Renovating My Bedroom

17 56
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Journey
Photo on right side is from Pinterest (I don't want to share my actual personal space / bedroom)

I live in my parents' 2-story house and my bedroom is located on the second floor.

For a long time, I have had problems with my bedroom but I just shoved it off because I don’t want my parents to have any more problems. And I am aware that huge money is needed if I want my bedroom to be renovated or get fixed.

Some of the problems with my bedroom:

  • Roof - the roof has leaks. so many leaks especially when the rain is pouring so hard (that’s one of the reasons why I hate rains). I use balde or pail and also basin to catch the leaks and so the water will not spread all over my floor. There were multiple times already that my architectural plate got wet because of roof leaks and I needed to redo my plates as a result, which is so maddening!

  • Windows - the windows have a similar problem with the roof. When the rain is too strong, it also tends to leak over the window (I can’t explain it clearly in English, basta yun na yun haha). The solution for it is to have overhangs.

  • Cabinet - The cabinet I have in my bedroom is a very old one. It is made of wood and because it is old, the wood is already marupok or fragile.

  • Painted walls - So many visible cracks and a lot of dirt as well. There are parts na sinulatan ng lapis because of my naughty niece and nephews. Hahahuhu.

And that, my folks, is the reason why I hate rain (because I see many people love it). My bedroom is a total mess during heavy rains, most especially during typhoons! 😭 I prefer sunny days so much.

Despite all of the problems that I have just mentioned, my parents approached me last month of May about them having plans of renovating it or fixing it.

Fixing the roof and the window

In the first week of June, I gather all my things in my bedroom and moved them to our first floor in my brother’s room because I stayed there in the meantime.

The fixing of my roof was done in less.

The change made is that my roof has new seam metal roofing. Also, the previous trusses is made of wood (which later became so marupok), but now it was changed into steel trusses. It has also roof insulation foam to prevent heat to enter the room.

The next thing they worked on was the window leaks. To prevent it, they added overhangs. Like this:

Photo from Google

I think the cost for roof and windows, combining the materials and labor, is more or less ₱15,000 or ~$273.

When it comes to the cabinet

Not solved yet until now because of lack of money. Haha. We aren't that rich to solve and fix everything.

But I already have a look of the cabinet that I wanted to purchase or ipa-customize.

Something like this:

Photo from Shopee

It costs around ₱4,000 on Shopee, I guess. But there were comments that it is fragile and made up of just light materials, probably not good in the long run. So we are planning to have it customized instead in a furniture shop.

Repaint walls

Not yet solved as well. My Papa said that the estimated cost will be around ₱5,000 (including my bedroom and yung isa pang katabing room nun).

Closing Thought

For now, it's fine for me if I have no new cabinet or my walls aren't repainted yet. I moved in and settled in my room again in the last week of June and I am comfortable enough.

I think the most important thing with my bedroom renovation is that my roof and windows were finally fixed. The other problems... I can patiently wait for them.

Anyways, I'll write another article in case there is a new update on my bedroom renovation.

Thanks a lot to my Mama and Papa for all my bedroom renovation! ❤️

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Monthly Overview Articles:

For daily updates, let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: July 18, 2022

13
$ 2.13
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 4
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Journey

Comments

I so love the cabinets. Good thing that you are planning to renovate it sis. Here at home, I have no plan for renovation but I would love to buy elegant stuffs that would look like a hotel accommodation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you like it. Wow~ hoping your dream renovation will be real someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually I am fixing earlier. Thank you sis. I found it in your display for your love of architecture. I am assuming that you are inclined with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow. Good luck! Yes I'm inclined with it since I'm an architecture student :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You must be very intelligent. I am viewing architects and engineers as the brilliant ones. God bless on your feat my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magastos talaga mag pagawa ng kwarto, ganun din sakin pero carry lang, slowly but surely. One at a time pag may budget

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree. Good luck din po sa pag renovate ng kwarto nyo! 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa po ako doon sa gusto yung rainy days pero katulad po ninyo ay may tulo na din po bubong namin kapag umuulan hahahha. Pero VulcaSeal lang po nilagay sa bubong namin eh para matakpan yung mga butas heheheh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang di na kaso gumagana minsan ang vulcaseal samin hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ayy minsan dina rin po sya talaga effective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang pera minsan nakaka-ilang tapal na hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So proud of you sis. Ang ganda nung achievements kasi renovation. I'm happy na napagawa mo na yung iba sis. Excited tuloy ako makita yung room sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. Ganda naman ng house niyo.. Parang hindi na kailangang irenovate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh it's not our house po. Sorry I forgot to put a source. Huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy, haha.. Akala ko sa house niyo.. Pero soon magkakaroon din kayo niyan.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In God's will <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago