How I Learned to Love My Morena Skin

24 151
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Skin Color

Let's begin by defining the word "morena". In my country which is the Philippines, morena (or moreno) is used to describe a person with brown skin. The term is likely derived from the Spanish word "moreno," which means "brown or brunette."

To have brown skin is a very common skin color in the Philippines. And I am one of the Filipinas born to have a natural morena skin.

However, having a brown skin color has cons growing up because I get bullied or get some negative side comments from time to time. Well, I didn't remember getting bullied intensely like others because maybe there were browner than me in a room. But getting bullied is still getting bullied. There's no way in between.

"Ang itim mo."

"Pag magswi-swimming tayo, maitim na, iitim ka pa lalo."

Growing up, most of the comments about my skin color were mostly negative. Walang papuri. Walang nagsasabi na "ang ganda ng kutis mo, pwede pang model, pwede pang artista", alam nyo yun, mga papuri sa mga mapuputi. Haha.

As far as I remembered, since I was in elementary, I have somehow already started to use skin whitening soap like 'Silka', because it is what I've seen from my other distant cousins who used to live in our house. Some of them have brown skin and they use those kinds of soaps to whiten their skin.

And so growing up, that's what I thought to be just a normal thing.

That's why, when I go with my Mama to buy some groceries, I sneaked in a whitening soap. Sometimes, I also buy it with my own money from my allowance. That's how I've been when I was elementary until high school.

Did my skin whiten because of those products? No.

What I mostly get from it was it makes my skin SO freakin' dry and itchy (especially during wet seasons) to the point that I need to put on lotion to mend it.

Photo on the right is Avelovinit

So we've come to the exciting part. Haha.

I think it was in late high school or senior high school when things have changed... and it's mostly thanks to the people on the internet.

During those times, I somehow started getting into watching YouTube videos.

As far as I can remember, I get into the algorithm of travel videos because I really love the idea of traveling. And so I met "Avelovinit", a Filipina travel vlogger. I like the way she travels because back then, she mostly traveled solo and within just a budget. Relatable and pang-masa sya. Ganern. Di ako maka-relate sa mga luxury travelers eh. Hahaha. She also has good humor. And for me, as a mere viewer, she's a representation of me because we have the same skin color. 🥺 (I am teary-eyed while typing this because I somehow remembered the days when I was so insecure about my brown skin color.)

So by watching her videos, she mentions from time to time about her skin color. That she was also insecure because of it but when she travels, she realized that her skin is actually beautiful because the foreigners appreciate it.

I think it was from then on that I realized Filipinos have this colonial mentality that our beauty standard should be fair skin. Well, in fact, our natural skin color is brown. And there's nothing wrong with it.

If foreigners can appreciate brown skin color? Why can't Filipinos do the same?

After Avelovinit, I discovered "Ayn Bernos", she's an advocate for colorism and I guess some of the Filipino readers already knew her because she joined Miss Universe Philippines 2021.

After Avelovinit and Ayn Bernos, I then also discovered Angely Dub, the CEO of Access Travel who is also a proud morena.

Related article: Woman I Look Up To: CEO who has Traveled the 7 Continents, Angely Dub

So, ever since around late high school to senior high school, I stopped using any whitening products and I learned to love my morena skin. 🤎

And I owe this confidence I have now to the people I discovered on the internet. Not on the people I personally know. Because most of the people that I personally socialized with, make me feel that there's something wrong with my skin color well, in fact, my brown skin is beautiful.

Closing Thoughts

Representation matters.

I am so thankful for the public figures that I discovered online who have empowered and still keep on empowering other fellow morenas and morenos. 🤎

I have a younger cousin and a very young niece who also has a natural brown skin and if ever there's a chance I could advise them, I will tell them to never ever use any whitening products because it's not at all effective. Our natural skin color will just keep on coming back. Been there, done that. I will empower them as well. Tell them that our natural skin color is beautiful, not a flaw, not an imperfection, and whatnot.

To anyone who is also a morena or moreno, I will repeat this once again... our skin color is SO beautiful. 🤎

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: June 13, 2022

15
$ 6.73
$ 6.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
+ 3
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Skin Color

Comments

Sadly, pinoy mentality when it comes to skin colors are still influenced by the western culture... Pagmaputi, maganda. That is not always the case. Besides, ang totoong balat nating mga pinoy (at pinay) ay kayumangi. Moreno, at morena. Para sa akin, mas lumalabas ang tunay na ganda kapag morena...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest I can't imagine myself pag pumuti hahaha. Parang mag bagay naman sakin pag moreno. Tsaka everytime na iniisip ko na ang itim itim ko, lagi kong sinasabi na epekto lang 'to ng mindset na itinatak sa atin ng mga nanakop satin hahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tsaka everytime na iniisip ko na ang itim itim ko, lagi kong sinasabi na epekto lang 'to ng mindset na itinatak sa atin ng mga nanakop satin

Which is so true!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like @kli4d, I can't also imagine myself as "maputi." Ito na skin color ko since then eh, so why maghangad pa na pumuti kung mas prefer and comfortable naman ako sa kayumanggi kong skin? Hihi. Didn't got into my mind to use any pampa-puti pero syempre, skin-care routine is a must pa din to nurture it even more. Ryt, mare kooo? ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chrueee!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di talaga maiiwasan yung ganyan sis ano? I mean, yun bang kapwa Pilipino lang din yung nambubully dahil lang sa skin complexion. I appreciate every morena girls talaga, even mga moreno. Naiinggit pa nga ako kasi medyo fair yung skin ko, tas pag nalabas ako then nabibilad sa araw, halatang-halata talaga yung hindi pagkakapantay ng kulay sa balat ko sis. Lalo na yung part na nabilad na sa araw. Kaya hindi ko talaga maiwasan na maghanap nung solutions para mapantay yung skin complexion ko. Which is why, nahilig ako sa pampaputi na products. Ang purpose ko talaga is para magpantay yung kulay nang balat ko sis. Aigoo! When kaya? 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Halata din po yung hindi pagkapantay ng skin ko kahit brown haha. Wala na siguro tayong magagawa masyado para mapantay ang balat natin? I think it's normal na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro ... Lalo na yung part talaga nang skin natin na nabibilad sa araw. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po. Di na talaga maiiwasan haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maliban nalang kung masusuot lagi nang pantalon tyaka jacket or sweater..😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same tayo. Sakin naman mostly ung 'compliment' na marereceive ko is "black beauty" raw ako. Since childhood iniisip ko so pag maganda matic maputi tas kapag morena ka na maganda "black beauty" dapat tawag. Pero I really like my skin since childhood, inis lang ako sa mga comments.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natatawag din akong black beauty. Di ba pwedeng beauty na lang? Wag na dagdagan? Haha. Good for you na naappreciate na yung color since childhood sis. Ako kasi nun may pgka-insecure talaga because it is what the people made me feel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan talaga ang nakakasad kasi kapwa pilipino nag discriminate sa atin pero ang ibamg tao ,taga ibang bansa ay na aamaze sa kulay natin😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly mga pinoy lang talga ang mapang discriminate ehhh pero ako, di ako nagpapaputi, tanggap ko naman ang skin ko tho nagbabago talga every season. Yes, may times na maputi daw ako kahit wala akong ginagawa, safeguard lang sabon ko nyan ah. then may times daw na morena ako tignan pero wala pakels, as long as hygienic naman ako then okay na. kahit maitim singit no worries din ako. may mga tao lang talaga mapang discriminate pagdating sa skin color.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree. As long as we know na hygienic tayo, okay na. Wala naman sa kulay yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

there is so much beauty in being a morena/moreno. ang ganda po kaya natin kapag brown skin. sa western nga gusto nila maging tan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Morena is beautiful, besides the beauty doesn't matter on what we see outside

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's sad that we live in a world where skin color matters, its so much ingrained into society that companies like 'Silka'. A similar type of product also exists in my country as well but the important thing is that we should understand not to love or hate a skin color but to judge a person based on his/her deeds and character.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago