21 Things I Learned in 2021 (Part 2)

17 38
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Learnings

We are on the second week of 2022 already. And I hope the start of the year is going well for everyone.

This article is part of my recent published: 21 Things I Learned in 2021 (Part 1). The first 11 learnings from 2021 are listed there. You can read it first before reading this one, or vice versa.

Photo from Marta on the Move

12. You can't improve what you don't measure.

Tracking my progress to achieve some of my goals is what I have always wanted to consistently do even back then. I am glad that for quite some time, I held myself accountable with tracking out things that I know for sure could help me to stay on track on achieving my goals.

An example is tracking my income and expenses. This helps me to be aware of my spending habits and see if I got to have savings. Another example is tracking my habits. I haven't been consistent with this but this 2022, I made a spreadsheet for my habits tracker. Habits such as eating good, sleeping 7+ hours, working out, etc.

I learned that by tracking my habits, I will be aware of my daily actions and therefore, I know which aspect should I improve on.

13. People are scarier than ghosts.

Because of this pandemic that has been going on for almost 3 years now, politicians reveal more their real intentions whether it's bad or good.

It was last year when I watched "A Thousand Cuts" documentary and I can still remember how I felt when I was watching it. Goosebumps even within just few minutes.

We should be really more scared with bad people who are alive rather than the ghosts or dead ones.

Also, to my fellow Filipinos, vote wisely this upcoming 2022 elections. Never vote for candidates who have history in corruption and power of abuse. 😉

14. If you live under your parents' house, follow the good things that they ask you to do. If you can't follow, have the balls to get out and live independently.

This is something that I learned based on my observations. If we live in our parents' house, let us abide the good things that they ask us to do. Let's be obedient to them.

If we can't obey them, if we are stubborn to abide to their house rules, then have the balls to get out of their house and live independently from them.

15. You can always be a fan without spending anything on your idol.

Photo from Twitter

I've been a fangirl since I was Grade 6, so it's been years now. ANd over those past years of being a fan towards kpop groups (mainly only 2NE1 and Bigbang), I realized that I wasn't like other fans who slurge so much on purchasing albums, lighsticks, photocards, and other merchandises. I am not saying that it's bad to splurge on those but I learned that it's okay to be a fan without buying those things.

There are so much more ways on how we can support our idols. We can watch their music videos and performances on streaming platforms such as YouTube, follow their social medias, and so on.

If you are the same as me who's also a fanboy or a fangirl (na hampaslupa at walang pambili hahaha), don't be pressured to buy merch, albums, etc. just because others have them.

16. The thing that matters the most in people is their kindness. Not their sexuality, physical appearance, or anything.

It's 2022, guys. Let's stop judging people based on their sexuality, race, religion, physical appearance, class, and so on. Kindness should be our basis instead.

No matter how good looking a person is, how rich, straight, etc. if he or she isn't kind enough, it just makes no sense.

17. Be mindful on what you follow on social medias.

There are sayings like "the people who we hang out with the most, reflects our personality". And it is indeed true. But nowadays that most of us spent most of our time on technologies, I believe that accounts and things we follow on social medias or any other websites can also have an effect in our mind. That's why we must be selective on choosing what and who to follow. Be mindful of what videos we watch, what contents we see, and what posts we read.

18. Thrift shopping is the best way of shopping.

Thrift shopping means purchasing items that are secondhand, vintage, or anything at thrift store (ukay-ukay). It isn't just fun, but it is also environmentally friendly, and we can save so much money rather than buying new items.

19. Practicing gratitude brings so much positivity.

I have been practicing gratitude for years now. I do it by listing down things I am grateful for each day on my journal. It can be big things but most of the time, little things such as having a bed, having a good dinner with family, having a wifi, are what I am grateful for.

Doing it on daily basis brings positivity, happiness, and contentment in my life.

20. Money does buy happiness. You just need to know how to use it the right way.

This is another learning that I learned from Angely Dub through her podcast episode with Joyce Pring.

Some people keep on saying that money doesn't buy happiness. Well, it is partly true but we can't deny the fact that money buys necessary things that can make us happy and it can also buy things such as flight tickets, luxuries, etc. that can make some people happy. We just have to know how to use the money that we have in the right way.

21. Always look on positive sides.

It may be hard to do this especially on tough times like this pandemic that we are going through, but no matter how chaotic our world looks like, as much as possible, look on brighter sides. And don't forget to put a smile on your face.

Thank you for reading and until the next blog! ❤️


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: January 13,2022

10
$ 1.94
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 3
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Learnings

Comments

Total agree talaga ako jan sa thrift shopping sis. Marami namang magndang quality na damit jan, patience lang talaga. Anyways,I agree, mas katakutan natin yung nga buhay kaysa sa multo. Yung mga multo wala ng magagawa sating masama yan, yung nga buhay panigurado, meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ukay-ukay is the best! Parang nagttreasure hunt diba. Ang saya pag nakakakuha ng magandang damit tapos ang mura hahaha. True!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything here is completely true and I agree with you on them… more like me reading through a handful of topic and message and I’m happy to be here.. the last one hits dee on showing gratitude and this is the area I need to work on myself.. thank you for this piece

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can practice gratitude as simple as writing things down on a piece of paper.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with the 12th thing you learnt last year. It is of a truth that when performance needs to be improved , it has to be measured first. Even the famous Pearson’s law is centered around this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we don't measure it, there's most likely a chance that we won't be able to improve a certain thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami, ako ata trading at staking lang natutunan ko pero sa pangsarili sana parang wala 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all nga po may learnings in trading at staking. Hahaha. Okay lang yan ate Ruffa. Basta ang mahalaga may natutunan parin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah dude I also experienced those similar things like yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. We have similar experiences then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As what I also observe all over the years had passed we should be careful and mindful enough in materials things. All materials things are temporary. So, its better to have those thrifts clothes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Buying in thrift stores are also a better option for our environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats true sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree sis. We shouldn't matter of an individual based on their physical appearance, religion and others. We should look for the kindness. The one who has a precious heart to the others. We can say it's the real beauty. We find inside not in outside.

Yes we should be mindful in social medias. We should be careful. Not everything we can see there is true. Sometimes it's fake. Yes no matter what happen, let's be positive always. Always wearing our positivity in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree, I also shop in thrift store since it's way too cheap than brand new one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. We can find very good quality and branded pa that only costs less than P100. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago