I Had the Best Childhood in the Philippines (Part 2)

18 46
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Read the part 1 here: I Had the Best Childhood in the Philippines, where I shared my 4 out of more amazing things that made my childhood very memorable. This is where I continue the more great memories I had when I was still a child.

Reminiscing it all, I feel so lucky that I was born in early 20's. Because of it, I get to experience life with more personal interactions and not through gadgets.

Photo from Unsplash

Sadly, most of the kids these days are mostly playing on devices instead of playing outside with playmates. But I can't blame them. Maybe this is how it works in their generation. And the pandemic makes it harder to socialize with others too.

Anyways, here's more of my unforgettable childhood experiences...

I played with barbie dolls and my friend created dresses for them.

One of my favorite toys are my barbie dolls. I love playing with them in my free time.

I once had a friend who was a guy that was generous enough to create dresses for my doll. He sewed the dresses himself and those mean so much to me. Whenever I remember it until now, my heart feels warm because I truly appreciate it. Sadly, I don't remember his name anymore and even his face is starting to fade in my memory. Nevertheless, I am extremely grateful for the memories we shared.

Photo from Unsplash

We had a treehouse and a REAL house.

Just a simple treehouse, though, not the actual treehouse like what you see on the internet. Hahaha. What we had was a tree, we put some wood where we could sit at, and a table where we could put something, usually it's foods that we placed there. Whatever it looks like or no matter how simple it is, we called it our "treehouse".

Us, childhood friends including my 2 brothers, had a real house also! Yes, a real one with concrete walls and all, not a toy house for bahay-bahayan. Hahaha. But no, we don't own the house. 😅

We live in a subdivision, and back then, there were somehow many vacant houses and lots. One time, we found an unfinished house just one block away from us. There were no doors or windows yet, mostly concrete, it had a slab roof, and one bed. We went there whenever we felt like it. We played games, shared stories, and other fun stuff.

Until now, the house is kinda still under construction. Whenever I see it, it always reminds me of our childhood times spent there.

We swam at the river.

We have a nearby river within our subdivision and back then, we went there whenever we wanted to. It was awesome!

We went to fishponds and farms.

As far as I can remember, we had a childhood friend wherein her family has a fishpond, and so we got opportunities to visit it. It happened for only quite some time but it was etched in my memory. 

Our subdivision or province is rich in nature. And so going to farms is pretty accessible. We frequently just walk and walk at the farms or the rice fields wherever our feet take us.

We took a bath at burabod or spring.

We had an accessible water supply where we could properly take a bath and drink clean water. But I remember that we, siblings, had childhood friends who were our neighbours that had no proper access to water supply. So they need to go to spring or what we call burabod (in Bicol, our dialect) in order to get water. We, siblings, go with them more often. We took a bath there and also drank directly at the burabod. The water is clean, fresh, and kinda cold.

In recent years when I was a teenager, I tried to go to the burabod alone where we used to go. Sadly, it looks like few people go there nowadays because the grasses were so tall already that it would be hard to pass by. It wasn’t like that when we were kids. Time flies so fast, really.

We played in the rain.

Everytime it rains hard, we didn't want to miss the chance to play in the rain. But we made sure that after we played in the rain, we must take a proper bath immediately so we wouldn’t get  sick or cold.

Photo from Geomar Triño

I played OG phone games on a Nokia phone.

These were the games that I frequently played on a Nokia phone borrowed from my mother or from my elder brother:

  • Space Impact

  • Snake

  • Bounce

Photo from Cbe Hackers

I played the OG online games on y8 and friv.

Back then, our mother had a laptop provided by their office. Everytime she came home at night or on weekends, we borrowed her laptop to play online games. If you've been in this era, you'll know that the most visited online games websites are y8.com and friv.com.

I played dress up games, dinner dash, kitchen games, and other sorts of games.

My youngest brother and I had a favorite game in friv called "fireboy and watergirl".

Oh! I remembered one time, I tried to play a kissing game. Wherein, a couple should only kiss if no one's watching, and if you get caught, it's game over. I can't forget that my mother caught me playing that. 😭 She got mad at me and preached to me with parental words. You know. Then, I replied that I only accidentally clicked it. Hahaha. That was embarrassing. I think I didn't attempt to play that again cause someone might have caught me again. 🤣


Those are the reasons why I had the best childhood in my country, the Philippines.

They will forever hold a special place in my memory and in my heart.

Am I still friends with any of my childhood friends? I consider my two brothers as my childhood friends. Yes, they're still my friends. Other than them, I am not in touch with our other childhood friends anymore. Some of them moved out of our neighbourhood, some of them we just stopped talking with each other one day. Whatever the reasons are, I am glad that they were all once part of my chapter in life.

Photo from AZ Quotes

Share your childhood memories also at the comment box. I would love to hear it!

Thank you for reading!❤️


Lead image is from Radyo Filipino Australia.


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

12
$ 4.70
$ 4.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @McJulez
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
+ 4
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakamiss talaga yung childhood natin.. Lalo na ung pagligo sa ilog .noon napakalinis pa pero ngayon may pagkarumi na due to many factors.. Yung snake snake din 😅pahabaan sa nokia

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Wala din ako ngayon na nakikita masyadong naliligo sa ilog. Yung snake, palit-palitan pa kami ng phone para makapag-laro hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey! Congrats po napansin ka na niya. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean si @TheRandomRewarder po? Hahaha. Oo nga eh. Finally. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. Congrats ulit. Road to 1 BCH na :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

childhood This is the most we will never forget until we are old, the memories we have when we were young we will always think of when we are alone, smile every time we think of it and feel like we are going back to childhood 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Very nostalgic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's amazing childhood memories. I would want to play kissing game though 😂 lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That kissing game made me feel so embarrassed in front of my mother. 😭 Play at your own risk hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chilhood days is priceless, I pity kids nowadays who aren't able as of now to make memories for their chilhood. They should run and play outside together with their friends and family. But due to covid virus, they can't do it today. Hopefully as soon as possible we can all be back on the days we used to have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. They are usually on their gadgets instead of having playmates. Hopefully, everything will slowly get back to normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My childhood days was fun too. Palagi kami naglalaro ng bahay bahayan. Pero di ako pwede sa mga talbuhan mabilis kasi ako mawalan ng hangin. Kaya di ko maenjoy yung mga mas nakakatuwang laro.

Anyway, meron na yung kissing game ? Wala kami nun ehh hahaha. Baka mapalo ako nun kung meron mn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di rin ako masyadong magaling sa mga active physical games eh hahaha. Average lang. Oo may kissing game na nun. Di ako napalo kasi nagpa-lusot ako eh. Hahahaha. Curious lang talaga ako dati. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sana all marunong magpalusot haha. Ako dati talaga waley 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero at least di mo na-discover yang kissing game dati. Di mo na need mag palusot. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd love you to take me to your childhood days :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was fun. Hope I could take you and myself to my childhood days too. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago