The Most Mediocre Honor Student Answered Some Questions

15 53
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

This article is inspired by ate @Eirolfeam2's article, Questions For Honor Students!. I thought that it's fun to answer these kind of questions so I wanna give it a go in this article.

Also, this article is written in English and Tagalog. I want to write in Tagalog because I am comfortable with the language and it is sometimes more funny when using that instead of English. Hihi. You can click the globe button above in order to translate everything in the English language.

Please take note of the title, "The Most Mediocre Honor Student Answered Some Questions". Yes, I am that most mediocre honor student so please don't expect much from me being an honor student. Haha.

As far as I can remember, I became an achiever in elementary when I was in Grade 1, Grade 5, and Grade 6. And when I entered high school, I became an honor student when I was in Grade 9, 10, 11, and 12. I think it was when I stepped in Grade 9 that the DepEd acknowledged those students who have 90 and above average to be considered as honor students, that's why napasama ako kahit papano. Haha.

1. Highest Top?

I don't know? I actually haven't cared about the top 10 or something ever since. As far as I can remember, as long as I have "most", "best", "achiever", "honor", or anything award, I would be so happy already and I know for sure that my parents would also be very happy. To be honest, I don't feel much sadness when I don't make it to the top or if I don't have any awards. Literal na walang pake ako.

2. Lowest Top?

I think my lowest top would be when I was in Grade 5. Diba nung Grade 1 achiever ako? So after 4 freakin' years, I became an achiever again. What a comeback! Hahaha. I am the type of student in elementary who really doesn't expect to receive any awards. "If wala, okay. If meron, wow! Anyare?" Hahaha.

Anyways, going back to the question, when I was in Grade 5, guess what top I was? Top 3 or top 6 or whatever? Actually, I don't know. What I can only remember is that I was at the LAST. Oh diba? Naka-sabit sa achiever? Hahaha.

I can still vividly remember nung Recognition Day namin, walang Grade 6 kasi separate sila dahil sa Graduation Ceremony na yung Recognition nila. Edi last kami na Grade 5. Tapos since ako ang last achiever samin, ako yung nasa pinakalast na upuan. Hahaha. Wala namang nakakatawa pero natatawa ako. Hahaha. Since first time ko ulit nun maging achiever, syempre ang lola nyo pinag-handaan. Nagpa-make up ako nun sa malapit lang na kapit bahay ng lola ko tapos yung hairstyle ko, bumili ako ng may maliit na sombrero na clip (photo below) sa malapit na Fashion House samin. Natatawa talaga ako sa sarili ko kapag naiisip ko yun. Di ko pa yun naku-kwento sa iba pero soon pag-naalala ko habang nagku-kwentuhan kami ng kung sino man. Siguro di ko pa naku-kwento sa iba kasi nahihiya ako noon, pero ngayong naalala ko lang ulit, comfortable na akong i-share yun. Hahaha.

3. Highest average of all time?

Can't vividly remember but I think 93.

4. Pambato ka sa school nyo? (Are you an asset of your school?)

No, I'm not.

5. May kakompetensya ka ba? (Do you have a rival/competitor?)

None at all. I don't see any of my classmates or my schoolmates as my rival. I just don't care at all. I'm so chill. 😎

6. Anong oras ka nagrereview? (What time do you review?)

When I was in elementary, I don't remember setting a time just to review. I think I just review when there's an upcoming quiz or exams. And even when I was in high school, I was like that. And even until now that I'm in college, I'm still like that. Hehe. I'm so consistent. Hahaha. πŸ˜‚

7. Contessera/Contessero? (A contestant?)

When I was in elementary, I joined contests on Journalism. I was a sports writer in the Filipino category. I was a third placer in division level (which I was very shock because as always, I don't expect anything), so I proceeded to the regional event wherein I didn't win. And it's fine for me. It's already an honor that I made it into the regional event. Aside from that, I can't remember any major event where I became a contestant.

8. Great fear as an Honor Student?

When I was in elementary, I feared of having line of 7. Then when I stepped into junior high school, I feared of having grades lower than 87 I guess. Afterwards, in senior high school, I fear of not having an average of 90 and above because that's the time when I was determined to make it to the honor roll because it's just my last 2 years in high school. Why not make the most of it, right?

Right now that I am in college, I made it to the director's list last semester. My only great fear this time is getting a tres (3.0 grade). I just badly wanna pass in each semester and graduate on time. Hehehe. πŸ₯ΊπŸ‘‰πŸ‘ˆ

relatable when you're in college already haha

9. Kinukumpara ka ng parents mo? (Do your parents compare you to others?)

I think, most of the time, they don't. And I am glad that they don't. Because I know some parents that are really hard on their children by pressuring them to do well in school. And by that, they compare their children to others which can really affect the mental health of the children in a negative way. In my opinion, children who grew up with elders who keep on comparing them can subconsciously form a negative mindset at a young age that they can bring until they grow up. For instance, they will always think that they are not enough and they can have unhealthy competitive behavior.

If you are a parent who's reading this right now, or if you're a soon-to-be parent, or even if you are not, please stop comparing people in general. Whether it's about grades, body weight, skin color, or anything, just stop. Stop saying lines like "tignan mo si ganito, tignan mo si ganyan, ang taas ng grades", "gayahin mo si kwan, matalino", etc. Each individual are different. They may not excel in school, but I am definitely sure that they can excel in other things. There is so much more than being textbook smart. There are others that can excel through art, photography, speaking, fashion, designs, music, and so on. Grades in school are not everything.

Well, those are the answers of the most mediocre honor student aka me.

If you are not an honor student yourself, if you haven't experience being one, don't ever feel bad about it. Seriously. As I have said, there is so much more outside of school. Life is so big to just focus on grades. πŸ˜‰


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash:Β CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: September 14, 2021

7
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @Eirolfeam2
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
+ 2
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

I am glad that your parents doesn't compare you with others πŸ€—. Taray nung naging achiever ka nung elementary ka mars. Sanaol talaga. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Di naman ako nageexpect na maging achiever pero I am thankful mars.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaala ko nung senior high school ako napaiyak ako kay mama kase ang baba ng average ko sa major ko nagaaral naman ako ng mabuti pero binagsak ako ng prof ko. Yung mga classmate kong pogi at di napasok sa class niya yun ang naka average ng matataas. (Bakla kase siya😏) pero sabi ni mama okay lang daw yun. May karma den ang ganon. Buti di siya nagalit sakin kase may failed grade akoπŸ˜„

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe naman yang prof hahahaha dinala sa profession nya ang kabaklaan charot. Wala naman akong issue sa sexuality pero bat naman ganun. Hahahaha. May karma talaga pag ganun bhe. Pag ganyan din, di naman ako masyadong napapagalitan nina mama lalo pag may valid explanation. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed congrats to all you achievements sis! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯°

For me about sa if kinukumpara sa iba nakaka pressure yun sa mga anak. Yung iba pag nakakarinig ng ganyan hindi pinapansin but for sure deep inside ang sakit2 nun. Nakaka stress yun lalo sa mga anak at mostly nawawalan ng gana at minsan nag rerebel, huwag naman sana umabot sa ganun. πŸ™ Hoping that parents be sensitive whatever they said to their children since we do not know what will be the impact and hows it affect to their lives and also there are some sensitive the one who easily hurt.πŸ₯ΊπŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis! True. Masakit talaga yun. Tsaka sa iba na nakaka-experience nun, mahirap makalimutan ang mga sinasabi ng magulang. Indeed. Be sensitive talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sis.. oo sis sobrang sakit sa part ng anak, yan din di ko maintindihan bat kinukumpara..πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least your parents does not pressure you to be the top 1 hihi. My parents are like that too they don't pressure me at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm grateful that I have that kind of parents. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats po sa mga achievement niyo hehe. Pakilinaw nga po kung ano yung deans lister? Bobo kasi me eh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! Parang honor student lang din sa college.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know when DepEd started calling honor students "Top". I find it quite... never mind. In my time, though long ago, it was just 1st honor, 2nd honor, etc. Doesn't it sound a bit silly calling the student Top 1, Top 2? Because back then, when it was said you were part of the Top 5 or Top 10, then your ranking would be first, second, third... Anyways, you are right in that one: students should study well but enjoy school; and two not be pressured to perform excellently. It is about doing your best, because really, grades are not a measurement of character nor ability or success in the future.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know when DepEd started calling honor students "Top". I find it quite... never mind.

Hahaha. Same. I'm glad that they change it into with honors, with high honors and with highest honors. And not "Top" something. Less comparison. Yes. Agree. Grades will not define our success in the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Natawa ako dun sa sumbrero na clip. May ganyan din ako dati. Hahahaha! 🀣 Pero true, lahat tayo may angking galing kaya huwag na mag-compare. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo uso din ata kasi yun noon eh hahahaha. True. Iba-iba naman kasi tayo kung saan nage-excel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago