A letter to my 30-year old self

7 36
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Are you the type of person who would write a letter to yourself? Do you find it weird? Or do you find it fun and interesting?

As for me, I started writing letters to myself when I had my journals. I find it enjoyable and my mind wonders what my future self's reaction will be once she reads these.

Some of the titles of my previous letters are like these... "open after a year", "open this after 10 years", and so on.

Photo from Pinterest.com

Last month was my 20th birthday, and I decided to write a letter to my 30-year old self. What motivated me to do this is because of one of my favorite youtuber, Damon Dominique, posted a video of "I wrote a letter to my future self ten years ago and here's what it said 📜". He wrote that letter maybe when he was around 19 and now he read it at the age of 29. Isn't it cool and fun?

I actually used to write a letter traditionally by using a pen and paper. But this time, I tried something new. I sent a letter to my future self using the future me website. Basically, I am going to receive it when I turn 30-year old via email.

Here's how it went…

Dear 30-year old me,

Right now it's 12 midnight and I am continuing to write my "20 before twenty" pages on my 5th bullet journal. I didn't get to finish it before I turned 20 cause I got so busy with our finals. I actually can't believe that next school year, I'll be in 2nd year college. I am not knowledgeable yet because the online school system sucks, but I have no choice at all but to "keep going" (my favorite mantra).

Yesterday, May 30, I did the laundry and I tried to make pancakes. And the pancakes tasted like pancakes but weren't that aesthetically pleasing. I am terrible at cooking. But I believe that 30-year old you have improved in terms of cooking.

To share about my 20th birthday: At 6 AM, I attended mass alone at our nearby church to thank God for my 2 decades of life. Then, I finished my schoolwork at around noon. I had my first customized minimalist cake, and I ordered sushi which tasted so savory and good. I also had carbonara, chicken, puto, ice cream, and lumpia for my birthday. My family sang happy birthday to me as I blew my cake. About gifts, I received some cash from my aunties and brothers and a miniature eiffel tower from my sibling. Nothing fancy, everything is simple (simplicity is my preference), yet I had so much fun!

I wonder how you celebrated your 30-year old birthday?

Here are some of my favorites as of right now: 

  • Author: Jonaxx 

  • Book Series: Costa Leona by Jonaxx 

  • Artists: 2NE1 and Bigbang 

  • Album: evermore by Taylor Swift 

  • Influencers/Youtubers: Alex Gonzaga, Ayn Bernos, Damon Dominique, Fumiya, Hannah Lee Duggan (who's living my dream life), Leah's Fieldnotes, Llyan Austria, and Nicole Alba 

  • TV Series: Money Heist (waiting for season 5), Alice in Borderland (waiting for season 2) 

  • Interests: Architecture, Art, Journal, Finance, Investments, Travel

Some of my dislikes as of right now: 

  • People who disrespect my mother, and disrespectful people in general. 

  • People who borrowed money from someone then don't pay it back in due time or are angry when they remind you that they owe you money. 

  • People who are so judgemental about others' race, culture, gender, etc. 

  • Corrupt government officials 

  • Businessmen who prefer profit over everything. They don't treat their workers right, produce products that are harmful to the environment, and so on. 

  • People who are rude to animals. 

  • Fast fashion

By the time I get this letter, I will have: 

  • Graduated college 

  • Become a licensed architect 

  • Experienced working in local and abroad 

  • Run a digital creative business 

  • Has different streams of income 

  • Has at least 3 months worth of emergency fund, has insurances, and investments

  • Has a real estate where I can spend my retirement 

  • Become a vegetarian 

  • Become a pet mom 

  • Migrated to USA or Europe 

  • Traveled to Europe 

  • Traveled with my Mama abroad 

  • Met my man

Love,

20-year old me

If you've read this far, congratulations! I just shared a glimpse of my personal life with you which is not-so me because I am actually a private person, but since I'm anonymous here, let it be.

If you've also read this far, I challenge you to write your future-self a letter as well. It can be a letter for yourself after a year, after 5 years, a decade, or even just after 6 months. You're free to decide. If you will share your letter here on read.cash, don't hesitate to tag me. 😉


Previous Articles:

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 1
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Loved your article and you letter. I always write letters to deal with some feelings. Never thought on letters to my future self. That's an interesting idea. I'll probably try it but to my 40-year old self. Thank for sharing ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awe thank you! And thank you for reading this even though this is an old article of mine <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I have never thought of doing that. Maybe I will try it soon. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. You should. Thanks for reading this even though this article is kinda old. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sure it's fine. Doesn't matter if an article is old it can still be read hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds fun. I imagine your 30-year-old self reading this letter. Perhaps with your hubby and kids now with wide smiles on your faces. And now they understand why that miniature Eiffel Tower is precious to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine myself having kids though. The miniature eiffel tower is one of the things that symbolizes my love for Europe, and it is really precious. Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago