Online Classes Experiences: Pain in the Ass

30 60
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

I am an incoming 2nd year architecture student this academic year 2021-2022 which is going to start on August 9.

Before our classes will start again, I just want to share my own experiences on online classes from last academic year when I was in 1st year college.

Every situation has their pros and cons. This online classes set-up definitely has them. And for this article, I will weigh them.

Let's start with the cons...

Artworks by Caroline Frumento

CONS

Headaches

From time to time, I experienced mild headaches because of spending so much time in front of the gadgets. And it is also because I lack sleep. There are times where we have loaded schoolworks so I sometimes stay awake until midnight just to finish schoolwork or plates.

Eye Irritation

Just like headaches, I also experience eye irritation from time to time. My eyes would sometimes get itchy or feel dry. I am hundred percent sure that it is due to the radiation of the gadgets. What I do to prevent this is to wear anti radiation glasses. I sometimes forget it though cause I am not that comfortable wearing it especially for a long period of time.

Sedentary Lifestyle

Way back then when we had face to face classes in highschool, I feel like I don't need to exercise that much because I do physical activities regularly. I walk to our paradahan (tricycle's parking lot) to go to school and vice versa when I go home. Also, our school campus is huge so I need to walk more from our school gate towards our room. And when we need to go to the CR or to the canteen, we also need to walk. There's a lot of walking in a day (walking is healthy) and it makes me feel that I am physically active and strong. Now that I'm thinking about it, I suddenly miss walking around our school campus. Face to face classes are very different from this online classes set-up where I spend literally most of my time inside my room, sitting, and doing all the academic activities. Most of the time my ass and back do hurt a lot. 😒

Less Social Interaction

When we still have face to face classes, I regularly do have a social interactions with other people aside from my family. Personally, I feel like I am an ambivert which means that I have a balance of extrovert and introvert features. I love hanging out with people as much as I love spending time alone.

In the case of online classes, I spend time alone for a long time because of plates and schoolworks. I envy students with other courses because they can all meet up, gather, and do schoolworks together. Meanwhile, in architecture, we have a lot of stuff needed to work on our plates. We need drafting table, drafting paper, T-square, different rulers, art materials, and so on. That's why we can't meet up with each other easily. 😭

Now that I mentioned the cons. Let's go with the pros...

PROS

Multitasking

This online classes set-up, I can multitask without a professor scolding me. Turning off the camera and mic are a lifesaver. Raise your hand if you agree! Hahaha. Most of the time, our camera and mic are turn off and our professor is the only one who turns on their camera and mic. But sometimes, there are professors who require us to open our cameras. When we have lessons, especially if it's a minor subject, I mostly turn off my mic and camera. I do other things instead. I sell online, clean my room, eat foods, or do other subject's activities.

I can also take a nap during online classes. Hehe.

Less Pressure on Exam

My friends and I discussed how different it is when taking an exam online versus face to face classes. I don't know if it's just us but online exams or quizzes feel a lot less pressure than face to face classes. When we had our face to face classes especially if the teacher is strict, you would see almost everyone in the classroom or somewhere really focus on studying hard for the upcoming tests. You would feel so pressured. Meanwhile, when it comes to online tests, most of the time I just read through my notes or digital handouts and familiarize them. I don't try to memorize them at all like I did when we had our face to face classes. Online classes in the middle of a pandemic and poor governance often makes my mind so cluttered, and I know that there are others who feel the same. So we don't want to stress ourselves and memorize everything for the tests because we can just take a look at them while taking the test which we can't ever do during face to face classes except if a teacher told us to do so. It is a form of cheating. But I think everyone does that in this online classes set-up.

Inexpensive

We all have different situations. But in my case, online classes set-up costs less than face to face classes. I still vividly remember when I was in senior high school and before I went to college, me and my mother would compute my monthly cost. That would include the dorm, allowance, transportation, and so on. It would cost approximately β‚±10,000/$201 per month. And for me and my mother, that's a pretty huge amount already. Compared to the current online classes set-up, the things we need to pay monthly are for the internet and the electric bill, other than necessities.

Closing thought

Online classes are tough. It is not for everyone. And I can say that it is not for me either. But as much as I can, I try my best to do my tasks especially on major subjects because I love my course even though my architectural skills are not that good enough yet.

