I Was Awake for 24 Hours. No Sleep. | October 2022

11 55
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

October was a very stressful month for me. It was different than my September which I consider to be "My Happiest Month Yet". Well, what was really going on with my life this past month? Am I still fine? Who knows?

Reflection

One word to describe my month of October: stressful!

I am currently a 3rd-year architecture student, barely surviving the 1st semester. October is our midterms season, that's why I was busy as a bee. Or maybe I was busier than a bee. Haha. For almost the entire month, here's what my lifestyle looks like:

  • Wrecked sleep schedule - As far as I know, architecture, the field I chose to enter, has a sleep-deprived culture. Sleep deprivation is a normal thing. Not shocking anymore. So because it was our midterms season, we have A LOT on our to-do lists. We have both exams and architectural plates for almost all of our subjects. I actually get envious of other courses because their midterms are just exams. Meanwhile, for us, we need to study for exams and at the same time do our architectural plates. And doing plates, especially manual drafting, is not easy because it is very time-consuming to the point that we usually don't have a choice but to sacrifice our sleep just to finish all of it.

    There was one time wherein I was awake for almost 24 hours. I am not sure. Basta I remembered staying awake until the next morning. I slept at around 6:30 am. Then I woke up at 9 am. I just had very little sleep. Then in the afternoon, we have to submit the plate which is a perspective drawing of a building. After submitting that, I felt like I was going to have a nosebleed because my head hurts so bad that's why I proceeded to eat my lunch at 3 pm. And I drank coffee as well hoping it could fuel me to stay awake for the next hours. It was horrible! Afterward, I and my best friend talked about eating out. Which I kind of regret. I wish I just stayed in my boarding house and took a rest aka nap or sleep. Because the entire time when we ate outside and roam around the mall, my head is kinda spinning it feels like I have a hangover or something.

    Please get enough sleep, guys. Don't be like me. 🙂

  • Kind of unhealthy eating - In the past months of being in a boarding house, I was rarely eating the instant foods that I have such as canned goods. But in October aka our midterms season, with too much on our plates, and with very little time to prepare my meals or at least go out to buy at the carinderia, I frequently eat the instant foods that I have. I am aware that it is very unhealthy. There were also times when I do skip meals, especially breakfast.

  • Too much caffeine - I am a sleepyhead. I get sleepy at random times and so staying awake is kinda hard for me that's why I took more caffeine than recommended by a doctor or others of some sort in the medical field. I usually just have one cup of coffee a day on normal days, but last October, the average I think is 3 cups of coffee a day. ☕☕☕

  • Sedentary lifestyle - I have repeated this countless times already but yes, because we have a lot of tasks, I barely get any exercise. I just stay in one place aka my desk for almost the rest of the day doing my plates on my laptop on AutoCAD and SketchUp software, and also doing my plates manually on tracing papersssss.

'Wag ako tularan. Huhuhu. My life usually looks like this every midterm and final season. 😭

Fighting to every college student out there as well who is going through the same experience. We can do this! And hopefully, we could all make it someday! ✨

But despite those, there are still positive things that happened to me this month of October, such as:

  • Finally purchasing my dream phone - I published an article about it here: I Bought My First iPhone! (My Dream Phone). The con is that my wallet has dried up that's why I need to hustle again!

  • An event within our campus

  • Groceries in a new city - In the first weeks of my boarding house life, I always go home every weekend and I do the groceries in our city which means everything is familiar to me. But in October, I had consecutive weeks where I didn't go home because of the business which required me to do the groceries in a new city. Which felt nice. Discovering new places really makes me feel something different, and I want more of it.

  • My first time drinking soju - Midnight of October 9 was the time that I started my alcohol journey. Just kidding. Hahaha. But just to share something about myself, pre-boarding house life, I am not interested with alcohol and I don't drink as often as people my age do. I only drink occasionally. But at this time, there were no occasions, and it just happened suddenly. It was because when me and my classmate (who's also my board mate), went grocery together, we saw bottles of soju and I told her "I haven't tried soju, but I really want to try it", and she said, "me too". And so we grabbed a bottle and put it in our cart. That's how it started.

    The drinking of soju session didn't stop there though because it happened again, not just once, not just twice, but thrice. Hahahaha. So the first time was with my boardmate and boardmateXclassmate, the second time was with just my boardmateXclassmate only while we write our midterm papers (lol), and the third time was with my 3 roommates. Hihi.

    I think I could add soju to My Ultimate Favorite Drinks list. By the way, we drank it along with my other favorite Yakult. It was really delicious! I would love to drink soju again along with fried chickens like what I have seen on kdramas. Hahaha.

  • First time going to our campus' library

  • Treating myself - With our stressful academic tasks, I treat myself in between with foods from Jollibee, Mang Inasal, and McDonald's. Good foods are really comforting!

  • Discovering a new cafe - We went to a cafe with such beautiful interior decor, but unfortunately, I didn't like the spanish latte that I ordered. The same goes with my bestie who ordered a matcha latte. Haha.

  • A birthday celebration with my squad

  • An event at our university with my squad

  • Halloween with my squad again! - The squad I am talking about is my close friends since junior high school. I just treasure the time that I got to bond with them because I can't believe that even in college life, we will all still be friends and hang out. I hope our friendship will last in a healthy way.

    I originally posted the photo below on my noise.app, and read the description of the photo as well here: https://noise.app/CrazyRichFilipina/4p3v95mk

Articles

  1. My Happiest Month Yet | September 2022 ($3.09)

  2. I Bought My First iPhone! (My Dream Phone) ($1.39)

Total Earnings from Articles: $4.48

Subscribers Count

For this month, I don't care about this. I'll just plug my new noise.app instead. 😊

Let's be friends there. Here's my noise.app: CrazyRichFilipina

I will share there my daily life (mainly architecture, good food, and coffee). I hope to see you there!

Earnings

I don't know anymore. Haha.

Closing Thought

I guess I overshared about my personal life in this article because it's already a long 8-minute read. Who would even want to read that long? Haha. If you are reading up until here, congratulations, and thank you very much! I hope you all have a wonderful November ahead! 🥰

2 months left this 2022, let's make more memories with the remaining moments!

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Monthly Overview Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.app: CrazyRichFilipina

Join noise.app: noise.app/invite/xylac6hu

Date Published: November 3, 2022

9
$ 1.09
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @yoieuqudniram
+ 1
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Comments

May November be a resting month for you, haha. You described college life struggles with the other activities that distract us from our normal bodily schedules. Hey your young and resilient you will bounce back. Take care.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do hope so. This first few days of November is full of rest for me because we have a break. I know once we got back to school, it will be stressful again. Thank you always!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good luck sa midterms! Wag kakalimutan na magpahinga pa din para mas may maisagot at energy magexam. 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tapos na po midterms namin, may isang subject na lang. Thank you for the reminder po <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis halos gising ako hanggang umaga. Sobrang hirap. 🥺 Yan tulog ko halos every morning na. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awts. Why ganyan sayo sis? I feel you though, sobrang hirap ng ganitong sleeping sched.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang hirap talaga sis. Yung di ka makatulog. Hirapan. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talag buhay studyante Keep fighting for your dreams lang bhe🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming salamat po :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gez! Nakaka stress naman talaga yan sis. Pero need mo din ng rest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. I do get rest din naman sis don't worry. Thanks for the reminder <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago