My Own Definition of “Success”

4 45
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Success

Success is the accomplishment of an aim or purpose, according to the Google Dictionary. A very basic definition. But I do believe that "success" is a vague word. The meaning behind it differs from person to person.

For person A, success may look like having a corporate job and having a high position in it.

For person B, success may look like having his or her own business, making it successful, and earning great profits while also helping other people through that business.

For person C, success may look like just having a simple and comfortable life with his or her own family, taking care of their children, and letting them grow as great children.

For person D, success may look like just chilling, living a peaceful and calm life, and doing what she or he loves such as hobbies like drawing (I am pertaining to Choi Ung, a character from “Our Beloved Summer” for this one).

Photo on right side is Michelle Lin on Instagram (i love her contents recently)

As for me, I am the type of person who loves to journal, practice self-awareness, and answer journal prompts about myself. I do sometimes listen or watch people who love to discover themselves as well. And I have heard a couple of times about the topic of success. They would talk about what success means to them, and they also let the listeners or viewers reflect on themselves by answering that question as well.

So, what does “success” means to me? What’s my own definition of it?

Success for me is having a peaceful life and having freedom, and healthy well-being (mentally, physically, spiritually, etc.).

Growing up, I don’t consider my life peaceful because of some problems and because of some people. I want to live a peaceful life someday by living in a place where I feel at peace and with people who would make me feel at peace. I would like to wake up every morning feeling peaceful, calm, and solemn. No too stressful problems and toxic people.

When it comes to freedom, what I mean by that is I wanna be able to have time freedom. According to Left Field Investors, having time freedom means you understand the importance of your time and direct it on the events, meaningful things, and people that matter most to you. It makes you appreciate the time you have now and allows you to slow down and experience what life currently has to offer.

In my understanding, having time freedom means I have the freedom to do things that matter to me, to spend time with people that matter to me. Instead of being chained or forced to do what I don’t really like to do and spend time with people that I don’t like.

So what it is that I would love to spend my time on? I would love to spend my time traveling, exploring, and going on adventures. I grew up in a middle-class family and we have no luxury at the moment to travel and go on adventures. Back then, when we were younger, we go on vacations as a family. But as we grow older and we siblings have to go to college, the expenses are rising and so we can’t afford to travel as a family anymore. So I do think that I am deprived of travels. That’s why once I got to afford it, waldas malala. Eme. Hahaha.

Who are the people I would love to spend time with? The very first one is my mother. The rest are some of my family and friends. As long as the people would bring me peace, happiness, and give value to my life, that’s it. No space for toxic people.

When it comes to having a healthy well-being (mentally, physically, spiritually, etc.)……

Once again, Success for me is having a peaceful life and having a freedom, and having a healthy well-being (mentally, physically, spiritually, etc.).

But as they say, everything comes with a price. And the price that I need in order to achieve my success is making an effort, of course, to make them happen.

For me, to be able to attain a peaceful life and have a freedom, I need to be financially stable. I need to have funds to be able to do what I love which is travelling, I need money to spend time with people that matters to me. I need it so I could live in a space where I truly feel at peace.

Because when you only have a limited money, your moves are very limited as well.

And when it comes to having a healthy well-being (mentally, physically, spiritually, etc.)… I need to make an effort, to be disciplined to have a healthy lifestyle such as eating good foods and moving my body.

I will end this article with this question… what is your own definition of success?

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Monthly Overview Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.app: CrazyRichFilipina

Join noise.app: noise.app/invite/xylac6hu

Date Published: November 29, 2022

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Success

Comments

To sum it up, "I am that person A to D." Of course, that includes your own definition of success. Being able to stabilize the state of our physical, mental, emotional & spiritual aspects is also a MUST aside from having all those tangible kind of success. Also, to be more stronger & full of positive mentality. For me, that will be the root of success. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Para sakin po, my definition of successful life is hindi na po ako namomroblema sa pera hehehhe practical lang po. Pero syempre hindi lang naman po iyun, masasabing kong successful po ang isang buhay kung lahat ng mga bagay sa paligid nya po ay in order. Well kasi yung mga problema hindi naman po talaga nuubos eh kaya kahit successful kana po sa buhay mo ay may dadating at dadating pa rin po talaga na mga problema.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis. Success indeed. Ang ganda ng life pag peaceful. Yan talaga gusto ko. Yung laging may peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

success are many ways of doing it is a matter how you perform on it to make more meaningful and just keep on mind that before you made reach success there is a lot of obstacle that we need you passed but because of your determination anything can happen in a good way

$ 0.00
1 year ago