Despite me whining about online classes most of the time, I can't see myself taking a gap year. I prefer enrolling even if the set-up is online classes because I don't know what to do in a year if I take a gap year. I'm amazed by those who do it.


Those are my online classes experiences through identifying the pros and cons.

Just like me, are you also a student doing online classes? What are your experiences so far? Let me know.

Thank you for reading! ❀️


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash:Β CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: August 4, 2021

15
$ 0.53
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 7
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Mahirap ang online class sa mga classes na need talaga ng laboratory, I hope, this school year our students will cope up with the demands of online class.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree. My friends who need to use laboratories also need to pay thousands cause it's a requirement even if we're in public / a university. I really hope so as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Online class now has so many disadvantages especially to places where signals are not that strong.. It's really a struggle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo, anti-poor kasi yung online classes lalo na’t ganun ka-okay ang system of education satin. Pero mahirap man, kailangan din talagang pagpursigihan. Kaya mo yan! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True! Wala tayong choice kundi sumunod kahit papano eh. Malalampasan din natin to :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama! Ingat ingat dyan palagi :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasira talaga yung mata kp dahil sa online class eh 😭. Taas ng grado ng mata ko, sana ganun din sa grades eh 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awts. Pag ganyan, dagdag gastos din. Take care always sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti di na ko naka abot sa ganyan..mahihirapan siguro ako ,,madali pa naman ako antukin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all po graduate na hahaha. Madalas nga akong maantok eh lalo na sa calculus namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yan mahirap ..di ko kerebels yn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di talaga madali yung online class. Nafefeel ko rin yung sasakit likod at mata ko kaka upo at tutok sa screen ng phone ko. Pahirapan din kapag reporting tapos mahina net nyo minsan naleleave kapa swerte mo kapag professor mo mabait. About the pros naman agree ako sa multitasking hehez pero di ako nakakatulog kase baka mamaya biglang magparecite e kumakain or browsing tsaka chika sa chat lang haha. Laban lang sating mga nag oonline class :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo minsan may biglaang magpapa-recite hahaha. Good luck sa atin. Masu-survive din natin to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po laban lang :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, my kid likes socializing so she is having a hard time with online classes. On the contrary, we saved thousand pesos because she is studying in a public school now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am the same as your daughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kada online class nakaoff rin mic at cam ko HAHAHAHA tas pag may exam lahat kami nasa disc eh HAHAHAHA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same HAHAHA. Ano yung disc?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

discord, para syang gamers chat app. dun kami naguusap-usap sa mga sagot HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah Discord pala yun. Hahaha. Akala ko kung ano. πŸ˜† GMeet and GClassroom samin most of the time. Isang subject palang ata nagpa-Discord samin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Online Classes for now is having a pros and cons. I hope and we pray that this pandemic will end soon so that everything will back to normal especially regarding the education..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let's really hope that the COVID-19 cases here in PH will continuously decrease so we could go back to normal (somehow).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis that's true. We must pray for this pandemic.πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mhirap talaga ang online class jusko. Kaya nga pag mag aaral ako gusto ko face to face mas madami matututunan tsaka dipa Sasakit mata ko sa kakatitig sa screen.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. Ang saya pa ng face to face classes with classmates. Magkukwentuhan at magtatawanan. Pwede din naman yun online pero iba talaga pag face to face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that quizzes or tests during online classes has less pressure than their face-to-face counterparts. And that is not because it is easier to cheat or something equally unethical. It is just, we can go at our own pace without hearing or seeing our other classmates going to the next page while we are stuck at the first question.

I also agree that if you have gadgest to use during online classes, this set up is less expensive when we factor the baon and pamasahe. But I guess, it is also expensive for others who do not have gadgets to use.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Those are on point! It is definitely expensive for those who has no gadgets. And also a hassle to those who don't have a comfortable access in internet such as having a weak signal and so on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Though online classes has a lot of pros we still wanted to go back to the old ways. The face to face classes. It make us feel more of a student than today. The bonding and happiness is what I missed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely! I miss the social interactions and the normal things we do during face to face classes. A million times happier than this online classes. But as of now, we don't have a choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago