How I Maintain My Weight for Years Without Exercise

30 67
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Fitness, Personal

Maintaining a healthy or normal weight can be hard for some people, especially for those who have a slow metabolism.

Backstory

Growing up, I didn't care about my weight not until I stepped into Grade 9 or junior high school when I started to become conscious of my physical appearance.

I wasn't fat, just a normal body I guess. But I noticed that I have quite an amount of fats, especially around my stomach area.

I watched some videos about how to have a good physique and whatnot. The tips of the YouTube videos are most likely similar. Balance diet and working out regularly are the most common ones.

From then on, I started little by little to try to have a somewhat healthy lifestyle. I workout from time to time. When it comes to eating food, since I was just a mere high school student at that time, I most likely don't have a choice over what food to eat. What I do was lessen my rice intake.

There was a time (I can't remember if I was in high school or senior high school) when I made a list of what foods I shouldn't consume. Here are some of them:

  • bread

  • candies

  • chocolates

  • fast food

  • flavored juice and soda

Can't remember the others, but it's just the foods that are kinda bad for our body. But everytime I succeed in not eating them in a day, I would list them on my notes app on my phone and I'd be so happy when I had a days streak of not eating them. I felt like I achieved something, I felt happy and proud of myself for that.

Fact: I have a sweet tooth and I do love eating so avoiding them was a challenge for me.

However, doing that was so effective for me. That's the time when I noticed my eating habit has changed. I no longer love to eat candies (because we always have candies in our house because my mama like them), I also no longer binge-eat over breads, I no longer want juice or soda (water and coffee are the ones I can't live without.

So yeah, that's a brief history of how I cared about my physical body.

Now, I just wanna share how I maintain my weight for years without consistently working out.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional whatsoever. I just wanna share it out here in the hope that it would help others.

1. Use a smaller plate when eating regular meals

I learned this method through the YouTube videos that I watched. The reason behind this is that when we use a smaller plate, we will most likely eat smaller portions. And when we use a bigger plate, we will most likely eat bigger portions. It's like a trick.

This has been so effective for me. At first, my family was weirded out because I started using a smaller plate when eating meals. Later on, they just got used to it.

I don't use smaller plates all the time though. It depends on the ulam. Hahaha. And when there are events like birthdays, of course I use plates that are available which are more often large because I'll eat a lot on those events. Haha.

2. Push yourself to choose healthier foods or try to avoid unhealthy foods as it will soon become your lifestyle

Just like what I did years ago, I had a tracker of the unhealthy foods I should avoid such as breads, candies, chocolate, junk food, soda, juice, etc. I allow myself to consume them, not daily, but only occasionally.

It later on become part of my lifestyle. Up until now, I don't crave much of those foods anymore.

I've tried and it worked for me. You might wanna give it a try as well.

3. Move your body!

Moving our body can be activities such as cleaning, dancing, walking, etc. It doen't always have to be working out in the gym, doing pilates, or something that requires money.

Through the years, doing a consistent workout has been really my struggle. Up until now. It's hard for me to be disciplined in doing exercise especially when I become busy with schoolworks.

But despite the excuses, I still do exercise or move my body from time to time, sometimes, once in a blue moon lang. Hahaha.

Closing Thoughts

Those are the 3 ways that I think helped in maintaining my weight for years. Maybe since I was in Grade 9 up until now that I am an incoming 3rd-year college, my weight just ranges around 40-45 kilograms I guess.

I hope that it would be helpful for those who want to maintain their weight too. 🤗

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: June 29, 2022

15
$ 2.02
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
+ 7
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Fitness, Personal

Comments

I never got fat, so I didn't worry about fats. I maintained my weight within 46 - 49 without doing anything and without limiting anything. Maybe, it's just because I'm not a sweet tooth qnd not foodie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe that's why. Maybe you also have a fast metabolism, that's why.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

minsan sinasadya ko talaga gumawa ng household chores para lang gumalaw katawan lko HAHA naawa na ako sa katawan ko goodness! HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least kapag household chores, 2 in 1, naglilinis na ng bahay at nagwoworkout pa. Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haystt ito ang pinaka challenge sa aking ang e maintain talaga.para kasing yoyo yung weight ko eh,anyway I will try my best to start losing weight next month.kaya lamon muna ako till tomorrow kasi next month balik alindog na ako at balik na ako sa strict diet ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck po! July is the month for back to alindog. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes sana magawa ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Move your body, as in dapat lagi kang physically active jan. Linis linis, tayo, lakad kahit ano basta gumagalaw katawan mo sure niyan eh di ka mananaba. Tried and tested. Ngaun lang ako tumaba dahil nagbago nga itong hormones ko dahil sa mga iniinom ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Awts, bakit sis anong mga iniinom mo na?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

may con traceptive pill ako that's why tumataba ako hihihihihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah oo. Side effect yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap magdiet uy, di ko gugustuhin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

di man sis diet haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love eating sweets so that's why I gain weight 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also like that sometimes haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love eating sweets so that's why I gain weight 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is good to exercise our bodies and we should also avoid eating unhealthy foods!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sa akin naman, kahit gusto ko mag increase, maintain pa rin hahaha. Picky kasi ako sa foods, and naging habit na rin na hindi kumain ng too much sweets (dati favorite ko mga cake, ice cream, etc) pero now ang sweet na bigla. Nakatulog siguro ung lifestyle ng friends ko, mga health conscious din kasi sila. I used to track my calory intake kaso nakakabaliw un kaya tinigil ko na haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman hindi picky eater. Pero same po tayo na naging habit na din ang di kumain ng sweets, kasi fave ko talaga dati anything chocolate, cake, ice cream, etc. Tinatrack ko din calorie intake ko dati and nakakabaliw talaga hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! thats a good habit. Anyway, i gain weight now because i ate bread again . Last time I stopped eating bread and now I am eating it again and I think it contributes my weight gain.. Im 56kg now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think so too. Can't resist bread haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Among every food to avoid, bread is the hardest to avoid for me hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's okay. I can't avoid certain breads as well, yung masasarap. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan din ako dati sis, pero hindi na.kaya.ngayon haha.lamon nalang talaga ng lamon lalo na pag breast feeding sa anak..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah siguro po since nagbuntis kayo. Sa change of hormones na din ata pag ganyan. Okay lang naman po yan kasi ang alam ko dapat marami daw ang kinakain pag naga-breastfeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh this is the hardest for me to do right now because I have an ulcer and i need to eat regularly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't skip meals and also eat regularly to maintain my weight.

Oh sorry about that. Hope you get well soon!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very difficult to decline food just like me hehe...I can't tell that I maintain my figure even though I eat too much it's because I work with exhausting works just like you need to exert strength

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's okay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago