pinterest

What am I Currently Reading?

The story that I am currently reading as of now is "Shelter in Your Fingertips" written by my ultimate favorite Filipina author, Jonaxx. It is an ongoing story, as of now, it has already been updated until Kabanata/chapter 30. It is only available on the app called "Jonaxx Stories".

The genre of this is romance and action.

Jonaxx is more known for her romance genre stories. So an action romance is actually a new thing for her. It's nice that she is up for the challenge to explore writing other genres.

In her app, there's a section called "Ask Jonaxx" wherein readers can send their questions and the author will reply. Someone asked if she has plans to try writing other genres, and she said yes. As far as I can remember, she mentioned that she has a plan of writing fantasy or something. And I am looking forward to that because I love fantasies.

fanart / artwork from @yuleyanne on Twitter

Going back to "Shelter in Your Fingertips", the lead roles are:

  • Sage - a girl who's a Taekwondo black belter and later on become a spy/agent under an international paramilitary group

  • Pietro - a boy who's short, got bullied by many schoolmates, a genius, especially with computers and technology stuff, and later on become an inventor of something and has businesses related to computers and technology stuff

My honest opinion with the first few chapters... I can describe it actually in just one word... "COOL". Everything is so cool in this story. Sage, the lead female character plays such a cool role! It has many action scenarios, and again I find those really cool. The things that are exclusively being used by spies/agents mentioned in the story are so cool too! Like, I didn't know these things exist, bro.

my fave fanart / artwork from @kim_gallery_ on Twitter

As of now, I really enjoy anticipating this ongoing story that I am currently reading. It is an escape from my reality, the same goes with other stories that I've read.

I can recommend this to others who are fond of reading romance-action novels.

That's all for now. ✨

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


My Other Book-Related Articles:

Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: April 22, 2022

21
$ 5.65
$ 5.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Marts
+ 10
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Books, Story, Novel, Romance

Comments

Bigla ko po namiss magbasa ng wattpad. Sa tingin ko ay babasahin ko po talaga ito pero sa bakasyon namin ko na po sisimulan. At para sa akin lahat po ng story from Jonaxx maganda talaga kaso wala pa po akong app nyan sa ngayon hahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di sya available sa wattpad thou, sa Jonaxx Stories app lang mismo. Madali lang naman iinstall ansa Play Store. Oo sa bakasyon mo na basahin since ongoing pa naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman na po sa Android yung Jonaxx app ngayon no?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. Available naman yon both ios and android.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love that How to YOLO Wisely ni Janice. Sobrang nakakabilib yung mga posts niya. Kung di ka mapa-goal setting sa pag-follow sa kanya ewan ko na lang. Hehe. Bob Ong, yes. Pinoy Classic.

My first titles were also classics - Journey to the Center of the Earth (sci-fi), Cask of Amontillado (creepy!), Sherlock Holmes (astig), and Tale of Two Cities (left me devastated). Was able to read them nung bata kasi illustrated. Kung pure texts lang boring siguro haha!

Pero ngayon I'm no longer into novels. Self-help books na mostly :) Kaya interested ako dun sa Michelle Obama book. Parang maganda :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How to YOLO Wisely ni Janice

Hindi po kay Janice yung binasa ko.

Not familiar with others but I like Sherlock Holmes though not a book, I just watched the film. Agree. Nakaka-boring pag walang graphics minsan, pero most of the time, okay lang sakin since mas napapalawak ang imagination.

Try Michelle Obama's Becoming. It's not a self-help but a memoir pero dami ka matututunan esp if you're a parent. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Also, got to say this. I love your niche! Inspiring ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awe thank you! <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh my mistake, si NFG Bookclub sa YouTube, di ba?! Hehe

Thanks sa reco. Mahabang reading ba yan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po sya. Nikki Jurado name nya.

Mahaba po, until kabanata 40 ata 'to. Ongoing pa kasi po eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun Nikki! Thanks. Lol Janice Jurado is a veteran actress pala, lol lumalabas ang edad haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah hahaha. Ako po di ko kilala si Janice Jurado. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako pocketbook lang talaga binabasa ko tapos tagalog dapat. Pag engols naku yari ang ilong kaka nosebleed.. btw I read some of Jonaxx story pero not sure why mejo diko bet. Siguro itong May action nya na story magugustuhan ko yan. Ma check nga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo ate! Maganda huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i don't consider myself as a bookworm too..hahah back in college nakakabasa ako ng mga books ni dan brown and other romcom books pero ngayun parang ang hirap na makakuha ng time to read .. i have made it a point na mgbasa ng bible tho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay. Bible is such a nice one to read. <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Usually CC ako, but I also do read some Jonaxx stories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh marami din nagbabasa kay CC.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a fan of reading too, I have read John Green's books, Eleanor & Park of Rainbow Rowell, etc. my all-time favorite is the Flowers of Algernon. Right now, I am reading Colleen Hoover's books. I just finished It ends with us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love John Green's. Haven't read any other Rainbow Rowell's book bc I didn't like the Fangirl that much. Colleen Hoover's books seem to be popular nowadays. I've seen many people read it. I bet she's a good author.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Check out Eleanor & Park for sure you will remember your first love 😅 She really is. All her books are unique.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe if someone could borrow me that, I'll read it. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eleanor & Park was on my wanna-read booklist back then. Sadly, I don't have enough money to buy books at that time, I was in highschool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, I don't have the physical books I just download the pdf on epub and read it on an ebook reader app on my phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I'll try to find an epub or pdf of that then. Thanks! I do that as well to other books, I read the ebook one instead of physical.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you enjoy them too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahilig ka pala magbasa sis. Huhu yan talaga hindi ko nahiligan sis pero minsan nagbabasa ako di ko tinatapos. Mostly nood kasi ako sis kaysa magbasa. Nung bata pa ako mahilig ako magbasa sis pero nagbago lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako both manood and magbasa hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow may app sya ? hehe sa wattpad ko lang nababasa yung mga stories nya..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po, more than 1 year na ata app nya. Dun na sya nagpupublish ng mga stories nya since nung may app na sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehe, ma try ko ngang i install hehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yey. Enjoy sa pagbabasa sa Jonaxx Stories 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes hehe, mag start ako ngayon haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoy!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung iniiwasan ko mag fb para hindi Ako matukso na basahin yung Shelter in Your Fingertips kasi Hindi pa tapps makikita ko toh Dito 😭😭😭 parang gusto ko ng basahin pero ayoko talagang mabitin hintayin ko munang matapos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG! Do you read Jonaxx Stories too? Ganyan din ako. Iniiwasan ko talaga mga spoiler sa social media, kaso wala eh, naiintriga na talaga ako. Hintayin mo na lang ma-complete. Nakakabitin eh. Huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo nagbabasa din, simula noong nagsimula Yung pandemic nagstart Ako magbasa ng Jonaxx Stories. Hintay hintay Muna ako dito pero parang gusto ko na talagang basahin na Hindi pa whahaha.....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suggest talaga na hintayin mo muna ma complete kasi ang exciting ng bawat kabanata. Huhuhu. Mabibitin ka kakahintay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Currently reading Adultery ni Paulo Coelho. Hehe. Hindi ko matapos tapos kasi daming distractions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The author sounds familiar. Parang narinig ko na sya pero I haven't read any books from him yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I read the Little Prince and watched the animated one. Both are very good! The message of the book is so heartwarming.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same! I read and watched it at the same time. Sobrang ganda huhu. Nakakaiyak yung adaptation ng Little Prince, for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako kahit isa wala pang nababasang libro ahhahaha. Di ko alam kung counted ang mga manga ahahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko alam kung counted ang mga manga ahahhaha

Counted na yan! Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago