My Advice to Teenagers (from a 21 Year-Old)

18 58
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Life

When I was a teenager, there were random times when I just searched on YouTube “tips for teens” or “advice for teenagers”, and things related to that.

How time flies so fast that I am no longer a teen anymore and I think I am in a place now where I can somehow give my own personal advice to teenagers just because I’ve been in their place already.

 Well, the tips that I am going to give here are just based on my personal experiences and observations.

1. Don’t rush. Enjoy your youth!

Don’t rush to grow up immediately. Don’t rush to become an adult because it will just happen. Dress up according to your age. Have fun with your friends as much as possible. Gora sa happy crush or puppy love ('wag lang masyadong tanga)!

Enjoy your youth!

2. Choose your friends wisely

Your network is your net worth.

You become the 5 persons you surround yourself with. If you always hang around with friends who do illegal stuff, you will most likely do it as well. If you always hang around with friends, who are into studying, you will most likely study as well and will be grade-conscious. If you always hang around with friends who love to gossip about other people’s lives, you will most likely be a marites, chismosa, or mosang.

Choose friends who will help you to become a better version of yourself. Those who are kind-hearted, think about their future by studying or improving a skill, and so on. Cut off toxic people.

3. Don’t get into any addiction – liquor, cigarettes, illegal drugs, etc.

All throughout my teenage life and until now that I am in my early 20s, I am so thankful that I didn’t get into liquor, cigarettes, illegal drugs, etc. They are expensive! Plus, I don’t get any benefit from them. Liquor will just give me headaches and give me a hangover, cigarettes will just destroy my lungs, destroy my teeth, make my lips dull, and so on, illegal drugs will probably just make me high and more so get me into trouble.

Well, when it comes to liquor, it’s fine to drink it occasionally and responsibly. When it comes to others, I don’t like engaging myself with them.

4. Have hobbies!

Having a hobby or hobbies is a good thing because it can prevent you from getting into the addictions that I've mentioned in number 3.

Your hobbies can be dancing, singing, sewing clothes, coding, editing photos or videos, designing, cooking, and so on.

You might also use your hobbies in the future for your side hustles and jobs. But it's also fine if you don't make it as your earning vehicle.

5. Don't get yourself pregnant or don't get others pregnant just yet

For the teenage girls, don't get yourself pregnant just yet.

For the teenage boys, don't get a girl pregnant just yet.

Tigilan nyo ako sa "baby is a blessing" na sinasabi ng mga tinotolerate ang teenage pregnancy! Hahaha.

Having a child bears so much responsibility. Hindi mo na lang responsibilidad ang sarili mo. Responsibilidad mo na rin ang bata na dinadala mo. Responsibilidad mo na din ang sarili mong pamilya.

And also, once you get yourself pregnant and have a baby, most of your freedom will be taken away from you. Your freedom to enjoy, have a lot of free time, freedom to spend your money on things that you want... those will most likely be taken away from you.

You will have less free time. Why? Because you need to take care of a child. You need to take care of your family. Unless you can afford to have a helper.

You will have less freedom when it comes to money as well. Why? Because you need to buy a lot of necessities first. Foods and your child's milk and foods, baby's clothes, baby's footwear, water, diapers, bottles, and the list goes on.

Another reason why not have a baby just yet? Kawawa ang mga magulang o ang guardian nyo. Let's admit it. Most teenage girls or boys who get themselves into having a child so early, ang mga magulang talaga nila ang sumasalo sa kanila. Iyon ang tumutulong para sa pag-aaruga sa pagbubuntis, sa panganganak, at kahit sa pagbuhay sa bata.

Have a child only when you can afford to have one. Have a child only when you know you are capable of the responsibilities. When you are mentally, emotionally, physically, and financially prepared.

Isa sa pinaka-mahalaga yung financial preparedness talaga. Ang pagbuo ng pamilya o ang pagbuo ng bata, hindi lang yan puro pagmamahal. Kailangan yan ng matinding pera.

At dapat din, emotionally and mentally prepared ka din. Baka may anger issues ka pala at di mo pa yun nasosolusyunan sa sarili mo, tapos mapasa mo pa sa pagpapalaki sa bata. Ang ending, magkaka-trauma ang bata. Kawawa naman.

If you are still a teenager and mapusok ka talaga at hindi mo maiwasan, then practice safe sex.

Ang haba nitong number 5. Hahaha. To summarize this, no to teenage pregnancy.

As I've said in #1, "Don't rush. Enjoy your youth!"

6. Learn financial literacy

There's a lot of financial literacy stuff for free online. Most especially on YouTube, doon lang din ako natuto.

I swear, learning about it earlier is so helpful for the adulting world.

Here are my recommended finance YouTubers: Filipina Finance Youtubers who Taught Me about Money

7. If you can, have a side hustle!

I started to have a side hustle when I was 17 years old. And I thank my 17 self for doing that.

To have a side hustle is just optional. But for me, it is really a nice experience so I recommend it to teenagers.

Choose a side hustle that you can somehow enjoy. There are so many options now with the help of the internet. You can do online selling, online content creation (like here on read.cash), and so much more.

Related articles:

I Earned ₱100,000+ as a Student

I Earned XX,XXX Money: Side Hustles Changed My Life

Why I Stopped My Online Clothing Business When Pandemic Hits

Closing Thoughts

As a 21-year-old that has been through teenage life already, those are my 7 pieces of advice to teenagers.

Here's some additional advice if the 7 pieces of advice aren't enough yet...

Live in the moment but also think about your future.

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: June 27, 2022

9
$ 3.03
$ 2.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 2
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Life

Comments

Being in the right circle of friends is better than having the fake one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth. Wag po madalian na maging adult agad dapat enjoyin lang ang pagkabata and teenage years. Kasi kapag matanda ka na po tsaka mo marereliaze yung mga bagay bagay tapos minsan pa nga po masasabi na mas masarap na maging bata na lang, kaya dapat sulitin yung panahon habang bata pa po o teenager, wag agad agad gusto maging adult na. Ang hirap kaya maging guys! Daming responsibilities hhahha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True! Mahirap ang adulthood. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Times have changed, many teenagers have experienced intimate relationships and even got pregnant without marriage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oooops! I'm guilty sis. I was once addicted to liquor and cigarettes when I was still a teenager but i never doubted it though because i was happy during that time and I learned lessons from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The good thing is that you learned from it sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teenage period can be changeling Because that is where you learn and relearn, adulthood comes immediately

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it's true we should select those friends that can help us and be there when hardest time will come. For me I'm not a selective type of person cause I'm always welcome new friends but there is a certain boundaries. I do have close friends that I can reveal my secrets also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am kinda like that as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't believe that I did all those things you adviced. Okay lang na madalas may sariling mundo at least naenjoy ang buhay. Marami akong friends na temporary pero sa virtual world nga lang haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice! True. Okay lang naman yan. Kahit anong type of friends basta real friends and may good influence. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm 21 ate, and thankfully so far my teenage years are so good. Full of fun and learnings. How I wish lang talaga na maaga kong nakita si read cash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't ate me. Hahaha. Magka-age lang tayo. Yeah, I wish mas nalaman ko din tong read ng mas maaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaahha. Sorry na po. April po ako, baka po Jan-March u.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No. May ako. Ibig sabihin mas matanda ka po ng 1 month hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago